Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

I've just gotten an album back from mastering and the engineer gave me some helpful info. He said my mixes sounded nearly mono. He said that when he listened to just the stereo info there was virtually nothing there.

Is there a way in Cubase to listen to whats happening in JUST the stereo field. Essentially muting whats happening in the mono area?

Needless to say I am crushed at the fact that my mix is sounding mono. I know I panned a LOT of stuff stereo wide.

Its a hard pill to swallow but I gotta learn from this.

How can we listen to stereo only info in Cubase?

D
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

i use voxengo msed (free) usually for mastering and listening to S only.

i'm not sure if cubase has a ms matrix plugin. all that's needed really is a most simple L + (-R) (minus 6db) process (flip polarity on either L or R and divide gain by 2).
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

The mastering engineer said this

"Just flip the polarity on either the L or R main output in your mixer."

Can we do this?
It may have been there all along but I have never noticed being able to do this.
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

Denicio wrote:The mastering engineer said this

"Just flip the polarity on either the L or R main output in your mixer."

Can we do this?
It may have been there all along but I have never noticed being able to do this.
just d/l this:
http://www.voxengo.com/product/msed/
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

Lucas,
Thanks for the link.

Just put this on the last channel of the master buss, right?

D
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by alexis »

Denicio wrote:The mastering engineer said this

"Just flip the polarity on either the L or R main output in your mixer."

Can we do this?
It may have been there all along but I have never noticed being able to do this.
If you want to do it without learning a new plug-in (free and useful as the Voxengo M/S is), just:

Render final stereo signal to split mono tracks, flip the phase/polarity button on the mixconsole for one of the two split mono tracks (L or R, doesn't matter), then play the two tracks together to get "side", i.e., non-mono content.

That's it!

You may already have some comps or EQs with M/S processing, where if you want you can just dial up the side component. UAD-2 Fairchild 670, and the Voxengo EQs have that, as well as a whole bunch of others.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

Alexis,
My mixes are buttered with the buttery goodness of UA's 660's and 670's so I do have them.
Do you have some settings you care to share that will help me out?

Rendering, as you say, will work, but I'd rather be able to do this while I am working.

Please geek out with all the nerdy details about using the UA 670 in this application. I assume step 1 will be to put it as the last slot on the master buss, right?
Then what about the settings?

D
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by alexis »

Denicio wrote:Alexis,
My mixes are buttered with the buttery goodness of UA's 660's and 670's so I do have them.
Do you have some settings you care to share that will help me out?

Rendering, as you say, will work, but I'd rather be able to do this while I am working.

Please geek out with all the nerdy details about using the UA 670 in this application. I assume step 1 will be to put it as the last slot on the master buss, right?
Then what about the settings?

D
Hi Denicio - From memory (I'm at work here in NE, deflating footballs):

In the 670, turn the AGC to Lat/Vert (instead of the usual L/R) for mid-side instead of the usual stereo processing. The vertical is the stereo signal info, the lateral is mono signal info. Then just turn one vs. the other up to hear more of the mid (= mono signal only, = lat = L+R) vs. side (= stereo signal only = vert = L-R).

I usually create 1 last bus between the whole mix and the master, route all signals to that bus, and then put the F670 as an insert in that bus, then out to the master.

The F670 manual from the UAD site does a pretty good job of explaining it, and there are some great SOS articles for more theory (Hugh Robjohns is the author, "Faking Stereo signals" or something like that is the title, in the last 2-3 years).

I'm sure there are better ways to do this as I came up with it on my own, but I hope it at least gets you started!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

i have my MSED on the control room inserts. that way i can monitor whichever channel via the listen bus, listen just to the Side or just the Mid of that channel. this is followed (in the CR inserts) by a spectrum analyzer, so i can see if the Side alone contains too much low-end frequencies for instance, etc.
Last edited by lukasbrooklyn on Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

So what I am hoping to accomplish is to basically zap the mono (middle) and hear what is happening in the stereo fields of my mixes.
This method will do this?

Also, will making the 670 the last insert on the MB work?
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

Denicio wrote:So what I am hoping to accomplish is to basically zap the mono (middle) and hear what is happening in the stereo fields of my mixes.
This method will do this?

Also, will making the 670 the last insert on the MB work?
MS conversion is the simplest DSP thing you can think of (i am sure you could run hundreds of MSED's). so, generally speaking, using the 670 is a bit of an overkill, that eats up your UAD's resources. on top of that, many UAD emulations alter the sound and gain once inserted with all settings flat / at unity. i'm not sure the 670 does, but it's worth pointing out.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

True True True!

All I want to do is basically null the mono so I can hear what's happening in my stereo field. Something easy and quick.

My head is still reeling that my mixes have turned out Mono-ish. As the brits say...I am GUTTED! Worked too long and too hard to have that as initial feedback. I gotta learn from this mistake.
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3336
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by peakae »

I use Brainworks bx_solo, it also has one of the best sounding stereo width controls IMHO. And its free.
Cubase Pro 11, Wavelab Elements 9, I9 9900K , win10x64, 32Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

Guys thanks for the cool referrals on the Plug ins from Brainworks and Voxengo.
The brainworks looks especially simple to use for a simpleton like myself.

What I can do now is take some commercially released stuff and import it into C7 and see what I hear with those mixes and them pull mine up to see how bad I missed the mark on stereo spread.
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by alexis »

lukasbrooklyn wrote:
Denicio wrote:So what I am hoping to accomplish is to basically zap the mono (middle) and hear what is happening in the stereo fields of my mixes.
This method will do this?

Also, will making the 670 the last insert on the MB work?
MS conversion is the simplest DSP thing you can think of (i am sure you could run hundreds of MSED's). so, generally speaking, using the 670 is a bit of an overkill, that eats up your UAD's resources. on top of that, many UAD emulations alter the sound and gain once inserted with all settings flat / at unity. i'm not sure the 670 does, but it's worth pointing out.
Good points! As I'm using it for effect, I've never checked to see whether it nulls or not. If someone's looking to take a quick look how much side info is there or not, it's probably just as easy to fire up the 760 and take a quick listen as anything else.

That CurveEQ we have in Cubase 7 now (or is it Span?) ... that has a M/S decoder as well, doesn't it?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by alexis »

Confirmed! The included (7.5.20) CurveEQ allows one to solo the Mid, and solo the Side, channels of a stereo signal independently, to see how much (if any) "stereo" a signal has (i.e., how much side channel info, aka the difference between the L and R channels).

Test - I took a mono vocal track, rendered it to a stereo track. Clearly there is no "side" signal, since the L/R are identical.

Put "CurveEQ" as last insert in the master bus. In the "Routing" drop down arrow of the plugin, chose M/S.

Then I just played the stereo track while toggling at the bottom the MID and SIDE buttons to *see* that there was no side signal (i.e., nothing that wasn't mono).

Then to *hear* that there was no side signal, toggle the SOLO button at the bottom, while SIDE was selected. Completely silent when SIDE was selected ... which makes sense as there is zero side signal.

No third party stuff needed to do this!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

Thanks guys! This is a huge help for me and glad you were here to help me.

I appreciate the discussion and everything you have done!

Cheers
D
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

So when checking my mixes for stereo content, the best place for this CurveEQ to be in the last plug in slot on my master buss, correct?
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by alexis »

Denicio wrote:So when checking my mixes for stereo content, the best place for this CurveEQ to be in the last plug in slot on my master buss, correct?
Until the pros come around with better advice, that should be fine, you can compare your imported reference tracks to yours for differences in stereo imaging.

As far as why your project(s) turned out so mono-ish, per the engineer ... maybe it's as simple as something being routed to a mono group/FX channel that you meant to be routed to a stereo one?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

I wish it were that easy. No my groups were all stereo and there is stereo imaging. Its just that it seems to be a mono heavy mix, even though there is all kinds of stuff happening hard left and right.
I always hit the mono button to hear how things sound that way but never thought do to the opposite by muting the mono region and hear whats happening wide.

Now I know!
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2673
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Arjan P »

Nice discussion, but one thing has not been mentioned: perhaps the mastering engineer that started all this has a very particual view on how much stereo signal there 'should' be in a mix. Personally I don't believe in such rules, and if a mix sounds good when nearly mono, then it IS a good mix. Remember, some of the best classic albums (Pet Sounds, Sgt. Pepper's etc.) were originally mixed in mono - even relatively modern ones (Pepper's Californication is almost mono), so no shame in that!
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab Pro 10.0.50 | Cubase Pro 11.0.0 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

Denicio wrote:I wish it were that easy. No my groups were all stereo and there is stereo imaging. Its just that it seems to be a mono heavy mix, even though there is all kinds of stuff happening hard left and right.
I always hit the mono button to hear how things sound that way but never thought do to the opposite by muting the mono region and hear whats happening wide.

Now I know!
well, if you use LCR panning style, there _will_ be side information.

just imagine a saw wave panned hard-left, and no signal on the very right. S = -L + R. so by flipping the polarity of your saw and adding R (which equals to nothing), you get... your saw wave with a flipped polarity. eg. you have Side information. and indeed, it makes sense that if something is panned, there _is_ stereo. dead mono means that subtracting L and an inverted R entirely cancels out the signal. so there is some misunderstanding going on somewhere 'in the chain' between the ME and you.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
Denicio
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by Denicio »

Arjan P wrote:Nice discussion, but one thing has not been mentioned: perhaps the mastering engineer that started all this has a very particual view on how much stereo signal there 'should' be in a mix. Personally I don't believe in such rules, and if a mix sounds good when nearly mono, then it IS a good mix. Remember, some of the best classic albums (Pet Sounds, Sgt. Pepper's etc.) were originally mixed in mono - even relatively modern ones (Pepper's Californication is almost mono), so no shame in that!
Good point. Really good point, actually.
Care to hear my mix?
PM me your email and I will send you a song for you to listen.
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 10
Win 10 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 3ea UAD Quads.
Steven Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Slate VMB, Slate VMR, Various Soundtoys plug ins, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 5 and a RME Babyface Pro.

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

(btw. this is horses for courses, but very broadly speaking, when mastering, i find an RMS ratio of Mid vs Side where the Side is about half as loud [RMS] compared to the Mids is quite pleasing. eg. if the Mids alone were hitting an RMS of -8, the Sides around -14 are very generally in the ballpark, for me anyway. but some vintage sounding mixes can be very mono and sound cool. and then some modern stuff can get super-wide in choruses, mono compatibility seems to matter less and less.)
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Listening to JUST stereo info in Cubase

Post by alexis »

Denicio wrote:
Arjan P wrote:Nice discussion, but one thing has not been mentioned: perhaps the mastering engineer that started all this has a very particual view on how much stereo signal there 'should' be in a mix. Personally I don't believe in such rules, and if a mix sounds good when nearly mono, then it IS a good mix. Remember, some of the best classic albums (Pet Sounds, Sgt. Pepper's etc.) were originally mixed in mono - even relatively modern ones (Pepper's Californication is almost mono), so no shame in that!

Good point. Really good point, actually....
Hi Denicio - how did your Mid/Side balance sound compared to the references you had in mind when creating your project?

(Or ... maybe your engineer had his mono button pressed by mistake! :D ).
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests