How to use sostenuto pedal?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
OysterHippo
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 9:26 pm
Contact:

How to use sostenuto pedal?

Post by OysterHippo » Wed Feb 17, 2016 5:33 am

I recently connected my Yamaha PF-1000 to my UR44 and am able to record midi with it in Cubase. However, only the sustain pedal is working. I can't seem to use either the soft pedal or the sostenuto pedal.

I assume I need to tell Cubase to activate the midi command CC 66 when I push down the pedal. Can this be done? And if so, how so?

Is it also possible to set these pedals to perform other CC commands?

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: How to use sostenuto pedal?

Post by vic_france » Wed Feb 17, 2016 6:53 am

You say that you can record it into Cubase? If you open the recorded MIDI Part in, say, the List Editor, do you see CC#66 in there? If so, then all is working correctly..
But.. the receiving instrument (presumably, piano?) has to be programmed to recognise sostenuto and/or Soft pedal (CC #66 and #67), which isn't always the case. (think of it this way.. you might well hold in your hands a set of doorkeys, but they won't be of much use unless you have a door to open ;) )

As regards setting those pedals to other CC#s, yes, this is possible, at least if you have the "full" version of Cubase, using the Input Transformer (or the Transformer MIDI Insert fx plugin).
let us know if you need further assistance, but you can find plenty of info about those Transformers in the pdf documentation, and many posts in these forums).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

OysterHippo
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 9:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How to use sostenuto pedal?

Post by OysterHippo » Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:21 am

You say that you can record it into Cubase? If you open the recorded MIDI Part in, say, the List Editor, do you see CC#66 in there? If so, then all is working correctly..
Yes, actually. I do see CC 66 in the list editor whenever I use the sostenuto pedal. However it doesnt seem to apply the effect to the note I am playing. The note stops sounding as soon as I let go of the key, even though I still have the sostenuto pedal depressed.
But.. the receiving instrument (presumably, piano?) has to be programmed to recognise sostenuto and/or Soft pedal (CC #66 and #67), which isn't always the case. (think of it this way.. you might well hold in your hands a set of doorkeys, but they won't be of much use unless you have a door to open
Both sostenuto and soft pedals are working properly on this piano when I use it without cubase.

In fact, if I load a VSTi or synthesizer in cubase and also turn on the pianos volume, I can hear both the sound of my Yamaha and the synthesizer I loaded in cubase. If I try to use sostenuto under those conditions, the synthesizer/VSTi will drop out as soon as I take my finger off the key, but the Yamaha piano itself will keep ringing until I let go of the pedal... I hope that makes sense.

I have the full version of Cubase 8 Pro, but not 8.5

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: How to use sostenuto pedal?

Post by vic_france » Wed Feb 17, 2016 4:11 pm

The easiest way to find out if Cubase itself is working correctly..
Your version includes HALion Sonic SE, correct? Load it up, and put the preset "[GM 001] Acoustic Grand Piano" into slot #1.
That preset does respond to CC#66 as sostenuto (I've just checked it ;) ).
Is sostenuto working for you, with that HALion Sonic SE preset? If so, then it is your Yamaha that is not responding to the CC#66 that Cubase is indeed transmitting.
If, on the other hand, it doesn't even work with HALion Sonic SE, well, I'll just have to have another think ;).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

OysterHippo
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 9:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How to use sostenuto pedal?

Post by OysterHippo » Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:37 pm

Thanks! The sostenuto works with Halion. It must have been the East West VST that I was using that didn't recognize the sostenuto.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests