one license two computers

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
yigitonline
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 9:06 pm

one license two computers

Post by yigitonline » Sat May 23, 2015 9:42 pm

[user has been banned: a case of arrested development]
Last edited by yigitonline on Tue May 26, 2015 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9246
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: one license two computers

Post by -steve- » Sun May 24, 2015 3:06 am

There are many options for what you want to do. You can buy a cheaper version of Cubase, like Elements, or maybe you already have a device that came with a license to Cubase Ai.

But the deal is clear, one license, one Cubase at a time. You make a good case for buying one of the other programs you mentioned. Why haven't you? Is it because, in your opinion Cubase is actually better?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3351
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: one license two computers

Post by jaslan » Sun May 24, 2015 3:37 pm

The only permanent way to use Cubase Pro on two computers at the same time (legitimately) is to buy another license.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

yigitonline
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 9:06 pm

Re: one license two computers

Post by yigitonline » Sun May 24, 2015 3:38 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:I'll have a look through the company directory for the free license department. ;) :P
not free.. maybe 2. or 3. license should be given a more affordable price. or two dongle should use one license.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3351
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: one license two computers

Post by jaslan » Sun May 24, 2015 3:52 pm

yigitonline wrote:
SteveInChicago wrote:I'll have a look through the company directory for the free license department. ;) :P
not free.. maybe 2. or 3. license should be given a more affordable price. or two dongle should use one license.
Well... Steinberg offered one license for a price and you accepted the deal. No point in complaining now. The deal has been made. Consider your purchase more carefully next time...
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
sonicstate
Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: one license two computers

Post by sonicstate » Mon May 25, 2015 8:22 pm

Steinberg could give Cubase with license for 2 workstations. They could be linked, like master and slave. I would use this to work on 2 machines connected via vst system link. Or at least we could get ability to use older versions of Cubase via vst system link. After all, we purchased those older versions already, and we can already use them on the same machine together with latest version. Why not give us ability to use older versions on another machine?
Cubase Pro 8.5, Win 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, M-Audio Axiom AIR Mini 32, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...

yigitonline
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 9:06 pm

Re: one license two computers

Post by yigitonline » Mon May 25, 2015 8:30 pm

[banned]
Last edited by yigitonline on Tue May 26, 2015 8:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3351
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: one license two computers

Post by jaslan » Mon May 25, 2015 10:05 pm

When we upgrade to a newer version, it is sort of like "trading in" the older version for a discount on a newer version. The bottom line is that we still only own one license. Steinberg COULD do lots of things differently but this is the model they have chosen to use.
However you look at, it absolutely is asking for something for free (I.e. It is asking for more usage capability without paying more).

It is common for consumers to come up with some logic to justify why they should get something for free.
Some favorites are, "it's not fair!", or, "I can't afford it!", or, "I am being forced..." Calling a sales policy "stupid" after one has already agreed to it is baffling. Comparing prices to other, similar products, especially while acknowledging that the more expensive product is preferred is also puzzling.

"The grocer SHOULD give me the bananas for free because he can't possibly sell them all before they go bad."
But if he does that, and the consumers know it, he won't sell ANY bananas.
It is the same with Cubase licenses. Some need two licenses and are willing to pay for two licenses. Others need or want two licenses but not badly enough to pay for the extra. The bottom line is that whatever additional usage capability given takes away potential additional sales.

Anyway, eventually, SB has to decide what terms (including the price) that they want to market their product under. If those terms are acceptable to the consumer, they purchase the product. We wouldn't like it if SB came to us, after the fact and wanted more money. We would say, "we had an agreement." Likewise, it is not fair for us to ask for more after the purchase.
Last edited by jaslan on Mon May 25, 2015 10:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3153
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: one license two computers

Post by peakae » Mon May 25, 2015 10:21 pm

I have paid for 2 licenses, why should others have it for free ? That would not be fair IMHO
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

yigitonline
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 9:06 pm

Re: one license two computers

Post by yigitonline » Mon May 25, 2015 10:23 pm

IS YOUR FATHER STEINBERG'S BOSS? or king's in your country? Why are you doing opposition? Steinberg company is capitalist...one computer - one license- one activation code - one eLicenser!... ahh ok! perfect!...
we are pour MR. RICHIE RICH! and we want to make Music! and i'm a student! -so it is not even support by e-mail... just forum!..and i written here. If they have a support mail, I can write there. I began to get angry so SHUT UP!
topic is closed.
Last edited by yigitonline on Tue May 26, 2015 9:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3351
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: one license two computers

Post by jaslan » Mon May 25, 2015 10:33 pm

Yes, SB is a business, not a charity. I also support capitalism as an economic system.
People have been making music for a long time without two Cubase licenses. Just because some things are available doesn't mean you are entitled to them. Do you go into the music store and demand a free guitar because you can't afford to pay for it and you just want to make music?

You are wrong from the first post in this thread.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 736
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: one license two computers

Post by Makumbaria » Tue May 26, 2015 7:38 am

yigitonline wrote: we are pour MR. RICHIE RICH! and we want to make Music! and i'm a student! -so it is not even support by e-mail... just forum!..and i written here. If they have a support mail, I can write there. I began to get angry so SHUT UP!
topic is closed.
I live in a third world country (Brazil). I am not rich, so Steinberg should give me some free licenses too. Not much, maybe 5 or 15! :lol:
Cubase Pro 10.5.10 / Wavelab elements 10.0.10 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 3.1 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

yigitonline
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 9:06 pm

Re: one license two computers

Post by yigitonline » Tue May 26, 2015 8:58 am

Okey. Roger! I m changing my daw with logic pro x or studio one 3
140€ full version. No dongle/ One activation code and limitless os. And they have support center With mail. Not only user forum. Topic was really closed

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3153
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: one license two computers

Post by peakae » Tue May 26, 2015 12:43 pm

Nope :-)
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests