Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
motouzek
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:47 am
Contact:

Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by motouzek »

Hi,

a simple question: is Cubase 8.5 compatible with Mac OS EL Capitan? I read there were a couple of issues, but missed an official update on the compatibility.

Thank you

Boris

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Yes, it is.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

motouzek
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by motouzek »

Thanks

User avatar
Dirk Stegemann
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:32 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by Dirk Stegemann »

Although some users are currently experiencing problems regarding the USB-eLicenser, that doesn't seem to be working correctly on some El Capitan installations.

We're still investigating these issues.
Dirk Stegemann
Software Developer & QA
SMTG Digital Unit - Services


Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

Letmein
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by Letmein »

Dirk Stegemann wrote:Although some users are currently experiencing problems regarding the USB-eLicenser, that doesn't seem to be working correctly on some El Capitan installations.

We're still investigating these issues.

Thanks Dirk, I'll keep my eye open for any developments from Steinberg.

Letmein
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by Letmein »

Dirk Stegemann wrote:Although some users are currently experiencing problems regarding the USB-eLicenser, that doesn't seem to be working correctly on some El Capitan installations.

We're still investigating these issues.

Hey Dirk, is there anything yet to report on this issue?

niozik
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:58 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by niozik »

Cubase 8.5 is not compatible with El capitan and I do not recommend to anyone. I have posted issues I found and tell you that CPU was being consumed by up to 300% and computer performance slowing.

niozik
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:58 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by niozik »

Here is a tip . . . when opening cubase 8.5 on windows 10 CPU consumption is around 0.5%. When opening same application on mac CPU consumption is around 50%. How about that? Does it sound ok?

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

niozik wrote:Here is a tip . . . when opening cubase 8.5 on windows 10 CPU consumption is around 0.5%. When opening same application on mac CPU consumption is around 50%. How about that? Does it sound ok?
Hi,

What about CPU Usage on he same Computer with Mac OS X 10.10 Yosemitte? Tocompare 10.10 vs 10.11, to be able to say, it's not 10.11 compatible.

Are you sure the tools for measurement on Windows and Mac are exactly the same and display really the same data?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

coolbass
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by coolbass »

niozik wrote:Cubase 8.5 is not compatible with El capitan and I do not recommend to anyone. I have posted issues I found and tell you that CPU was being consumed by up to 300% and computer performance slowing.
This is nonsense. I see none of that. Cubase 8.5 working well on 10.11.3.

coolbass
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by coolbass »

niozik wrote:Here is a tip . . . when opening cubase 8.5 on windows 10 CPU consumption is around 0.5%. When opening same application on mac CPU consumption is around 50%. How about that? Does it sound ok?
Does not happen here. Something is wrong with your system.

niozik
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:58 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by niozik »

Unfortunately did not try that because could not have access to Yosemite 10.10 official mac installation (afraid of trying non official torrents and magnets).

Unfortunately I am just looking at the percentages from both from task manager and activity monitor. I am not able to tell what resources are used to reach CPU performance on mac in comparison to windows.

What I can say is that windows 10 handles far better than El capitan 10.11.3. Hope this get sorted as soon as possible because I am dying slowly due to this.

Regards

niozik
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:58 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by niozik »

coolbass wrote:
niozik wrote:Here is a tip . . . when opening cubase 8.5 on windows 10 CPU consumption is around 0.5%. When opening same application on mac CPU consumption is around 50%. How about that? Does it sound ok?
Does not happen here. Something is wrong with your system.


I prefer to believe that something is wrong with my system. Please give me possible hints for what I did wrong so I may correct because this is getting me crazy. Here are things I did and used to get there:
Downloaded the file from mysteinberg account;
Installed on El capitan after upgrade from Yosemite;
Tested some demo songs them booooommm . . . not working properly.

Just few days ago I did clean installation of EL Capitan (download from app store) just to see if the problem would go away. But nothing . . . boom again . . . crazy readings.

I did run hardware test and there was no error found on the laptop.

I just do not know what to do anymore . . .

Thanks and regards
Niozik

coolbass
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by coolbass »

Hello Niozik, unfortunately I have no idea what could be wrong.
All I can say is that Cubase 8.5 is working ok here on El Capitan.

I hope you can solve your problems.

Lasso
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by Lasso »

coolbass wrote:
niozik wrote:Cubase 8.5 is not compatible with El capitan and I do not recommend to anyone. I have posted issues I found and tell you that CPU was being consumed by up to 300% and computer performance slowing.
This is nonsense. I see none of that. Cubase 8.5 working well on 10.11.3.
It doesn't have to be nonsense. Look around for reports of heavy cpu usage sluggish graphics - same issue is haunting Wavelab where simply moving the mouse around the screen with nothin playing causes the CPU to jump from nothing to 50 %. Same thing is happening in Cubase Pro 8.5 / El Capitan. It's well documented - I even made a movie about it. Tried to post it in the issues forum but it wasn't approved with the reason "we are aware of the issue no need to keep posting about it"
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

coolbass
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by coolbass »

Like I said, this does not happen here.
Maybe there can be problems on some systems, but you cannot just say " Cubase 8.5 is incompatible with El Capitan".
It certainly is compatible here.

Lasso
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by Lasso »

true - Cubase in itself runs fine here too but try this:

Open a clean session, open activity viewer. With nothing happening - what's the CPU reading?

Now - move the cursor back / forth and move the mouse around the screen. Now what's the reading?

Surely you'll agree that something needs fixing or?

Just scrolling the cursor here makes it hit 20 % CPU in an empty session. Note: it is WAY worse in WL though it'll hit 40-50 or even more just by moving the mouse
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

niozik
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:58 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by niozik »

Lasso wrote:true - Cubase in itself runs fine here too but try this:

Open a clean session, open activity viewer. With nothing happening - what's the CPU reading?

Now - move the cursor back / forth and move the mouse around the screen. Now what's the reading?

Surely you'll agree that something needs fixing or?

Just scrolling the cursor here makes it hit 20 % CPU in an empty session. Note: it is WAY worse in WL though it'll hit 40-50 or even more just by moving the mouse

Hi Lasso do you also get the fans spinning after the noticing the overload on CPU?

Sorry guys i need help otherwise i am going to dump my Cubase because this is becoming rediculous for me:

Yesterday i went to an istore (after driving 200km and crossing border)and finally got a copy of yosemite 10.10.5. I come back home and clean installed on my MBP 15 mid July.

I have then installed cubase pro 8.5. I just opened empty session and the CPU was above 50%. Noticed that there was a new update 8.5.10 and gave a try in desparate move (even after reading history for that update and noticing no relation with my problem) and nothing changes reading are exploding and empty session with just moving mouse can drive the CPU to as high as 80% without pressing play. So my question is: is there a solution for this or i have to get rid of Cubase and suffer with something i dont know?

Please assist

niozik
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:58 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by niozik »

It is really sad to know that after many years supporting this brand Cubase I get to this point of doubting the software. I decided to move to mac assuming Cubase would be there for me but it is just turning into a headache and putting my projects on hold because my xomputer becomes useless . . . It is true that these minor things are driving my credibility on this software away even though made me stand for it for so long (5 years using it) . . .

Svenne
Member
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:29 am

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by Svenne »

niozik wrote:I just do not know what to do anymore . . .

Thanks and regards
Niozik
One common cause of problems are plug-ins. Try moving all non-Steinberg plug-ins out of the VST plug-ins folder.

What audio interface are you using? Switch to internal, just for the purpose of testing.

The last resort is to wipe the hard-drive and make a clean install. (It's a good idea to clone the drive first.) If it works, don't just install your other stuff. Retry Cubase after the installation of each individual item.

Steinberg can't be held responsible for every other peace of software you've got installed.
Cubase Pro 8.5.20 + IC Pro, WaveLab Elements 9.0.30, Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 8GB, 10.11.6 (El Capitan), MR 816X, Avid Control/Mix, iPad Air (128GB), Cubasis 2.0, iTrack Dock.

niozik
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:58 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by niozik »

Svenne wrote:
niozik wrote:I just do not know what to do anymore . . .

Thanks and regards
Niozik
One common cause of problems are plug-ins. Try moving all non-Steinberg plug-ins out of the VST plug-ins folder.

What audio interface are you using? Switch to internal, just for the purpose of testing.

The last resort is to wipe the hard-drive and make a clean install. (It's a good idea to clone the drive first.) If it works, don't just install your other stuff. Retry Cubase after the installation of each individual item.

Steinberg can't be held responsible for every other peace of software you've got installed.

Thanks for the details but all these trials I am doing are not involving any 3rd party vst/audio cards/whatever at all (just the macbook OS and Cubase. I just clean install the operating system soon after I put cubase running without any other plugin installed. Also you shall understand my frustration will people here at the forum tell you "mine is working fine" while you are dying with "apparently" same material . . . What I know for sure is that one of these things (laptop or cubase pro) must go away . . . Laptop was very expensive has no issue and will take forever to sell . . . so I am just left with Cubase (which is not cheap at all and you still have to live with poor performance and the money you spent) for some days ahead . . . sad but is the reality . . . Thanks to everyone who tried to help me. I just think this thing does not work at all on mac.

CamcheStudio
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - El Capitan compatibility?

Post by CamcheStudio »

Dirk Stegemann wrote:Although some users are currently experiencing problems regarding the USB-eLicenser, that doesn't seem to be working correctly on some El Capitan installations.

We're still investigating these issues.
If you are using your e-licenser on a usb hub that has more than 3 things plugged into it, you will have issues with not only your e-licenser but other attached devices. This is a problem with El-Capitain and not with Cubase nor the e-licenser.
As soon as I upgraded, my e-licenser did not work. Frustratingly I tried everything until I plugged it into a hub that had only 2 other things on it, and it worked perfectly. Even midi devices on hubs will have problems if there are more than 3.

Apple needs to fix this, not Steinberg. :)

For other e-license problems, I don't have the solution.
On other notes, my fans used to be wild on Yosemite. (macbook pro 2015 dual graphics cards) And cubase 8.5 took forever to open. It is smooth as silk now and speedy. Fans are quiet.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests