cant record drum track

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
pkay
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:19 am
Contact:

cant record drum track

Post by pkay »

Hi All

I am a newbie to Cubase and cant record a drum track (using the inbuilt Groove agent 1).
I can here the drums and can see the input level indicator go up when I hit the pads.
Hit record on the instrument track, it looks like its working, hit stop and then the new 'recorded track' vanishes.

I cant select 'Open Drum editor', it is grayed out.

Settings are (on the left hand side):
Input: All Midi Inputs
Instrument: Groove agent 1

Program: Comp Kit +GM
Drum Map: GM Map

Also this is a trial version of elements 7.

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2631
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: cant record drum track

Post by Arjan P »

If you want to record the patterns from GA, simply drag them from the pads to the instrument track. Otherwise playing the notes from a MIDI instrument should work as well.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.30 | Cubase 10.0.60 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: cant record drum track

Post by Grim »

To clarify....the triggering of pads on the instruments does not record. Same thing with keyboard instruments, those pads are for auditioning and assigning sounds only, not recording.

Use an external midi keyboard or pad controller, program the drums in key or drum editor or use Cubase virtual keyboard to trigger from your computer keyboard.

If editor opening option is not available it's probably because you haven't created a part to edit.
Set locators to the length you want & double click on the area between them for that track.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

pkay
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:19 am
Contact:

Re: cant record drum track

Post by pkay »

Yes ! The double click inside the markers did it.
Thank you V much for responding...may the music god give you a new riff...

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests