Cubase 8.5.20

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
dynamis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Cubase 8.5.20

Post by dynamis » Sun May 22, 2016 10:42 pm

hello ! Does anyone know when the next update of cubase8.5 comes out ?
Thanks

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by peakae » Mon May 23, 2016 5:20 pm

No.
It could be delayed if they want the Quicktime replacement to be part of the next update.
8.5.15 is running well with no show stoppers for me, so far.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

dynamis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by dynamis » Mon May 23, 2016 6:49 pm

Hello thanks for replying. Well i have many unexpected crashes and very laggy graphics for zoom in and out also very laggy eq analyzer and channel levels. I use el capitan 10,11,4. Running cubase 8.5.15.
All this happens to an imac 27 late 2015 i74.0ghz and r9 395.

User avatar
Scott Lee
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Scott Lee » Wed May 25, 2016 12:29 am

dynamis wrote:Hello thanks for replying. Well i have many unexpected crashes and very laggy graphics for zoom in and out also very laggy eq analyzer and channel levels. I use el capitan 10,11,4. Running cubase 8.5.15.
All this happens to an imac 27 late 2015 i74.0ghz and r9 395.
HI Dynamis,

I too have very laggy el captain graphics with cubase 8.5 (Zooming, eq, etc) You aren't alone.I hope steinberg does something about the very sluggish gui, where other daws run very smooth. Audio engine is fine, GUI tanks.

Lets hope will see something for 8.5.20

Best,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Song Composer (ASCAP) / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 16 Terabytes HD / OSX El Capitan / Cubase 8.5 / Cubase IC Pro

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by matjones » Wed May 25, 2016 8:49 am

Everything pretty much ok here apart from laggy graphics....
Cubase 9.0.20/9.5 Asus P9X79 LE, i7 4820K@ 3.7GHz, 32GB Corsair 1600 RAM, Asus R5 230, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC6, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

User avatar
subatomix1
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 4:27 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by subatomix1 » Wed May 25, 2016 8:42 pm

dynamis wrote:Hello thanks for replying. Well i have many unexpected crashes and very laggy graphics for zoom in and out also very laggy eq analyzer and channel levels. I use el capitan 10,11,4. Running cubase 8.5.15.
All this happens to an imac 27 late 2015 i74.0ghz and r9 395.
I agree 100%, sounds like we are running the same system exactly. Feeling strongly that Steinberg needs to address the graphics issue and crashes pronto.

User avatar
Scott Lee
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Scott Lee » Wed May 25, 2016 10:28 pm

subatomix1 wrote:
dynamis wrote:Hello thanks for replying. Well i have many unexpected crashes and very laggy graphics for zoom in and out also very laggy eq analyzer and channel levels. I use el capitan 10,11,4. Running cubase 8.5.15.
All this happens to an imac 27 late 2015 i74.0ghz and r9 395.
I agree 100%, sounds like we are running the same system exactly. Feeling strongly that Steinberg needs to address the graphics issue and crashes pronto.
Yes! audio engine working out fine, the GUI is really underwhelming in its current state. Very slow and sluggish. It really puts a damper on production.

Best Regards,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Song Composer (ASCAP) / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 16 Terabytes HD / OSX El Capitan / Cubase 8.5 / Cubase IC Pro

claesbjo
Member
Posts: 286
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by claesbjo » Thu May 26, 2016 6:25 am

I agree, the GUI is very sluggish here as well, zooming and moving parts are the worst for me.

Mac Pro 3.33 ghz 6 core, El Capitan
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. osx 10.10.1. Cubase 8.0.20, Logic PRO 10.1

Rkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:32 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Rkmusic » Thu May 26, 2016 7:06 am

Gui lag over here too. Moving events and zooming also lag
mac pro 2010-32gb-OSX 10.14.0-Korg m3-Motif xs-Waves gold-Saffire pro 40-liquid saffire 56-Some software synths-glyph drive-Ensoniq mr 76-Logic x-Cubase 10-pro tools 2018

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by peakae » Thu May 26, 2016 5:30 pm

I am on PC, no lag
That makes me think the problem is already found, and I hope addressed in the next update.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Evertone
Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Evertone » Thu May 26, 2016 5:43 pm

I'm also hoping they fix this. I went back to Cubase 8.5 just because of how bad the GUI is in 8.5.15

+1
Cubase Pro 10
iMac i7 - High Sierra 10.13.6 - 16gb

jpgtr
Member
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:06 pm

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by jpgtr » Thu May 26, 2016 5:53 pm

As I reported in "Issues", I'm seeing lots of lag in the metering and EQ animations.

So another +1 to update the GUI for 8.5 on El Capitan.
2012 Mac Pro 10.12.6, 24 GB RAM, Cubase 8.5 UAD-2 Duo

krevvy
Junior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 6:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by krevvy » Thu May 26, 2016 7:07 pm

No lag issues on pc.
I suspect the issue is with the Mac operating system as many people on gearslutz etc are reporting bad graphical performance with other apps and apple stuff.

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by matjones » Thu May 26, 2016 8:24 pm

I'm on PC and getting lag.
Cubase 9.0.20/9.5 Asus P9X79 LE, i7 4820K@ 3.7GHz, 32GB Corsair 1600 RAM, Asus R5 230, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC6, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

Martin K
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:44 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Martin K » Thu May 26, 2016 10:07 pm

matjones wrote:I'm on PC and getting lag.
Me too on 8.5.15 (and all previous versions since 7.5.40). I got the same motherboard as you, so maybe thats the culprit since others report no lag. I did install the latest update of 8.0 (8.0.40) and that took care of most of the lag issues I had, so hopefully they have solved it and it will be a lag-free 8.5.20 :)

User avatar
Scott Lee
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Scott Lee » Fri May 27, 2016 4:55 am

Yes I would also suspect this is a el captain OS X issue for 8.5.15. Really underwhelming until we get some better graphical acceleration for the next iteration of cubase.

Best,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Song Composer (ASCAP) / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 16 Terabytes HD / OSX El Capitan / Cubase 8.5 / Cubase IC Pro

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Steve Helstrip » Fri May 27, 2016 10:36 am

I'm on El Capitan and everything is very slick and responsive. I am using NVidia's web drivers. Perhaps this has something to do with it?

The only bug that annoys me is when you duplicate an instrument track, more often than not the tracks become linked, so if I mute the original, the duplicated version is muted also. Otherwise nothing to complain about.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

User avatar
smapmap
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:49 pm
Location: Strathaven, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by smapmap » Fri May 27, 2016 11:09 am

I notice lag when tootltips are on or when the crosshairs are in use. I've got a nvidia card - I think I read somewhere that there is an issue with nvidia cards - something to do with the way the UI in C8 utilises h/w acceleration??
Software: Cubase 10, Nektar Panorama P1, Studio One 4, Sonar Platinum, Alloy 2, Trash 2, Ozone 8, Neutron 2, Komplete 12, Fabfilter Timeless 2, Fabfilter Saturn, FabFilter ProQ2, FabFilter Pro-R, Valhalla Room, Lounge Lizard 4, Output Signal, Output Rev, Output Exhale, Output Movement, Output Subatance, Output Analog Strings, Tassman 4, Z3ta 2, Z3ta+, Dimension Pro, Rapture, BFD3, Studio Drummer 3, Sonitus Plugs

Outboard: HP Z420 workstation, Xeon CPU, 40 Gig RAM, 3x1TB Barracuda HD 7200rpm, Roland GR55 guitar synth, Roland VG99, Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 interface at 24/48, AKAI EIE Audio Interace (24/48), Focusrite Penta optical Compressor, Samson Servo Amp, Tannoy Reveal speakers, SP C1 Mic, Roland KC350 Amp, Patrick Eggle Berlin Stage, Fender US Strat Deluxe, Soundcraft Spirit EPM8. Boss SE70, Boss DR5, Akai MPK88

www.michaeldoris.com

User avatar
Scott Lee
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Scott Lee » Sat May 28, 2016 2:12 am

Steve Helstrip wrote:I'm on El Capitan and everything is very slick and responsive. I am using NVidia's web drivers. Perhaps this has something to do with it?

The only bug that annoys me is when you duplicate an instrument track, more often than not the tracks become linked, so if I mute the original, the duplicated version is muted also. Otherwise nothing to complain about.
Hi Steve,

I also am using the nvidia web drivers with a Nvidia 980Ti but alas have tremendous gui lag.How does your native apple machines work like the macbook pro on cubase besides the hackintosh? Im curious if this issue can be tracked down somehow from your success.

All the best,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Song Composer (ASCAP) / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 16 Terabytes HD / OSX El Capitan / Cubase 8.5 / Cubase IC Pro

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Steve Helstrip » Sat May 28, 2016 7:27 am

No problems with my Macbook Pro. It's not as snappy, but I wouldn't say laggy either.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

User avatar
Scott Lee
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Scott Lee » Tue May 31, 2016 6:36 am

Steve Helstrip wrote:No problems with my Macbook Pro. It's not as snappy, but I wouldn't say laggy either.
Understood. Again, thank you for your input on the matter! Ill see if I can dig deeper.

Btw - I really enjoyed "Just because". Nice work!

Best,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Song Composer (ASCAP) / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 16 Terabytes HD / OSX El Capitan / Cubase 8.5 / Cubase IC Pro

SteelyDani
Junior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by SteelyDani » Tue May 31, 2016 8:01 am

Steve Helstrip wrote:The only bug that annoys me is when you duplicate an instrument track, more often than not the tracks become linked, so if I mute the original, the duplicated version is muted also. Otherwise nothing to complain about.
Same problem here on PC.
http://www.bcstudiorecording.com
BCS. Basque Coast Studio
Music is a gift from God to Man

Windows 10 (64)/ Cubase Pro 9.5/ WaveLab 9.5 Elements/ Halion 6 / Intel(R) I7-6700K @ 4.00 GHz - 32GB Dual Channel DDR4/ MOTU PCI-424 + 4 X 2408 mk3

Vinylizor
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Vinylizor » Tue May 31, 2016 11:44 am

Steve Helstrip wrote: The only bug that annoys me is when you duplicate an instrument track, more often than not the tracks become linked, so if I mute the original, the duplicated version is muted also. Otherwise nothing to complain about.
You can quickly fix this by toggling the master mute and master solo buttons. This is just another example of how the mute / solo functions logic is flawed and needs overhauling though.
C10
Antelope Orion 32+ Thunderbolt
Core Audio driver
Mac Pro 6,1 3 GHz 10-Core Intel Xeon E5 64Gb Ram 1TB HD
OSX 10.14.2

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Steve Helstrip » Tue May 31, 2016 2:54 pm

Vinylizor wrote:
Steve Helstrip wrote: The only bug that annoys me is when you duplicate an instrument track, more often than not the tracks become linked, so if I mute the original, the duplicated version is muted also. Otherwise nothing to complain about.
You can quickly fix this by toggling the master mute and master solo buttons. This is just another example of how the mute / solo functions logic is flawed and needs overhauling though.
Og thanks for that. Will give it a try.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

User avatar
Sonik
Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5.20

Post by Sonik » Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:35 am

matjones wrote:Everything pretty much ok here apart from laggy graphics....
+1
MacPro 8 core 16gb HD 5770 10.11.6|Cubase Pro 10.0.20|Wavelab 9.5|Protools 12.4|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (14 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete10|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 2|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|
UAD|Waves 10|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|SPL|Fabfilter|
i7 3,40ghz|Asus P8P67|16GB GSkill 12800|GTS450 1gb|Win7 64|Cubase Pro 8.0.30|UAD-1|UA-25|

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests