ASIO Performance issues

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
CipheredDesigns
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:50 am
Contact:

ASIO Performance issues

Post by CipheredDesigns » Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:52 pm

Hi Everyone!

I´m having trouble with the overall ASIO performance in Cubase Pro 8.5.
Working with big projects with heavier plugins like brainworx Engl amps or
Omnisphere 2 is not possible with a lower input latency than 11msec.
Regular dropouts, excessive real time peaks and average ASIO load all the time..

I´ve read so many threads here about the same or similar issues with Cubase
users, checked all my drivers, made a fresh os installation, the gpu hack.. but
nothing seems to work for me.

I would appreciate any help!

Regards
CD
Cubase Pro 10
Wavelab Pro 9.5
Halion 6
UR44
WIN 10 Pro 64bit


Dual Xeon E5-2630 v3
ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS
64GB Registered ECC DDR4-2133
Nvidia Quadro M5000
512GB SSD Samsung Pro 970
2x 2TB WD Caviar Black (no raid)

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by silhouette » Mon Feb 01, 2016 3:34 pm

It seems that Cubase has a few problems allocating tasks across multiple cores and prefers higher clock speeds. This has been an issue for me too especially with latency regarding Asioguard and UAD PCIe cards. Unfortunately there does not seem to be a definitive answer out there as it really is up to Steinberg to rework the audio engine to deal with this.

That said there are things that you can do to make life easier. I have been making good use of render in place - quite often in preference to freezing as I simply turn off the VSTi I have copied. I direct monitor my guitar as I have a Kemper Amp Profiler, but I also monitor using Amplitude Standalone when recording into Amplitude in Cubase, as there is very little latency with the standalone. If the Bx Engls don't have a Standalone how about getting a freebie VST host:

http://www.stimtek.com/

I did have issues with Kontakt that have meant a rethink in how I use it. Hence the Render in place. I have to add that the cpu issues are not present in every project and to be honest I have not isolated all the potential conflicts with various bits of software that may be present.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

CipheredDesigns
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by CipheredDesigns » Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:52 pm

Thank you very much, I appreciate your help!

These are for sure very useful tips to bypass a process, which should be a matter of course.
I spent almost $1000 for Cubase and the UR44. I can´t afford workarounds to do my daily job.
I don´t have the time at all.

Please don´t misunderstand me but something is not working properly and one or more issues need to be fixed.
I just noticed that I cannot even open a project by double-clicking the .cpr file directly from the harddisk.
Only "file/open.." within Cubase is working.
Cubase Pro 10
Wavelab Pro 9.5
Halion 6
UR44
WIN 10 Pro 64bit


Dual Xeon E5-2630 v3
ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS
64GB Registered ECC DDR4-2133
Nvidia Quadro M5000
512GB SSD Samsung Pro 970
2x 2TB WD Caviar Black (no raid)

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by mroekalea » Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:00 pm

Seems your cpu can turbo to 3.2 GHZ which should be enough.
However if you have 2 CPU sockets and thus 16 physical cores the handicap is that there is much synchronizing between the cubase processes running on each core.


check out this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=226&t=89134

Also consider a fresh install of cubase as it should be normally possible to start cubase by double clicking the cpr file.
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

CipheredDesigns
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by CipheredDesigns » Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:28 pm

Thanks for the link mroekalea.

Do I have to re-install and re-activate all my plugins and licences after a fresh cubase install?
Cubase Pro 10
Wavelab Pro 9.5
Halion 6
UR44
WIN 10 Pro 64bit


Dual Xeon E5-2630 v3
ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS
64GB Registered ECC DDR4-2133
Nvidia Quadro M5000
512GB SSD Samsung Pro 970
2x 2TB WD Caviar Black (no raid)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5062
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by Grim » Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:16 pm

I just noticed that I cannot even open a project by double-clicking the .cpr file directly from the harddisk.
Only "file/open.." within Cubase is working.
Also consider a fresh install of cubase as it should be normally possible to start cubase by double clicking the cpr file.
Double clicking cpr will not open the project in the latest version....this is a known issue and will be fixed in an update.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2939
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by peakae » Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:20 am

Does for me.
Still a bug, but not everyone is affected.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

CipheredDesigns
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by CipheredDesigns » Wed May 18, 2016 7:40 pm

Hi,

its been a while since I started this topic and I´ve wasted tons of time to check, test and re-install drivers, soft- and hardware, only to get Cubase running stable on my system.

In my current daily workflow I have up to 25 crashes.
I cant use my own templates because Cubase can´t load them. Never!! Not a single exception, regardless on how many plugin instances a project has.

Now I want to re-install Cubase once more and need some information from staff:

1. I have a download version of Cubase 8 and one for Cubase 8.5 in "my Steinberg"-account.
Do I have to download and install both of them or only Cubase 8.5? Both are more than 9gb download size..

2. Do I have to deactivate my license first and re-activate it after the new installation?

2. Do I have to re-install and re-activate all my plugins and licences after a fresh cubase install?


Regards
CD
Cubase Pro 10
Wavelab Pro 9.5
Halion 6
UR44
WIN 10 Pro 64bit


Dual Xeon E5-2630 v3
ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS
64GB Registered ECC DDR4-2133
Nvidia Quadro M5000
512GB SSD Samsung Pro 970
2x 2TB WD Caviar Black (no raid)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5062
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by Grim » Wed May 18, 2016 8:54 pm

CipheredDesigns wrote:Hi,

Now I want to re-install Cubase once more and need some information from staff:
Regards
CD
Well I'm not staff...so if you would prefer to wait for them to answer don't read any further.
1. I have a download version of Cubase 8 and one for Cubase 8.5 in "my Steinberg"-account.
Do I have to download and install both of them or only Cubase 8.5? Both are more than 9gb download size..
8.5 9Gb is a full installer so is all you need to download....the install checks for latest updates as well.
2. Do I have to deactivate my license first and re-activate it after the new installation?
It's on a dongle yes? In which case no do not do anything other than make sure you have latest elicenser software installed.
2. Do I have to re-install and re-activate all my plugins and licences after a fresh cubase install?
No. If you do any manual cleanup after uninstall make sure not to delete any vstplugins folders. That said if you're having 25 crashes a day plugins would be the first place I would look for the culprits.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

CipheredDesigns
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by CipheredDesigns » Wed May 18, 2016 10:12 pm

Thanks a lot Grim.
As always very helpful.
Cubase Pro 10
Wavelab Pro 9.5
Halion 6
UR44
WIN 10 Pro 64bit


Dual Xeon E5-2630 v3
ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS
64GB Registered ECC DDR4-2133
Nvidia Quadro M5000
512GB SSD Samsung Pro 970
2x 2TB WD Caviar Black (no raid)

jimmys69
Member
Posts: 807
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by jimmys69 » Wed May 18, 2016 11:35 pm

coolbass wrote:You should be able to figure this out for yourself. Use " search" and google.
Don't expect others to do your work for you.
Bitter often? lol

He is having a continuing conversation on a site based on helping others out. I don't see the need to tell him similar to 'get off my lawn'.

Grouchy pants! :)
PC Win7-64-16G i7-4790k/Cubase 5-6-7 32 bit, Cubase 8-9 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7X/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne Editor

TobyShark
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by TobyShark » Tue May 24, 2016 12:48 am

I'm with grim on this one,
It is most likely a plugin issue - second most likely is a windows issue (by that I mean some issue with your configuration or the USB communication between the soundcard and the computer)

I'd start with a fresh install of Cubase and check the performance with the inbuilt synthesisers. If these are fine, add the plugins one at a time and test.

If the issues happen with a clean install of Cubase with no extra plugins, it's very likely it's a soundcard/windows issue.

I note you production PC is new.
tobyshark.com

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by islandmusicpro » Tue May 24, 2016 1:50 am

Just real quick: Others have noted they're seeing issues with USB interfaces. Maybe borrow another interface (FW,...) from somewhere and try with that? Or try the internal soundcard using ASIO4ALL, just to see about the crashes...

Cheers and good luck!
B.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 2
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

dman2014
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:17 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Performance issues

Post by dman2014 » Sat Aug 25, 2018 10:44 am

I've always found Sonar was much better for working with lots of Virtual Instruments and VST effects. I have orchestral projects in my old Sonar with hundreds of tracks. I just can't do that in Cubase... would need to use other computers & Vienna Ensemble or similar. The ASIO load was always much lower when I used to use Sonar. On v9.5 of Cubase and I can still get more out of a legacy version of Sonar with VSTs/VSTis
Cubase Pro 10 | Cubase Pro 9.5 | Cubase Pro 9 | Cubase 8 Pro | Cubase 7.5.3 | Sonar X3 Studio | Komplete 11 | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Intel i9-9900K @ 4.9GHz | 64GB RAM | UAD Apollo Twin Mk2 Quad | iConnectivity mio | Intel i7-6800K - 4.2GHz | 64GB RAM | Window 7 Pro 64-bit | Intel i7 4770 (Haswell) - 3.6GHz | 32 GB RAM | Focusrite Saffire Pro 14 | AMD Radeon HD 6450 | UAD Plugins | Various Waves Plug-ins | Sonnox Oxford Plug-ins | Slate Digital Plug-ins | Soundtoys Plug-ins | FabFilter Plug-ins | Various other VSTs and Plug-ins | Various Sample Libraries

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest