Midi Clicking Noise

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Stefan B
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 3:57 pm
Contact:

Midi Clicking Noise

Post by Stefan B »

Hi there,

when recording Midi with Cubase 8 Pro with the Babyface Interface I hear a soft clicking noise, with each note. This is only, when the button "activate recording" on the track is enabled.
However, when playing back the recording, I hear the clicking noise with every note, wheather this is activated or not.

Do you have a clue?

Thanks, Stefan

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Where are these MIDI data routed? Virtual Instrument (which one?), or hardware synth (which one?) or any other hardware device?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Stefan B
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 3:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by Stefan B »

Thanks Martin for looking int this! It's going to my hardware stage piano.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Stefan B wrote:Thanks Martin for looking int this! It's going to my hardware stage piano.
Can you locate, from where the noise comes from? Can you hear it in the headphones connected directly to the stage piano? Does it come from the stage piano connected to the Audio Device? Or from another source from the Audio Device?

So far, I have no idea, sorry. We have to find something, where to start.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Peter_K
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by Peter_K »

Stefan B wrote:Hi there,

when recording Midi with Cubase 8 Pro with the Babyface Interface I hear a soft clicking noise, with each note. This is only, when the button "activate recording" on the track is enabled.
However, when playing back the recording, I hear the clicking noise with every note, wheather this is activated or not.

Do you have a clue?

Thanks, Stefan
Hi Stefan,

I seem to have the exact same problem when recording midi with my RME Babyface: A weird clicking noise following each midi on/off.

So I am curious: Did you find a solution to the problem?

Thanks in advance,
Peter K.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi guys,

Did you notice a significant real-time peak increase, when you open the KeyEditor (or any other MIDI editor)?

I just had this experience today with the RME sound card. I wonder, if it's somehow related.

Could you try to install older RME driver, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Peter_K
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by Peter_K »

Hi Martin,

Thanks for the answer.

No, I don't get the real-time peak increase that you mention when switching to any of the midi editors in Cubase.

I tried to uninstall the RME Babyface completely and then reinstalling it using an older driver (version 1.68). Unfortunately, it didn't change the situation. The unwanted clicks following every midi message is still there.

Normally, I would suspect the problem to relate to the fact that I am using an older version of Cubase (version 6.0.7) and that it might help if I upgraded. However, since Stefan (the original creator of this thread) is having the same problem using Cubase 8 Pro I guess that is not the problem.

Hm, what to do?

Best,
Peter.

User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1434
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by ggc »

The clicking noise is coming from your breakout cable..

Call your dealer and exchange the cable..

User avatar
Peter_K
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by Peter_K »

Hi ggc,

Thanks for the advice. Sounds like a reasonable explanation.

I will call the dealer tomorrow and update this thread as soon as I have tried with a new breakout cable.

Thanks to both of you for taking the time to help.

Best,
Peter.

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by jamusic »

What kind of cable is a 'breakout cable'?
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
Peter_K
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by Peter_K »

Hi jamusic,

You can see the breakout cable on this page: http://www.rme-audio.de/en/products/cables.php

It is the cable shown at the top of the page (BF-BOXLRMKH).

Best,
Peter.

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Midi Clicking Noise

Post by jamusic »

Oh right - Ok, now I remember what they are.

Thanks for the link Peter.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests