Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
gregfenton
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 4:50 pm
Contact:

Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post by gregfenton » Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:49 pm

Hi, I have been trying to activate the license for a recent upgrade from Cubase 5 to Pro 8 on my PC (Windows 8.1). Pro 8 has downloaded but when I try to open it it says 'no valid license found' I then 'start license validation' and enter the activation code supplied with the e mail order confirmation. It then tells me that 'no license to upgrade selectable'.

Can anyone help me with this? Thanks Greg.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9243
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post by -steve- » Wed Apr 08, 2015 5:13 pm

Double check that you bought the correct upgrade product.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

gregfenton
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post by gregfenton » Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:34 pm

it says 'Cubase Pro 8 Update from Cubase 4 / 5' on the invoice, and I have Cubase 5....

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2563
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post by Arjan P » Wed Apr 08, 2015 8:13 pm

Install latest e-Licenser software and make sure your USB licenser is connected and the Cubase 5 license shows. Then enter the activation code for the Pro 8 update. Then when the C8 license shows Cubase should start up..
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.20 | Cubase 10.0.50 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

gregfenton
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post by gregfenton » Wed Apr 08, 2015 9:05 pm

thanks for the replies.

have the latest e licenser software installed and usb is connected. the cubase 5 license is there and when i add the activation code the Pro 8 update appears in the box below but when i press 'continue' i get the 'no license available...' message.

?

krisp
Junior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post by krisp » Thu Apr 09, 2015 1:47 am

Are you sure you aren't trying to update from Cubase 5 LE?
Cubase 8.0.20 x64 | Win 8.1 x64 | Lenovo ThinkStation P900 w/ 2 Intel Xeon E5-2620v3 + 64 GB DDR4 ECC RAM | Nvidia Quadro K2200 | 256 GB M.2 SSD | 2x2 TB hybrid HDDs (RAID1).

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9243
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post by -steve- » Thu Apr 09, 2015 2:08 am

Post a screen shot of your elicenser with both the USB and Soft Elicenses showing, then we will know what's going on. Erase the dongle serial number from the image.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

gregfenton
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post by gregfenton » Thu Apr 09, 2015 1:30 pm

Just double checked. I have Cubase Studio 5 and apparently can't therefore update it to Cubase 8. As it wasn't made clear when I purchased the download, and as it hasn't been activated, I've asked for a refund...

Just need to work out how, and what, I can upgrade to from Cubase 5.5.3. Anyone know?

Thanks for your help to date.

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2563
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post by Arjan P » Thu Apr 09, 2015 3:35 pm

Weird, I don't see Cubase Studio 5 mentioned anywhere in the shop, to upgrade from..
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.20 | Cubase 10.0.50 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9243
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase update from 5 to Pro 8 problem

Post by -steve- » Thu Apr 09, 2015 3:51 pm

independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests