Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Wed Jan 28, 2015 3:39 pm

Hi there,

just wondered if anyone could help me with this please?

I've just had a major upgrade with my pc & this one little problem is really annoying. :x

In the project window when a project is playing if I click the mouse anywhere in that window or move it back & forth in any direction this causes the peak performance meter to spike up with each click or movement up & down etc. I have an Nvidia gtx 260 at the moment & i can't find anything in the control panel to adjust for the mouse. I've tried inverting the mouse pointer but that hasn't worked, I've changed to a usb2 port of its own instead of the hub it was in & that has done nothing. I've tried older drivers for the Graphics that are still Windows 7 compatible with no success!

It also spikes when I click on certain plugins or click sometimes on the virtual keyboard in the midi editor :cry:

I am thinking of getting a new graphics card & a new mouse (My logitech MX510 is quite old now)

Anyone had this problem or know how to fix it please? Would really appreciate some help :)

Kind regards, Codsworth

Cubase 8 Pro
Windows 7 64bit
Asus z97 pro wifi
Intel i7 4790K
Corsair 2x8 gb Vengeance pro 2400mhz
Echo Layla 3G with PCI to PCIE x1 converter card

User avatar
Outsounder
Member
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Outsounder » Wed Jan 28, 2015 4:31 pm

This issue first raised it's head when east West Play 3 was released and caused huge Asio spikes on mouse movement due to a conflict in graphic drivers. The issue was somewhat elevated for many by rolling back to earlier drivers as well as rolling back to earlier version of the Play engine though it all seems to have been resolved in C8.

It can also be caused by asio guard and asio driver set to high, rolling back a few ms might help.

If you don't use play, it might be down to another rouge VI. If you do use play, there"s a guy from East West forum active in the Cubase SB forum, you'd probably get a faster response there than posting to the EW forums.

Keep posting until it's resolved in case other people hit the same problem again, good luck with it!
Main-Intel i7/Asus mobo/Gforce GPU/16gig ram. Secondary-Intel Q9950/Asus mobo/Radeon GPU/8gig ram. Win 7 64bit, Cubase 9.5 Pro, Studio One 3 Pro, ACID, Ableton Live, SonicCore/Scope DSP Audio System, Presonus Sceptre S6 monitors. Avid Artist Mix/Control and Transport. Software includes NI Komplete 10, Halion 6, East West Play Libraries, Heavyocity Libraries, Sample Logic Libraries Best Service Libraries, Sonokinetic Libraries, 8Dio Libraries,Project Sam Libaries, Sound Iron Libraries,Melodyne Pro, Uberschall Elastic & Liquid Libraries etc etc.

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Wed Jan 28, 2015 4:34 pm

Thank you Outsounder :-)

roel
Member
Posts: 781
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by roel » Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:30 pm

You did a good first check imo but it didn't help, and actually what you are talking is quit a bit of spiking.

What i did not read that you have tried is:
- remove all nvidea software and let windows install the driver
- if that doesn't solve things: remove the video card and change your graphics to the intel 4600 that is included with your type of processor
- if that doesn't help, buy a new mouse first.

What i wonder is that you say that this spiking is present when a project is running. Does this mean that you have no spikes when the project is idle and you hover around with your mouse ? If so: that is something to take in to account. Because if so, that could indicate it may not be graphics related at all.
Also good to now is: what did you change on your hardware.

hope you find the culprit quick!
kind regards,
R.
Cubase 9.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

User avatar
Freddie H
Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Freddie H » Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:50 pm

Codsworth wrote:Hi there,

just wondered if anyone could help me with this please?

I've just had a major upgrade with my pc & this one little problem is really annoying. :x

In the project window when a project is playing if I click the mouse anywhere in that window or move it back & forth in any direction this causes the peak performance meter to spike up with each click or movement up & down etc. I have an Nvidia gtx 260 at the moment & i can't find anything in the control panel to adjust for the mouse. I've tried inverting the mouse pointer but that hasn't worked, I've changed to a usb2 port of its own instead of the hub it was in & that has done nothing. I've tried older drivers for the Graphics that are still Windows 7 compatible with no success!

It also spikes when I click on certain plugins or click sometimes on the virtual keyboard in the midi editor :cry:

I am thinking of getting a new graphics card & a new mouse (My logitech MX510 is quite old now)

Anyone had this problem or know how to fix it please? Would really appreciate some help :)

Kind regards, Codsworth

Cubase 8 Pro
Windows 7 64bit
Asus z97 pro wifi
Intel i7 4790K
Corsair 2x8 gb Vengeance pro 2400mhz
Echo Layla 3G with PCI to PCIE x1 converter card

You are not alone and it has nothing to do with NVIDIA drivers. Its all about INTEL USB controller that come with the ASUS motherboards and other brands.
I get the same issues when inserting a normal USB memory stick. Other hardware's like controllers, hardware controllers and other USB devices like mouse, keyboard etc work fine on my setup but not if I insert a normal USB memory stick in the computer. Microsoft say its a Windows 7 issue but I don't know? It might happens on Windows 8.1 too? So others, please confirm.


You can read all about it here.
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 84&t=67407

Best regards
Freddie
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Norbury Brook » Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:15 pm

Is it a Logitech mouse? if so have you installed the Logitech drivers? if yes, uninstall them and use the generic Microsoft drivers. Logitech mouse drivers have given problems to many DAW's


MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64

nick galea
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by nick galea » Thu Jan 29, 2015 7:02 am

funny i have been having problems with cubase & my mouse & keyboard losing connection with my full computer.

only happens with cubase 8 i have to do a hard restart everytime. so odd. I wonder what it is.
10.10.5 Yosemite
Hackintosh 4790k
Processor 4.4ghz
Memory 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 ECC
Amd Pulse Rx580 8gb
noctua nh-d15 cpu cooler
2 x Samsung840 1tb Ssd Drives
Uad apollo twin
Uad Satellite Quad,Fabfilter Bundle, Native Instruments komplete 10. Slate Digital

User avatar
Freddie H
Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Freddie H » Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:49 am

-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Thu Jan 29, 2015 2:45 pm

Thank you all for the replies.

Freddie, i don't have windows 8 so can't give you any confirmation but thanks.

Roel- it does still spike when the project is not running & I click or move the mouse quickly up & down but the system is not under so much strain then.

I've ordered a new Logitech mouse & a geforce GTX 750 ti graphics card so as soon as i've got it all installed i'll let you know what happens. Fingers crossed! :-)

Kind regards, Codsworth

roel
Member
Posts: 781
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by roel » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:05 pm

ok. Good luck. But take a good look at freddie's comments too. He did not say this was only viable for windows 8, but that it is a potential problem for many people, and probably also for win8. That guy is a professional workstation builder, and one of the best informed people on the forum. Check if you have a usb-stick attached somewhere and if removing it helps.

kind regards,
R.
Cubase 9.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:15 pm

P.s Also if certain plugins are installed ie. RP Subboombass NI Kontakt.

With both it really exaggerates this spiking if I have selected the RP SBB midi channel, then clicking anywhere in the project window sends a huge spike with each mouse click. Also changing the RP SBB presets, each click sends it soaring up the performance meter. If I then select an Audio track it calms down alot. I also have HOFA analyzer v2 & if the new Freq Correlator is on it also makes huge spikes very strange.
I'm going to install the 32bit version of SBB & see if that makes a difference.

Cheers, Cods

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:21 pm

Thank you Roel.
No it was just that Freddie asked for confirmation from someone about Windows 8 & I couldn't help him.

I have read all the replies properly & will check the USB stick things. I have the Steinberg & pace dongles among other bits so i'll try & then report back, thank you :-)

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:48 pm

Yes it definitely does it much much more when RP SBB & Kontakt is open & i've selected their midi channel, very very strange! :-(

roel
Member
Posts: 781
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by roel » Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:05 pm

That could on the other hand indeed be an indication that there is an interference with the grapics on the asio stream. It's more or less the same as what happened with play a while ago.

Did you try the switch to the intel graphics ?
That is just to notice if another graphics card reproduces the same behaviour or not.
If it is not the case, the it's quite Obvious that there is trouble with the NVIDEA card.
If it is the case, then we're talking possibly something different.

But in any case: it looks like it is some hardware that is letting your system to go berzerk, and then espescially it's interference with the asio driver.

So maybe fwiw: what was changed in the system. MOBO, processor, harddrives or everything at the same time ?

kind regards,
R.
Cubase 9.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:36 pm

Cheeers Roel. new MB, CPU, SSD, RAM blue ray recorder/player

User avatar
Sle
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Sle » Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:46 pm

I have the same kind of thing going on.

I reckon it's bridged legacy PCI cards, seems to be the common thread. It's only Cubase that does this though, at least on my system. Ableton is glassy smooth no matter what I do with the GUI.

roel
Member
Posts: 781
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by roel » Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:31 pm

maybe stupid, but nonetheless... is the power supply up to what is needed ?
main reason for the question: you are prematurely running out of juice, so this can be something on the list to check.

kind regards,
R.
Cubase 9.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

User avatar
Sle
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Sle » Fri Jan 30, 2015 11:05 am

Actually that's something I can certainly swap out. I have a 350w RMS PSU currently (no graphics card) but I can certainly try the 650W in the older computer I've relegated to server duties.

It ain't half loud though..

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Fri Jan 30, 2015 11:30 am

Cheers Roel, I have an 850w psu :-)

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:05 am

Hi there, can anyone please tell me, which is more compatible with Cubase 8 pro or any Cubase version on Windows 7 64bit, AMD RADEON or NVIDIA GEFORCE?

I haven't had any problems with Nvidia until now.

Cheers, Codsworth

Soapmak3r
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Soapmak3r » Sun Mar 01, 2015 1:14 am

Any fixes for this? I thought it might have been to do with USB power saving settings, so I have disabled 'USB selective suspend setting' is advanced power option in Win7. I'll report back and see if it makes a difference.

I am using Play, and to be honest, it is more than likely the culprit. I love their libraries, but they don't seem to be great at optimising their Play software.

It could also be Nvidia Geforce experience that is doing it, which I know was causing Cubase to crash/hang on exit.

It might be worth installing just the graphics drivers, without the additional Geforce experience software. It's only really useful if you want it to auto update drivers and optimise your games anyway.
Core i7 8700
32GB DDR4 2666 RAM
Antelope Zen Tour audio interface/Focal Alpha 80s/Slate digital VMS/Kemper

Win10 Pro 64bit. MacOS High Sierra. Cubase Pro 9.5

User avatar
Mauri
Senior Member
Posts: 1072
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:17 am
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Mauri » Sun Mar 01, 2015 5:09 pm

@Codsworth,

You say you're using "Echo Layla 3G with PCI to PCIE x1 converter card", Layla being a PCI card don't you mean PCIE x1 to PCI converter?

I have a Layla PCI card too and am about to build a new machine but the new ASUS x99 boards don't have any PCI slots. I'm interested to find out how well those converters work. It would save me a lot of money if I could get away using the old Layla, with which I'm very happy.

Sorry about my OT post...

Mauri.
Cubase Pro 10 x64 with jBridge | WaveLab Elements 9.5 | i7 5930K @ 4.7GHz (stable) | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs plus 3 SSDs for samples and project/audio files | Fractal Design Define R5 case | Noctua NH-D15 | ASUS GeForce GT 730 2GB silent | Vox ToneLab SE | Mackie HR624 MKII | 2 x UAD2 Solo PCIe | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x 24" LED monitors...

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Sun Mar 01, 2015 10:26 pm

Hi Mauri, it seems to work good at the moment. I can't notice any difference in quality at the moment but will let you know if this changes

User avatar
xerogh
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:16 am
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by xerogh » Sun Mar 01, 2015 10:44 pm

Hoping I can help here, I had the same problem with glitching and mouse cursor movement but it looks like (fingers crossed) I was able to resolve it. I have not seen this thread how many computer displays you are using so if you have more than one in your setup give this a try.

First my specs:

Cubase v8.0.5 (upgraded from v7.5.3)

Win7 Pro

6-core i7 Intel on an ASUS motherboard

32gig of ram

Three drives (two SSD, one regular Seagate Barracuda). One SSD is for OS and Programs; the second is for sample libraries and my Loops both Audio and Midi. The Seagate regular Drive is where I keep my Cubase projects.

ASUS Raedeon R9 200 Graphics card running two 27” displays through DVI to HDMI connections

Apollo 16 Quad Audio Interface via Firewire

OK, so I tried just about everything that was mentioned here with no luck, even CB 7.5 was messed up too. Was just about to do a reformat/re-install of everything but noticed that my display setup in the AMD Control Center was different than what Windows had (under Control Panelà Screen Resolution). It was backwards, Windows had display #1 to the Left, AMD had #1 to the right. And both had display #2 set to my main display. It took a few cable swaps and some reboots but I got them in sync (#1 to the Left set to Main, #2 to the right Extended).

I have not had any problems for about a week now, no audio glitches at any buffer setting, VSTs are behaving (including NI Kontakt and EW Play).

But I should note that I did two other things around the same time that may or may not be factors, so depending on your setup you may want to check these too (everything is finally working so I’m reluctant to test these on their own):

1) I swapped my CB Workspace setup, moved Track Lanes, Sample and Midi editors and a minimal mix console to my left (#1 main display), VSTs, Plugins, Mediabay, everything else is on the right #2 display. 2) I turned off the Display Scaling options in the AMD Control Center.

Hope something here helps someone, feel free to PM or reply to the thread. I’ll check in and give you any updates if my situation craps out again.

Good luck
x.
CB 10 Pro / HALion 6
Win 10 - 6 Core i7-3930k 3.20 GHz - 32GB RAM, 4 SSD's
AMD Radeon R9 270 GPU
UAD Apollo Firewire / UAD 4-710d

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Mouse causing ASIO performance spikes

Post by Codsworth » Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:02 am

Thanks all of you, will check :-)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kevinlai1991 and 6 guests