[SOLVED] MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

[SOLVED] MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Jenks » Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:13 pm

Just recorded some MIDI keyboard using a MOTIF XS on a F/W connection.

MIDI plays back early by about a crotchet beat at 120bpm.

Can anyone else confirm this?


EDIT: Changed title of thread so others can find it more easily
Last edited by Jenks on Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

User avatar
Modularnutter
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 7:13 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Playing Back Early

Post by Modularnutter » Wed Dec 03, 2014 10:12 pm

Are you using the Midi time stamp ?
Win 7 - 64 bit ¦ Cubase 5/6/7/8.5 - Halion 6 ¦ Rme

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Playing Back Early

Post by Jenks » Wed Dec 03, 2014 10:45 pm

Using Windows timestamp.

The notes appear correctly positioned in the editor but play back early on the VSTi
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

User avatar
Peter
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:44 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Playing Back Early

Post by Peter » Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:47 am

I have the same problem.
I use a Yamaha MOXF8, and when I record MIDI data the tones ends up correctly, but when playing the sound from the Yamaha synth, it plays one step before the correct drawn note in Key editor.
But when I use a VST instrument it plays correct.
Didn't have this problem in 7.5 with the same setup.
Cubase Pro 10.5 : Win 10 64-bit : i7 9700 3GHz 32 GB RAM : UAD Apollo X8 : Korg Kronos 2 88 : The River

User avatar
Peter
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:44 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Playing Back Early

Post by Peter » Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:47 am

This is even stranger. When I have done an quantize on the notes, it stills playback the original notes as I played them, even though I can see that they are corrected in the key editor?
But still, not on VST instruments, only with the MOXF8 sound.
Cubase Pro 10.5 : Win 10 64-bit : i7 9700 3GHz 32 GB RAM : UAD Apollo X8 : Korg Kronos 2 88 : The River

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Playing Back Early

Post by Jenks » Thu Dec 04, 2014 4:32 pm

I have just learnt from another thread that there is a compatibility issue with the Motif XS VST editor (and therefore the Motif XS extension which relies on it) and C8.

My guess is that there maybe a similar issue with the MOX VST editor/extension.

I'm told a new version of the XS editor should be available before the end of January.
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

User avatar
Peter
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:44 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Playing Back Early

Post by Peter » Thu Dec 04, 2014 4:41 pm

Thanks Jenks,
Yes it seemed like it was the Editor when it was only we with Yamaha that had the problem.
We just have to wait then.
Cubase Pro 10.5 : Win 10 64-bit : i7 9700 3GHz 32 GB RAM : UAD Apollo X8 : Korg Kronos 2 88 : The River

Vindbaek
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Playing Back Early

Post by Vindbaek » Fri Dec 05, 2014 1:29 pm

http://www.motifator.com/index.php/foru ... 26/#581344

Also check if you use the 64 bit version. You can only open the editor on Mac if you use 32 bit....
This is my hobby :o)

User avatar
jalusblu
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:18 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by jalusblu » Fri Dec 05, 2014 11:41 pm

Im having an issue too with vsti plugiun playing midi early........will just have to use Cubase 7.5 for now as it works fine.

B.Well
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by B.Well » Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:31 pm

Very disappointed about this thanks for posting, this and other issues are deal breakers for me so I won't be upgrading.

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Jenks » Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:06 pm

There seems to be an acknowledgement that there is a problem with the VSTi editors with C8 on the MAC

https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support ... ase-8.html

Does anyone know if a similar acknowledgement exists for C8 on Win?
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

dexxx
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by dexxx » Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:24 pm

hello I am on windows 7 64bit and I have the same problem with the moxf 6 since I made ​​the updated cubase to 8 and actually everything works in cubase 7.5
yamaha moxf6
mpc renaissance
intel c5
8gb ram

Type303
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Type303 » Mon Dec 15, 2014 1:17 pm

It's sad that we have to wait until January.
Intel Core i7 -3770 CPU @3.40GHz, RAM 16gb, WIN 7
Steinberg MR 816x, Motif XS8 Firewire, Cubase Pro 10 (64)

B.Well
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by B.Well » Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:41 am

Any news on this please?

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1402
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:46 pm

Fabio Bartolini - Test Engineer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

PC1: Gigabyte GA-Z390 Gaming X, i7-8700K, 32GB Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2666MHz, ASUS Dual RTX 2060S 8GB, Windows 10 Pro
PC2: Gigabyte GA Z170 Gaming K3, i7-6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2133MHz, ASUS Dual GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 (8.1 and 7 Pro backwards comp.)
PC3: Gigabyte GA-H97 HD3, i5-4690K, 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600MHz, Sapphire RX 570 Pulse 4GB, Windows 10 Pro (7 Pro backwards comp.)
Office DAW 1: Gigabyte GA-X570 Gaming X, Ryzen 7 3700X, 16GB HyperX DDR4 3200MHz, Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 Pro
Office DAW 2: Mac Mini 2018, i7 3.2 GHz, 32GB DDR4, Intel HD 630, MacOS Catalina

B.Well
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by B.Well » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:15 pm

Many thanks Fabio.

Bad Mister
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Bad Mister » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:52 pm

You can setup your Motif XS/XF, MOX/MOXF, Motif-Rack XS, or S90 XS/S70 XS as an External Instrument Plug-in VST and take advantage of VST routing (processing, Export Audio Mixdown, Freeze...)

https://yamahasynth.com/index.php?optio ... Itemid=663

Hope this helps... While you await the fix...

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1402
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:40 pm

I didn't work much on this issue and was unaware of that article, thanks a lot for the link.
Fabio Bartolini - Test Engineer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

PC1: Gigabyte GA-Z390 Gaming X, i7-8700K, 32GB Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2666MHz, ASUS Dual RTX 2060S 8GB, Windows 10 Pro
PC2: Gigabyte GA Z170 Gaming K3, i7-6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2133MHz, ASUS Dual GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 (8.1 and 7 Pro backwards comp.)
PC3: Gigabyte GA-H97 HD3, i5-4690K, 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600MHz, Sapphire RX 570 Pulse 4GB, Windows 10 Pro (7 Pro backwards comp.)
Office DAW 1: Gigabyte GA-X570 Gaming X, Ryzen 7 3700X, 16GB HyperX DDR4 3200MHz, Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 Pro
Office DAW 2: Mac Mini 2018, i7 3.2 GHz, 32GB DDR4, Intel HD 630, MacOS Catalina

B.Well
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by B.Well » Tue Jan 20, 2015 12:13 am

Great to see you here Bad Mister.......many thanks for the info.

User avatar
Peter
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:44 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Peter » Mon Mar 02, 2015 11:53 am

I sold my Yamaha synth now so you guys at Steinberg don't need to hurry up with the update for my sake anymore.
Cubase Pro 10.5 : Win 10 64-bit : i7 9700 3GHz 32 GB RAM : UAD Apollo X8 : Korg Kronos 2 88 : The River

User avatar
Frog
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:50 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Frog » Tue Mar 03, 2015 12:56 am

Bad Mister wrote:You can setup your Motif XS/XF, MOX/MOXF, Motif-Rack XS, or S90 XS/S70 XS as an External Instrument Plug-in VST and take advantage of VST routing (processing, Export Audio Mixdown, Freeze...)

https://yamahasynth.com/index.php?optio ... Itemid=663

Hope this helps... While you await the fix...

This set up works very well.
And as indicated in the article, it does offer greater routing flexibility: Your choice of Mono and Stereo.
2017 2.9GHz MBP; 2012 quad core i7 Mac Mini, SSDx2, 16 GB RAM; macOS 10.4, Apollo Quad via TB, Cubase Pro 9.5, HALion 6/Iconica, GA4.2, Dorico 1.2, MIDI guitars, Motif Rack XS-fw16e

Elien
Senior Member
Posts: 1023
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Elien » Tue Mar 03, 2015 9:51 am

Maybe because I work in the Software Industry for 30 years now:

Comments like "now I sold the *flower*..." or "...get your Job done" make me angry.
We all know that Software is a complex Thing and pressure to deliver at a given Point of time is enormous.

NOBODY FORCES US to use a freshly released product for production purposes when the Version before is workin solidly.
It will always be the case that the first release has defects. many things work perfectly and C8 is useful for many already.

For the rest (I am among them) waiting for some of the bugfixing-Releases makes sense and is no Need for Special Aggression against Steinberg or Yamaha. Especially not in cases were reasonable Workarounds do exist.
Cubase 10.5 on Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Asus X99-S mobo; Intel i7, Matrox C420 Multi Monitor Card, USB3-External Graphic card, 5 Monitors. RME RayDat. Presonus Firestudio, DigimaxFS, Art Tube Preamp, Line6 x3 pro, lexicon mx400, Headphone preamp, Digipatch Digital Patchbay, TCHelicon VoicePro. Yamaha HS80M plus Subwoofer, Behringer MS40. Euphonix MC Control V2; Euphonix MC Mix, Avid MCTransport AKai MPD18, Komplete Kontrol 61, Novation Zero SL MKII, Automap. Yamaha Motif XF8; Komplete 12 Ultimate Collectors Edition, GPO, Garritan Jazz&Bigband, ARC 2.5 System, Jamstix, Various Applied Accoustic Instruments, Melodyne

User avatar
Peter
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:44 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Peter » Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:35 am

Elien wrote: NOBODY FORCES US to use a freshly released product for production purposes when the Version before is workin solidly.
A good argument if it was a free software update, but not when I buy it for my money.
Would you say the same thing if you bought a new Samsung TV that didn't work, "Nobody force you to watch that new released TV, you can watch your old one until Samsung has fixed the problem."
Cubase Pro 10.5 : Win 10 64-bit : i7 9700 3GHz 32 GB RAM : UAD Apollo X8 : Korg Kronos 2 88 : The River

Richard Herbert
Junior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:03 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Richard Herbert » Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:44 am

Peter wrote:
Elien wrote: NOBODY FORCES US to use a freshly released product for production purposes when the Version before is workin solidly.
A good argument if it was a free software update, but not when I buy it for my money.
Would you say the same thing if you bought a new Samsung TV that didn't work, "Nobody force you to watch that new released TV, you can watch your old one until Samsung has fixed the problem."
Not a valid comparison. A valid comparison would be some of the smart features on the TV don't work correctly and they are working on a fix.

Cubase 8 works for me for what I am using it for at the moment so it's not completely broken.

User avatar
Peter
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:44 pm
Contact:

Re: MOTIF VSTi Editor 1.6.4 not compatible with C8

Post by Peter » Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:53 am

Richard Herbert wrote:
Peter wrote:
Elien wrote: NOBODY FORCES US to use a freshly released product for production purposes when the Version before is workin solidly.
A good argument if it was a free software update, but not when I buy it for my money.
Would you say the same thing if you bought a new Samsung TV that didn't work, "Nobody force you to watch that new released TV, you can watch your old one until Samsung has fixed the problem."
Not a valid comparison. A valid comparison would be some of the smart features on the TV don't work correctly and they are working on a fix.

Cubase 8 works for me for what I am using it for at the moment so it's not completely broken.
"Not a valid comparison for ME", you must add. We are not all Richard Herberts in the world you know. ;)

For me that had a Yamaha synth that I wanted to use with my bought Cubase 8 for making music, what I wrote is a valid comparison.
Cubase Pro 10.5 : Win 10 64-bit : i7 9700 3GHz 32 GB RAM : UAD Apollo X8 : Korg Kronos 2 88 : The River

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests