HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by jaslan » Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:16 pm

I just thought I would include this topic in case anyone is wondering or comes across the need for this information.

The M-Audio website no longer has a HyperControl driver for the Axiom Pro for Cubase. The last one released was for Cubase 6 (version 1.1.6). I would like to report, however, that version 1.1.6 still works just fine with Cubase 8 (so far as I have tested it out). The Transport controls all work, the mixer knobs and faders all work, the solo, mute, arm, track select, mixer channel bank select, etc., all seem to work. It even appears that the insert, sends, and VST Instrument, selection and editing works, although I did not delve too deep into these features because I can't imagine why anyone would ever want to try to edit their plug-ins or instruments this way (given that Quick Controls are so much easier to set up and use).

Anyway, there is no installer but the file, "AxiomProCubaseHyperControl.dll" just needs to be copied to the Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase 8\Components\" folder. Unfortunately, I don't believe this file is even available on the M-Audio website anymore (I couldn't find it) so if anyone needs it, let me know and I will provide it (it is only 139 KB).

I should also mention that there are HyperControl drivers for Axiom AIR for Cubase available, which just might work as well. I haven't tried it as I have not needed to.

J.L.

Here are the files...

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/rt5ce589wztr ... RhZza?dl=0

Update: This driver still works up through Cubase 10. Just copy the file to the appropriate Cubase folder.
Last edited by jaslan on Tue May 21, 2019 12:56 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Bogi
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by Bogi » Tue Dec 23, 2014 3:56 pm

Hi
i Can´t find any driver for my AxiomPro 61 on M-Audio Homepage ;(
is it possible that i can get the driver from you

im running
Windows 8.1 64bit
and Cubase 7.5
Yamaha MR816 CSX

and Merry Christmas :)

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by jaslan » Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:31 pm

Sure! You shouldn't need a Windows driver because the Axiom Pro is "class compliant" but you will need the HyperControl personality file. I have sent you a PM.
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
nicolaizen
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by nicolaizen » Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:33 pm

Hello everybody,
I have a similar issue: I had the Cubase 7,5 and uppdated to 8. the Hyper control does not work at all!!!
I could not find the file that jasian mentioned but i found the AxiomAir.dll and I copied at the new place (Programfiles\Cubase8\components). Nothing.
Any ideas more?
n
My Sys: i7 4820@3.70GHz, 64 GB Ram Win10(64bit), Nvidia GTX 750 Ti, 1X32''&1X26 monitors, 1XSSD 512GB m 1XSSD 256GB, 1XRaptor, audientiD22, 2X E-mu PM5, Kompete Kontrol S-61, Cubase 8,5 (prior 7,5), Halion 5, Groove Agent 4, Native Instruments Complete 10, Arturia V5, Synapse audio Dune 2,2, Tone 2 Nemesis, SparkLE.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by jaslan » Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:16 pm

nicolaizen wrote:Hello everybody,
I have a similar issue: I had the Cubase 7,5 and uppdated to 8. the Hyper control does not work at all!!!
I could not find the file that jasian mentioned but i found the AxiomAir.dll and I copied at the new place (Programfiles\Cubase8\components). Nothing.
Any ideas more?
n
I sent you a PM
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
nicolaizen
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by nicolaizen » Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:38 pm

Thank you thnx 100thnx. I will uninstall the Axiom totally and re install it from sxratch. I will get back to you when i have any new. Thnx anyway
My Sys: i7 4820@3.70GHz, 64 GB Ram Win10(64bit), Nvidia GTX 750 Ti, 1X32''&1X26 monitors, 1XSSD 512GB m 1XSSD 256GB, 1XRaptor, audientiD22, 2X E-mu PM5, Kompete Kontrol S-61, Cubase 8,5 (prior 7,5), Halion 5, Groove Agent 4, Native Instruments Complete 10, Arturia V5, Synapse audio Dune 2,2, Tone 2 Nemesis, SparkLE.

User avatar
nicolaizen
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by nicolaizen » Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:19 pm

Befor uninstall I did what jaslan suggested. Everything works fine now!!YEssss
Thnx to everyone and esp. to jaslan
n
My Sys: i7 4820@3.70GHz, 64 GB Ram Win10(64bit), Nvidia GTX 750 Ti, 1X32''&1X26 monitors, 1XSSD 512GB m 1XSSD 256GB, 1XRaptor, audientiD22, 2X E-mu PM5, Kompete Kontrol S-61, Cubase 8,5 (prior 7,5), Halion 5, Groove Agent 4, Native Instruments Complete 10, Arturia V5, Synapse audio Dune 2,2, Tone 2 Nemesis, SparkLE.

DjDeanoG
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by DjDeanoG » Wed Jan 14, 2015 12:30 pm

Guy wondering if you can help me.

Running cubase 8 on Yosemite.
Have axiom pro 61 first Gen
Cubase does not see the axiom. ho do i get this to work. thank you very much.

Dean

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by jaslan » Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:43 pm

DjDeanoG wrote:Guy wondering if you can help me.

Running cubase 8 on Yosemite.
Have axiom pro 61 first Gen
Cubase does not see the axiom. ho do i get this to work. thank you very much.

Dean
I use Windows so I don't think I can advise anything specific about MAC. A couple of 'generic' type ideas that I can think of...
Is there a way to tell if the OSX is seeing the keyboard? Have you checked the m-Audio website for drivers?
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Justin4053
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:21 am
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by Justin4053 » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:26 am

Hi Jaslan, can I trouble you to send me that file as well? I'm having the same issue getting my Axiom Pro 61 Hypercontrol working in Cubase 7 / Win 8.1. Thanks in advance!

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by jaslan » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:37 pm

Justin4053 wrote:Hi Jaslan, can I trouble you to send me that file as well? I'm having the same issue getting my Axiom Pro 61 Hypercontrol working in Cubase 7 / Win 8.1. Thanks in advance!
I sent you a PM.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:46 pm

so is anyone using hypercontrol in a productive way?

i gave it about 15 minutes years ago when i installed it, found out it slows me down a lot and never looked back. what are your actual workflows with it? (the display is too tiny for me to provide me with anything meaningful.)
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by jaslan » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:57 pm

lukasbrooklyn wrote:so is anyone using hypercontrol in a productive way?

i gave it about 15 minutes years ago when i installed it, found out it slows me down a lot and never looked back. what are your actual workflows with it? (the display is too tiny for me to provide me with anything meaningful.)
Personally, I don't do any plug-in editing on the controller. It used to be nice if you wanted to control a parameter real time while playing, like a filter frequency, but since Quick Controls, it is much eaiser to set up the controller in MIDI mode to control Quick Controls and use Hyper Control mode for the Mixer and Transport.

It could also be useful in live performance but that doesn't do much for me.

Basically, to me, Hyper Control is just like Automap. It provides an easy setup, avoiding setting up Generic Remote and it has a few functions that I don't believe can be accomplished with GR.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
musicbeat
Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:11 am
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by musicbeat » Tue Jan 27, 2015 7:16 pm

It's interesting that they left the "AxiomPro-er's" completely out of the equation, on their site Driver's page..........as though it never was!
i7-6700 3.4 ghz 32 go L2|W10 x64
Cubase Pro 9.5|HALion 6|Cubasis|Groove Agent Pro|Spectrasonics Bundle
RME BabyFace|AxiomPro49|Focal Pro-CMS 40's

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by jaslan » Tue Jan 27, 2015 7:44 pm

Well, I think m-Audio is owned by AVID now, which I think makes Pro Tools.
Maybe they are trying to persuade Cubase users...
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Justin4053
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:21 am
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by Justin4053 » Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:34 pm

Jaslan - thank you so much. I'd be totally lost had you not started this thread and sent me the link, so I really appreciate it. The lack of support from M-Audio since the Avid buyout is frustrating to say the least.

John Ville
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by John Ville » Sun Feb 01, 2015 6:34 pm

Jaslan can you send me the file too?

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by jaslan » Mon Feb 02, 2015 3:20 am

John Ville wrote:Jaslan can you send me the file too?
I will send you a PM
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
bowersat
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by bowersat » Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:29 pm

jaslan wrote:
John Ville wrote:Jaslan can you send me the file too?
I will send you a PM
Jaslan - thank you as well.
i7 -4770K | H97MB | 16 GB RAM | 240 GB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Firestudio | Faderport | DM10 | Axiom air 25
Cubase 8 Pro
note: Dual screens-1 is 10-pt touch & it works great.

looking to replace my Firestudio - PM me your advice on a new interface in exchange for "thanks"
mainly record live rock, rarely more than 16 trx, all ITB

norsh
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by norsh » Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:59 pm

Please Jaslan can you send me the file too, I have the same problem?
Thanxxxxxx

User avatar
Junior_R
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 6:12 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by Junior_R » Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:53 am

can you pm me that file also
I got a pro 49 1st gen

thx
I know my specs are a bit old but it works for me
win 7 64 i7 860 16GB Ram asus P7P55d Deluxe
UAD Apollo x2
500 Series Custom Mastering/Mixing Rack DIYRE Summing Box
Cubase Pro 10

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by jaslan » Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:01 pm

Junior_R wrote:can you pm me that file also
I got a pro 49 1st gen

thx
Sent you a PM...
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
Junior_R
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 6:12 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by Junior_R » Wed Feb 18, 2015 4:46 pm

jaslan wrote:
Junior_R wrote:can you pm me that file also
I got a pro 49 1st gen

thx
Sent you a PM...

got it working perfect now

thx bro !!!
I know my specs are a bit old but it works for me
win 7 64 i7 860 16GB Ram asus P7P55d Deluxe
UAD Apollo x2
500 Series Custom Mastering/Mixing Rack DIYRE Summing Box
Cubase Pro 10

manipulon
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 12:25 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by manipulon » Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:53 pm

Hi,

what a great post!
thank you.

could you please send me the elusive file too?
would really appreciate it.

Thanks again
:)

manipulon
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 12:25 pm
Contact:

Re: HyperControl for Axiom Pro Keyboards

Post by manipulon » Tue Mar 03, 2015 8:19 pm

Hi again,

Since I couldn't get in touch with the original poster, maybe someone else who got the file from him could please send it also to me?
Would really appreciate the help.
I'm in a Cubase course now and my Axium pro is driving me crazy!
thanks everyone :)

Update - got it from jaslan so thanks to him and thank you anyway.
Last edited by manipulon on Tue Mar 03, 2015 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests