Adding midi drums to music

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
stacey7890

Adding midi drums to music

Post by stacey7890 » Fri Sep 04, 2015 3:36 pm

Hello Folks, I'm new to recording and having fun putting my guitar and vocal tracks together with great results!
Here are some examples: https://soundcloud.com/trap-light-422409181

I would now like to add some simple drum beats using some kind of program or midi device. I own a midi keyboard.
Is there something built into Cubase 8 or a program to buy that is easy to use to add drums - especially for a noob/non-drummer. I've looked over the manual/forums/youtube and cannot understand what function of the drum map.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder

Re: Adding midi drums to music

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Sep 07, 2015 7:01 pm

Hi and welcome,

You can use built-in drummer Groove Agent SE. This contains sounds, and loops. See some videos from here, please. This is the full version of Groove Agent 4. In Cubase, there is limited Groove Agent SE version included. But the basis is the same.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

stacey7890

Post by stacey7890 » Tue Sep 08, 2015 7:44 pm

Thanks Martin - the demonstrations all start with the groove agent already open - If groove agent is in my Cubase, how would I go about finding it and putting it to use? Trust me, I'm not looking for hand holding - I've read, watched and tried everything I can think of.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Sep 08, 2015 8:46 pm

Hi,

in the Project menu, select Add Track > Instrument. Add Instrument Track window appears. Click to the No VST Instrument, and select Groove Agent SE, here. Now, the VSTi Groove Agent appears.

Maybe, you should have a look on these videos.
Martin Jirsak
Cubase Training

macOS (last update)

stacey7890