Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Piano Pete
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 4:42 pm
Contact:

Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by Piano Pete » Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:13 pm

Hello,

If I upgrade to Cubase 8.5 will this delete or mess up any of my settings I currently have in Cubase 8? I have a ton of presets, templates, and routing that I really would not want to have redo. Is it a completely new program or just an update?
Master: Windows 10, CPU-Intel i7 6700k, Radeon 260x, MB-Asus z170 Deluxe, 32GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x WD 1TB HD Raid 1 (Storage).

Slave: Windows 10, CPU-Xeon 2680, Radeon 240, MB-Asus x99 WS-E 3.1, 64GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x Samsung 850 Evo 1TB (Samples), WD 1TB HD (Storage).

Samples: EW Hollywood Orchestra, Gypsy, Solo Violin, Choirs (expansion), Spaces.

DAW- Cubase, Protools, VEP5, Keyboard- Yamaha Portable Grand, Midi Controller- Nektar Panorama P1

User avatar
MikZak
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by MikZak » Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:33 pm

I have just installed 8.5 and all my settings from 8 seem to be gone with the wind. Can't believe how Steinberg missed such an important thing. Anyone know where settings are stored so I can copy them to the 8.5 folder?
PC with Windows 10 64-bit. CPU: i7 (4 GHz). RAM: 16GB. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti. UR824. Midi Keyboard: Komplete Kontrol s61. Cubase Pro 10 Build 187. Groove Agent 5. The Grand 3. Komplete 10 Ultimate. EZdrummer. SD3

Piano Pete
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by Piano Pete » Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:45 pm

Wow, that makes me hesitant to upgrade.
Master: Windows 10, CPU-Intel i7 6700k, Radeon 260x, MB-Asus z170 Deluxe, 32GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x WD 1TB HD Raid 1 (Storage).

Slave: Windows 10, CPU-Xeon 2680, Radeon 240, MB-Asus x99 WS-E 3.1, 64GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x Samsung 850 Evo 1TB (Samples), WD 1TB HD (Storage).

Samples: EW Hollywood Orchestra, Gypsy, Solo Violin, Choirs (expansion), Spaces.

DAW- Cubase, Protools, VEP5, Keyboard- Yamaha Portable Grand, Midi Controller- Nektar Panorama P1

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3120
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by peakae » Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:47 pm

It will instal 8.5 in a new folder and leave your 8.0 alone. It will also import your settings (everything) from 8.0 to the new 8.5
If it for some reason doesn't import your original settings, there is a knowledge base on Steinberg.net that explains where the files are located and where to copy them.
So to be clear it acts as a completely new program.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3120
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by peakae » Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:50 pm

If you are using Windows make sure you install the same way as previous versions regarding to users. And I always start the installer with a (run as admin) and have never had a problem.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
MikZak
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by MikZak » Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:57 pm

Thank you for the info! I tried to search for the knowledge base article without succeeding. Do you have a link to this article?
PC with Windows 10 64-bit. CPU: i7 (4 GHz). RAM: 16GB. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti. UR824. Midi Keyboard: Komplete Kontrol s61. Cubase Pro 10 Build 187. Groove Agent 5. The Grand 3. Komplete 10 Ultimate. EZdrummer. SD3

User avatar
banjo1
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:41 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by banjo1 » Sun Dec 06, 2015 8:11 am

Yes, I just upgraded... and it looks like some of my saved bus configurations and Saved screen Layouts are gone! :oops: it would be nice to know how to retrieve them.
PC: 8 core AMD Windows 10 Mac: Mini (Sierra) Cubase Pro 9.0.20 (Also Live 9.7, Reason 9.5 .. I cannot decide which I like best! )

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3120
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by peakae » Sun Dec 06, 2015 8:38 am

Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
banjo1
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:41 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by banjo1 » Sun Dec 06, 2015 8:39 am

Oh.. and I looked in the Knowledge base on Steinberg.net. There is a just published "Version History, Issues and Solutions" document for 8.5

There is this:
"6341: No track presets available for Track Control
Configurations
The presets will appear once you start Cubase without
previously existing preferences from older Cubase versions.
Please delete preferences of previous versions."
and then there is this:
"6341: No track preset support for input and output
channels
Please note that saving and loading track presets is currently
not supported on Input/Output channels."
I'm not certain this is referring to the the saved presets for say, the Studio setup I saved in the Studio Tab of VST Connections of Cubase 8.1

Nothing else on saving presets other than those two except for a third blurb about saved Media Bay presets.

I am next going to try to open a Cubase 8 project and see if it restored my VST Connections. If it does I suppose I can save it again... if not, then I will have to recreate! :(
PC: 8 core AMD Windows 10 Mac: Mini (Sierra) Cubase Pro 9.0.20 (Also Live 9.7, Reason 9.5 .. I cannot decide which I like best! )

User avatar
banjo1
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:41 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by banjo1 » Sun Dec 06, 2015 9:55 am

Thanks Peakae!

I copied all the files and folders listed in that document to my new Cubase 8.5. I am hoping some of my other Saved configurations were moved over. Unfortunately my VST Connections still are not available.

So I guess this servers as a warning to those who update, you may lose some Presets... !
PC: 8 core AMD Windows 10 Mac: Mini (Sierra) Cubase Pro 9.0.20 (Also Live 9.7, Reason 9.5 .. I cannot decide which I like best! )

User avatar
banjo1
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:41 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 Upgrade Questions

Post by banjo1 » Sun Dec 06, 2015 9:58 am

Also... I lost all my saved workspaces too! Can't get those back either.
PC: 8 core AMD Windows 10 Mac: Mini (Sierra) Cubase Pro 9.0.20 (Also Live 9.7, Reason 9.5 .. I cannot decide which I like best! )

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests