H4 and external sampler formats

All topics on HALion 4, HALion 5 and Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 and HALion Sonic 2
Post Reply
User avatar
el-russo
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

H4 and external sampler formats

Post by el-russo » Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:37 am

I'd like to see the full list of 3rd party sampler formats supported by H4.
Page 17 of the manual states: "[Import tab] allows you to import external sampler formats like Apple EXS, GigaSampler, Kontakt and others, see "Importing and Exporting Samples" on page 55", but the given page only mentions that Akai CD's and protected formats are not supported. Page 63 further mentions that .gig files and REX 1 and 2 files are supported. That is all the information I was able to find in the manual.
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4

User avatar
el-russo
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by el-russo » Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:05 pm

Any news regarding my question?
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Elektrobolt » Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:41 pm

Good thread "el-russo"!

[Placeholder Posting for a List of Formats] (for a singular place of reference)

"HALion only reads files from standard file systems and not from proprietary formats like Akai CDs."
Which means, that the source *media* to be imported has to be readable using standard media access.

"Programs that are saved in a protected format cannot be imported."
I do not know which "protection" this refers to. (Maybe some sort of Program flag that some formats support?)

Supported formats: (many thanks to Marcus [site admin])

Apple EXS (.exs)
GigaSampler (.gig)
Kontakt (.nki, .nkb, .nks, .nkm)
Kurzweil (.krz, .k25, .k26)
REX 1/2 files (.rex, .rx2)
SoundFont (.sf2)
Various ISO formats (.iso, .nrg, .bin, .toast)

According to KVR Audio it also supports the following formats:
http://www.kvraudio.com/get/70.html

Akai
EMU
LM-4
Roland
SDII
Last edited by Elektrobolt on Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
el-russo
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by el-russo » Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:31 pm

Thanks for the info, Elektrobolt.
I wonder where KVR got it from. Interestingly, it says H4 contains H3 sound library, while saying nothing about the actual library, which is much more than that of H3, I suppose. I wonder why the manual doesn't state these things in a concise and clear way.
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4

User avatar
el-russo
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by el-russo » Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:50 pm

I suddenly realized, what you see at KVR website is HALion 3 product details page, where the picture of H4 is inserted, while the title still says "HALion 3", hence description of H3 sound library. So, my initial question remains unanswered unfortunately.
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Elektrobolt » Sat Jul 02, 2011 4:29 am

Yeah, there is a newer HALion 4 specific page (http://www.kvraudio.com/news/16757) but it does not mention any formats per se, though one would think the H3 compatible formats would still be valid (unless discarded of course).

Thanks for the pointer, I should pay more attention. :)
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
el-russo
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by el-russo » Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:35 am

No worries. Had this information been clearly shown, we wouldn't have to do the guessing.
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4

DjRavix
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by DjRavix » Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:09 am

A bit silly from the guys at steinberg to forget to put this information anywhere

The Only format we know for sure that it doesn't support is Akai CD

I Like to know if SF2 is supported By H4
PC Related Hardware:
Intel 3930K, 64GB Ram, SSD + Lot of HDD Space
Audio Related Hardware:
828MK3,61SL MKII,Virus A,Ultra Nova,Perception 200,Se Reflexion Filter,Nano Patch+,KRK RP8
Audio Related Software:
Cubase9,WavelabElements9,HSO,Grand3,HALion5,Korg LCAE,RPExplorer3,FF Bundle,Inflator,Sylenth1,Z3TA+2,Nexus2,VengeancePlugins,Various Sample Packs

User avatar
Marcus
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Marcus » Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:58 am

Hi @ all,

these sampler formats can be used in Hallion 4:

Kurzweil (krz, k25, k26)
Soundfont (sf2)
Giga Sampler (gig)
EXS 24 (exs)
Kontakt (nki, nkb, nks, nkm) (
Various ISO formats (iso, nrg, bin, toast)
BDM Education
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
el-russo
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by el-russo » Mon Jul 04, 2011 11:33 am

Thank you for the information, Marcus.
I suppose HALion 1-3 files are also supported, aren't they?
Could you post the list of supported audio file formats as well?
Thank you in advance.
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Cantankerous » Mon Jul 04, 2011 12:02 pm

Unfortunately it seems FXP, HSB, FXB from Halion 3 CANNOT be read in Halion 4 until they are imported/converted over. Unfortunately as well you cannot read Akai from Disc which Halion 3 could also do. It is seeming like Halion 4 is taking some serious steps backwards here on the compatibility of file formats.
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

User avatar
Marcus
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Marcus » Mon Jul 04, 2011 1:33 pm

Unfortunately it seems FXP, HSB, FXB from Halion 3 CANNOT be read in Halion 4 until they are imported/converted over. Unfortunately as well you cannot read Akai from Disc which Halion 3 could also do. It is seeming like Halion 4 is taking some serious steps backwards here on the compatibility of file formats.

I got my HALion 3 Libary imported as well as my older HALion 3- 3rd Party Libraries. You just need to do it once.

I find all my older Presets in the normal Cubase 5- AND in the HALion 4 Mediabay. When I double click on one of these presets; HALion 4 starts to load the preset and samples.
But sometimes HALion 4 needs to find the folder with the samples.

:idea: This will be improved and our developer are working on it.

Here is a screenshot of one loaded HALion 3 preset:
Attachments
H4-H3preset.png
(242.85 KiB) Not downloaded yet
BDM Education
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Cantankerous » Mon Jul 04, 2011 7:50 pm

Thanks a lot for sharing this Marcus. I have not been able to obtain a copy of Halion 4 within Canada yet, so cannot relate first hand as to what you are explaining, but I will surely keep it in mind for when I do get my copy in hand.

I am glad the developers are looking into any issues related to sample finding, should solve a lot of headaches for users imported big foreign libraries.

BTW, will your developers ever add in DISC support for the Akai format like Halion 3 had? I have no clue why that would be omitted in H4 to be honest.
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

Stone1888
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Stone1888 » Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:04 pm

hello there ,
can you do this with halion sonic ? , i upgraded from from halion 3 player and it would be very good to be able to import halion 3 player library into halion sonic .
cheers for your time !!
Desktop - - AMD Quad core - 3.4 ghz - 12gb RAM --- Windows 10 64bit ---- Cubase Artist 10 - Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 ---- Alesis M1 active 520 -- -- Stratocaster --

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Elektrobolt » Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:38 am

Marcus wrote:these sampler formats can be used in Hallion 4:
Sorry if this sound like a redundantly stubborn or plain stupid question, but does that mean that these formats (from the H3 manual) are no longer supported, at all?

* Akai S1000/S2000/S3000
* EMU 3/3X/ESI/4/4K/E64/E6400/ESynth/Ultra
* Roland S770
* Zero-X Groove files

(The EMU one in particular, since I got tons of E4 CDs.)
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

Vick
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 7:20 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Vick » Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:43 am

It's seems to be steinberg recode all from the core, I think the rewrote the import code too.
I would intrested that some of my old AKAI cds the conversion will be better or not.
Especially with velocity -x ( not crossfade, only switch at least...) libraries.
I have not tested it yet, but that fact that I can't read directly from cd is real pain.

Regards,V
Core i7, RME FF400; C10Pro-Halion4-Grand3-Padshop Pro, 4 Powercore /PCI-E,PCI,2Firewire/, Novation MKII, Fatar1100

User avatar
Marcus
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Marcus » Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:28 pm

Hi @ all,

my information is, that the support of AKAI is working.

:idea: A Work-a-round for AKAI- CD- Rom:

:arrow: - Use a tool ( CD- Extract )to build an ISO from the AKAI- ROM

:arrow: - And now you can import the ISO into the HALion 4

The big problem is not the import of AKAI- Samples, the big problem is the reading of the old AKAI- CD ROM in Windows OS. As far as I know Win7 is not capable of reading these AKAI CD- ROM Libraries, so this feature has to be implemented in HALion 4. Our developer team is working on it & it will be integrated within the next patches, but I can not say to with which Patch it will come.
BDM Education
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Cantankerous » Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:47 pm

Hi Marcus, thanks again for the reply.

I don't buy at all that Windows 7 cannot read these discs. I read them in Halion 3.5 just fine. I also read them in CDXtract just fine. It has everything to do with proper implementation in Halion 4. I am EXTREMELY glad to hear your developers are working on this, and although no time line is set I look forward to seeing the capability of reading Akai CD's from WITHIN Halion directy in the future.

While we are on the topic, what about E-MU CD? I have lots of these from the days when I had an E5000 Ultra hardware sampler in use. I am sure the concept will be the same to get these proper implemented and read from within Halion 4.
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Elektrobolt » Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:54 am

Marcus wrote:Hi @ all,

my information is, that the support of AKAI is working.

:idea: A Work-a-round for AKAI- CD- Rom:

:arrow: - Use a tool ( CD- Extract )to build an ISO from the AKAI- ROM

:arrow: - And now you can import the ISO into the HALion 4
This is excellent, though it doesn't really apply to me (not an old Akai guy). How about EMU CD's? Can this be done in the same manner? If so, absolutely fantastic! If not, will there be, or is there, something coming?

Thanks for great information, it really is appreciated.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
Marcus
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Marcus » Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:26 am

I don't buy at all that Windows 7 cannot read these discs. I read them in Halion 3.5 just fine.
Yes that is correct, that the HALion 3.5 is able to read the old AKAI- ROMs, because in HALion 3.5 is an Import- Engine that is capable of reading AKAI- ROM- Libraries.
Win7 is not able to read the AKAI- ROMs for its own, so an Import- Engine has to be integrated in the HALion 4.
Maybe you misunderstood me or I answered a little bit confused.
Sorry 4 that guys.
BDM Education
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Cantankerous » Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:48 pm

I fully understand now. Halion 4 by default reads file formats that Windows natively reads and nothing more. You are saying an import engine is needed to read file formats that Halion 4 does not natively read because Windows does not natively read it.

Are you also saying with certainty that an import engine WILL in fact be coded into Halion 4 in the future to read file formats that are foreign to Windows such as Akai , E-MU etc?
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: H4 and external sampler formats

Post by Elektrobolt » Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:02 pm

Marcus wrote:Win7 is not able to read the AKAI- ROMs for its own, so an Import- Engine has to be integrated in the HALion 4.
Maybe you misunderstood me or I answered a little bit confused.
Sorry 4 that guys.
Hey, absolutely no worries, mate.

However, I am as interested as the rest here, whether such an Import-Engine *is* in the planning pipeline for integration into HALion 4?

Or even a separate little application would be more than excellent. I mean, it doesn't have to be *integrated* per se, more like an external converter program, that just creates files that can be read by HALion.

Thanks, Marcus.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

Post Reply

Return to “Halion 5 | Halion 4 | Halion Sonic | Halion Sonic 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests