Mixer undo and unlimited insert slots.

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
zyguli
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:39 am
Contact:

Mixer undo and unlimited insert slots.

Post by zyguli » Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:04 pm

Please.
Last edited by zyguli on Sun Feb 08, 2015 12:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Greg Houston
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by Greg Houston » Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:55 am

+1 Undo/Redo
+1 Unlimited insert slots
Image i7 3.4G Quad-Core, 16Gb, Win 10

Noufnouf
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 4:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by Noufnouf » Thu Dec 04, 2014 4:47 am

+1 Unlimited insert slots

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by fretthefret » Thu Dec 04, 2014 5:10 am

+1 for mixer undo

But unlimited inserts is a very bad idea and crash waiting to happen -
With all the social media whining that comes with it.
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

Noufnouf
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 4:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by Noufnouf » Thu Dec 04, 2014 5:41 am

But unlimited inserts is a very bad idea and crash waiting to happen -
It's a very good idea and it will not crash.

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by fretthefret » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:59 am

Surely someone will load 100 plugins in, run out memory and then complain and whine that Cubase doesn't work properly.

Overall it's a bad Idea all around.

If you quickly want to double (or more!!) the INSERTS available
Use sends or routing to Group Channels instead.
Send from one track with all INSERT slots loaded to a group channel that is NOT routed to Master Buss.
Or load its INSERT slots with plugins and tweak then disconnect routing to MASTER BUSS.
Set your recording input on another track to record IN FROM the group channel.
Load that track's insert rack with another set of Plugins.
Arm your new track and record.

Repeat with additional Group channels and tracks until satisfied.

Example Flow is:
Track 1 --> Grp Ch#1 --> Track 2 --> Grp Ch#2 --> Track 3 (and on and on)

That's a quick fix to "unlimited inserts" in the signal path.
(still a bad idea but I have used that a similar path for Sound Design work)
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

Noufnouf
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 4:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by Noufnouf » Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:44 am

Track 1 --> Grp Ch#1 --> Track 2 --> Grp Ch#2 --> Track 3 (and on and on)
This is what i do since cubase sx 2, and it has a lot of inconvenient. freeze, save preset, etc...

It should be a limitation for cubase artist, not for cubase pro.
As the same way, you could justify to limit the number of tracks. ;)

Ben303
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by Ben303 » Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:17 pm

+1 for MIXER undo.
Cubase Pro 8
(both 64bit and 32bit)

Halion 4

on Windows 7 64 bit
16 GB ram
4 cores

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2201
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by marQs » Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:37 pm

+1 on mixer undo (seperate from standard ctr+z)

+1 on unlimited insert slots.

That's pretty much nonsense to to limit the count just to prevent people from whining if it won't work with 256897 plugins 8-)
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by fretthefret » Thu Dec 04, 2014 3:30 pm

marQs wrote:+1 on mixer undo (seperate from standard ctr+z)

+1 on unlimited insert slots.

That's pretty much nonsense to to limit the count just to prevent people from whining if it won't work with 256897 plugins 8-)
To satisfy my personal curiousity what exactly are you doing that you need more than the Ch.Strip and stock Insert slots?

I've been mixing for nearly two decades and (other than for sound design work) I've never filled all the slots on a mix channel...
and I've mixed several thousand songs over the years, with Cubase as my primary DAW.
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

Noufnouf
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 4:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by Noufnouf » Thu Dec 04, 2014 5:12 pm

I don't like the non-flexibility of the Ch. Strip so i never use it.
for EDM/electronic which need a lot of sound design, we need more inserts.

User avatar
r.u.sirius
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by r.u.sirius » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:02 pm

fretthefret, look up the "unlimited inserts" topic in the C7 forum. Many reasonable examples why more than 8 (in fact only 6 pre fader...) inserts come in handy!

BIG +1 for unlimited inserts
Last edited by r.u.sirius on Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
C10.20 64bit | WL9.5 | UFXII | 2x UAD2 Quad, 1x UAD2 Octo| Win10 64 | Asus Prime X299-A | i7 7820X | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2666

luiza177
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by luiza177 » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:49 pm

Giant +1 for both!

jaredf
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by jaredf » Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:26 pm

Another Giant +2.

While your at it make some containers like Bitwig has for putting effects on certain frequency ranges only. =]
-Jared

X99 5820
32gb Ram
RME Babyface Pro
Neumann KH310s

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by fretthefret » Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:52 pm

Noufnouf wrote:I don't like the non-flexibility of the Ch. Strip so i never use it.
for EDM/electronic which need a lot of sound design, we need more inserts.
EDM is primarily what I do (Big Room/Festival and Melbourne Bounce)
And still can't see the upside to "unlimited inserts".
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2201
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by marQs » Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:02 pm

fretthefret wrote:
marQs wrote:+1 on mixer undo (seperate from standard ctr+z)

+1 on unlimited insert slots.

That's pretty much nonsense to to limit the count just to prevent people from whining if it won't work with 256897 plugins 8-)
To satisfy my personal curiousity what exactly are you doing that you need more than the Ch.Strip and stock Insert slots?

I've been mixing for nearly two decades and (other than for sound design work) I've never filled all the slots on a mix channel...
and I've mixed several thousand songs over the years, with Cubase as my primary DAW.
Sound design, exactly that. Often use two instances of MSED to get stereo EQs and compressors into M/S mode, add some fake tapes, multiple stages of compression and a whole palette of other flavours. It's easy to exceed the 6 pre fader slots. Yes, it's easy too, to route that channel to a group etc. but here and now in 2014 I see no reason for such limitations in a 100% software environment. We have scrollable inserts racks and everything, so even the mixer layout can't be an insurmountable obstacle.
The channel strip FX are pretty good actually but might not help when I'm longing for whatever else. Cubase has the flexibility to have them pre or post the inserts (great) but if I'd like to have one of them between other plugins, their plugin counterparts eat up a slot as well.

For usual mixing work I'm pretty fine with my 8 slots.
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2201
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by marQs » Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:05 pm

fretthefret wrote:
Noufnouf wrote:I don't like the non-flexibility of the Ch. Strip so i never use it.
for EDM/electronic which need a lot of sound design, we need more inserts.
EDM is primarily what I do (Big Room/Festival and Melbourne Bounce)
And still can't see the upside to "unlimited inserts".
It's all about preferred workflows I guess, that's absolutely fine. More inserts would just enable the user to flow in even one more direction. No problem if you decide not to, but nice if we could decide to do exactly that ;)
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by fretthefret » Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:15 pm

marQs wrote:
fretthefret wrote:
Noufnouf wrote:I don't like the non-flexibility of the Ch. Strip so i never use it.
for EDM/electronic which need a lot of sound design, we need more inserts.
EDM is primarily what I do (Big Room/Festival and Melbourne Bounce)
And still can't see the upside to "unlimited inserts".
It's all about preferred workflows I guess, that's absolutely fine. More inserts would just enable the user to flow in even one more direction. No problem if you decide not to, but nice if we could decide to do exactly that ;)
No. I do get it.
(I would probably even use the feature on some tracks for extreme design work)
I could see maybe doubling the inserts capacity to 12 or 14 pre-fader
but the "UNLIMITED INSERTS" request just sound ridiculous.
We're probably best to give the scenario and argument to Steinberg to double the amount of inserts rather than request "Unlimited".
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2201
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by marQs » Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:04 am

I agree that 16 should be enough for everything.

The best solution though would be 'as much as you need'. Look at track lanes - there's always another one created automatically with each take. The same way another insert slot could appear out of the blue once the last is filled up.
Everything in Cubase has got 'floating' since 7 (hover over knobs, scrolling racks and such), it would just follow its own style...
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

Thurisaz
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by Thurisaz » Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:18 am

+1 from me... I would like to see these features in the updates

mpayne0
Member
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by mpayne0 » Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:53 pm

fretthefret wrote:Surely someone will load 100 plugins in, run out memory and then complain and whine that Cubase doesn't work properly.

Overall it's a bad Idea all around.

If you quickly want to double (or more!!) the INSERTS available
Use sends or routing to Group Channels instead.
Send from one track with all INSERT slots loaded to a group channel that is NOT routed to Master Buss.
Or load its INSERT slots with plugins and tweak then disconnect routing to MASTER BUSS.
Set your recording input on another track to record IN FROM the group channel.
Load that track's insert rack with another set of Plugins.
Arm your new track and record.

Repeat with additional Group channels and tracks until satisfied.

Example Flow is:
Track 1 --> Grp Ch#1 --> Track 2 --> Grp Ch#2 --> Track 3 (and on and on)

That's a quick fix to "unlimited inserts" in the signal path.
(still a bad idea but I have used that a similar path for Sound Design work)
No that is a workaround.

How about we get a properly tested and functioning increase of inserts, for what we pay for? :roll:

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by Jalcide » Sat Dec 06, 2014 3:39 am

+1 for mixer undo (including fader values as an optional preference)

+1 for no arbitrary limits on inserts. or some number higher than the 6 freezable inserts we have now.

six freezable inserts.

i use more than 6 inserts on just TRIM plugins between my plugins. :lol:
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by Jalcide » Sat Dec 06, 2014 3:46 am

mpayne0 wrote:
fretthefret wrote:Surely someone will load 100 plugins in, run out memory and then complain and whine that Cubase doesn't work properly.

Overall it's a bad Idea all around.

If you quickly want to double (or more!!) the INSERTS available
Use sends or routing to Group Channels instead.
Send from one track with all INSERT slots loaded to a group channel that is NOT routed to Master Buss.
Or load its INSERT slots with plugins and tweak then disconnect routing to MASTER BUSS.
Set your recording input on another track to record IN FROM the group channel.
Load that track's insert rack with another set of Plugins.
Arm your new track and record.

Repeat with additional Group channels and tracks until satisfied.

Example Flow is:
Track 1 --> Grp Ch#1 --> Track 2 --> Grp Ch#2 --> Track 3 (and on and on)

That's a quick fix to "unlimited inserts" in the signal path.
(still a bad idea but I have used that a similar path for Sound Design work)
No that is a workaround.

How about we get a properly tested and functioning increase of inserts, for what we pay for? :roll:
You're being too gracious, it's not even a workaround.

For some of us with large projects that necessarily have many plugins, already, on live Group Channels, an insert for a Track that isn't freezable just doesn't count. It may as well not exist, cuz we can't use it.

It's that simple. The insert needs to be freezable.

Those of us asking for unlimited inserts or tantamount to that, are not using inserts in the traditional way. We use them as sound design for that particular channel. Then we freeze the channel. It's like each channel becomes its own little modular synth where our high quality effects become the components of it.

Cubase is the only DAW without unlimited (or nearly unlimited) inserts. Since many, many years ago.

More than a decade ago, there were DAWs with unlimited inserts.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

zyguli
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:39 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by zyguli » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:35 pm

Studio one does not limit you on inserts number, same with Ableton Live, Bitwig, and Reaper, I believe. It's doable and it can be done well.

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer undo and unlimited instert slots.

Post by Jalcide » Mon Dec 08, 2014 7:15 pm

zyguli wrote:Studio one does not limit you on inserts number, same with Ableton Live, Bitwig, and Reaper, I believe. It's doable and it can be done well.
Indeed. You can add Sonar X1, X2 and X3 to the list. In fact, I think Pre-Sonar Cakewalk had it years ago.

Btw, I just bumped up against the limit, once again, for what is a very modest and reasonable chain. So I have fresh frustration about it.

It has halted my project until I can find a workaround (which isn't more Group Channels in this case, due to a metering issue that I'm not going to rework). I'm having to use channel strip plugins to work around it, but that only gives me one more insert, which is all I need in this case, barely, but geez...what a continual battle this is for some of us.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest