"Tab to transients" help.

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
stingray
Senior Member
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: "Tab to transients" help.

Post by stingray »

Probably not in the manual but it works like this:

- make sure you have 'Enable Automatic Hitpoint Detection' activated in Preferences
- select a track in the project window
- use Alt+N and Alt+B to tab to transients

Good luck.

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: "Tab to transients" help.

Post by shadowfax »

stingray wrote:Probably not in the manual but it works like this:

- make sure you have 'Enable Automatic Hitpoint Detection' activated in Preferences
- select a track in the project window
- use Alt+N and Alt+B to tab to transients

Good luck.

I've just tried this and all I get is alt n moves the curser forward and alt b moves the curser backwards..
hitpoint detection is enabled..

what am i missing please.. :oops:
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
lordadb
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Contact:

Re: "Tab to transients" help.

Post by lordadb »

Mmm, just N and B, without ALT, if I remember...
Cubase Pro 10.5.20 (italian) - Win 10 Pro x64 - CPU AMD FX-8350 @ 4.42 GHz - RAM 16 GB - TC Electronic StudioKonnekt 48 (x2) - ATI Sapphire R7 250 Ultimate - Controller: Steinberg CMC-CH, Icon Qcon Pro X+XS, Novation Remote ZERO SL
My studio gears: http://lipstickstudio.maurolamanna.it/a ... -list-ita/

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: "Tab to transients" help.

Post by shadowfax »

lordadb wrote:Mmm, just N and B, without ALT, if I remember...
tried it..but get the same result...
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

stingray
Senior Member
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: "Tab to transients" help.

Post by stingray »

lordadb wrote:Mmm, just N and B, without ALT, if I remember...
No, those are the default key commands for 'locate next event' and 'locate previous event'.

stingray
Senior Member
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: "Tab to transients" help.

Post by stingray »

shadowfax wrote:...all I get is alt n moves the curser forward and alt b moves the curser backwards..
Yes, that's what this does. It moves the cursor forward hitpoint by hitpoint and back hitpoint by hitpoint on the currently selected track according to the position of the hitpoints in the event. So it's going to depend on how the hitpoints are set up for the event under the song position pointer. If there are no hitpoints calculated for the event, tab to transient will not work.

Look in your key commands and make sure Alt+N and Alt+B are assigned to 'locate next hitpoint' and 'locate previous hitpoint' (these are the default key commands). The Preference you need is File/Preferences/Editing/Audio/'Enable Automatic Hitpoint Detection'. This automatically calculates hitpoints for newly recorded audio or newly imported audio files. I don't know what happens with existing audio events when you switch on automatic hitpoint detection in projects where it had previously been switched off (probably nothing).

User avatar
lordadb
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Contact:

Re: "Tab to transients" help.

Post by lordadb »

stingray wrote:
lordadb wrote:Mmm, just N and B, without ALT, if I remember...
No, those are the default key commands for 'locate next event' and 'locate previous event'.
Yes, you're right. ;)
Cubase Pro 10.5.20 (italian) - Win 10 Pro x64 - CPU AMD FX-8350 @ 4.42 GHz - RAM 16 GB - TC Electronic StudioKonnekt 48 (x2) - ATI Sapphire R7 250 Ultimate - Controller: Steinberg CMC-CH, Icon Qcon Pro X+XS, Novation Remote ZERO SL
My studio gears: http://lipstickstudio.maurolamanna.it/a ... -list-ita/

markvonreddy
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 7:05 am
Contact:

Re: "Tab to transients" help.

Post by markvonreddy »

I have recently ported over from Pro Tools 11HD to Nuendo 7. Is there any way of syncing an audio clip that has a sync point (PT)/ Hitpoint (Nuendo), with a hitpoint in another track? The youtube video better explains my question. As a sound designer, this is one of the many functions I use all the time.

https://youtu.be/simohvbPG0c

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests