Are all windows Dockable?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Locked
PsYAuM
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:13 pm
Contact:

Are all windows Dockable?

Post by PsYAuM » Wed Dec 03, 2014 3:43 pm

As the title asks are all windows Dockable? From the videos I have seen it doesn't appear that way as I constantly keep seeing the Transport bar seperate. Please tell me it is now a fully Dockable DAW! Would hate to think that with so many great improvements that Steinberg had missed the boat with this one. For me it would be a massive omission.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9059
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by -steve- » Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:04 pm

No.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

patcub
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by patcub » Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:31 pm

No, we still have this floating transport panel. I guess it's cubase identity :D

PsYAuM
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by PsYAuM » Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:53 pm

patcub wrote:No, we still have this floating transport panel. I guess it's cubase identity :D
possibly the biggest boo boo in Cubase's history. Have a few needed features on a very small seperate toolbar and don't have them available anywhere else in the DAW. Makes perfect sense EinSteinberg!

James K
Member
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by James K » Thu Dec 04, 2014 5:47 am

the floating transport is a pain….because…if you don't want it…they haven't offered all of its features to be present in the header options up top…such as tempo.
Having said that….i am loving Cubase 8 new features BIG TIME! :)
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
jonsolo
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Charleston
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by jonsolo » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:11 am

And for that I always create a separate tempo track that sits at the top of my mix. A pain at first, but great for automating time and tempo.
http://www.solosounds.net
http://www.soundcloud.com/the-jon-solo
http://www.twitter.com/thejonsolo

Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 7700 | 64 GB RAM | Scarlett 6i6 | Dual 27" monitors
Nektar Panorama P6 | Korg Kronos 88 | Push 2 | Maschine Mk2 | Blue Baby Bottle | JBL LSR308/310
Nuendo 8 | Ableton Live 10 | Reason 10 | FL Studio 20

User avatar
sonicstate
Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by sonicstate » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:32 am

I like floating panels, screen space is much better used in this way. I have seen daws with all windows dockable, and it seems that a lot of screen space is wasted for empty space or oversized controls. Even in Cubase 8 the dockable media bay and vsti rack is a waste of space to have it open all the time, although it is very handy when browsing sounds.
I think all panels should remain floating, at least as an option. I would hate to have everything dockable.
Cubase Pro 8.5, Win 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, M-Audio Axiom AIR Mini 32, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...

User avatar
Greg Houston
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by Greg Houston » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:38 am

The "able" in dockable implies it is an option rather than a given.
Image i7 3.4G Quad-Core, 16Gb, Win 10

PsYAuM
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by PsYAuM » Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:25 am

Dockable with a real estate auto fill when you hide the said panel/window with a key command. Not difficult to implement and ensures you can keep every window attached to the dock in foreground. How anybody can't see that as better than the current window layout/workspaces is beyond me. A company of such size that can invent VST and note expression etc think the messy/fiddly workspace they have atresent is better.
Ps
Cubase rocks and the new updates except what I have posted about are brilliant. Just sort the screen layout out!

User avatar
TSR
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:49 am

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by TSR » Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:41 pm

Please Steinberg, do NOT advertise Cubase Pro 8 as a DAW with dockable windows :oops:

EDITED (due to a Board Warning):
IF you do, it will be misuse of marketing IMO.
Last edited by TSR on Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
HOVER HATERS UNITE -- DOWN WITH HOVER
Alias True Stereo Recordings uses:
Win 7 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Win 8.1 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Motu PCIe-424 w/96 io +++
HW - Focusrite Control 2802, ISA430 mkII | Universal Audio LA-610 SE, UA 2-610, UA 8110 | TL-Audio 5052, C-1, PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000, M3000, M-One, D-Two | Eleven Rack | CC121 | Dynaudio BM15A +++
SW - Cubase 6.5/8, Nuendo 5.5 | Studio One 2.6 | Reaper 4.7 | PT10 | Boz Digital Labs, DDMF, Eventide, Exponential Audio, Kush Audio, Slate Digital, Softube, Sonnox, Soundtoys +++

Luis Dongo
Moderator
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by Luis Dongo » Thu Dec 04, 2014 4:54 pm

TSR wrote:Please Steinberg, do NOT advertise Cubase Pro 8 as a DAW with dockable windows :oops:

That is misuse of marketing IMO.
Hi TSR,

could you please post a link were WE advertise dockable windows?

Cheers!
Luis Dongo
Marketing Manager - Pro Audio

Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud.

User avatar
Greg Houston
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by Greg Houston » Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:01 pm

Luis Dongo wrote:
TSR wrote:Please Steinberg, do NOT advertise Cubase Pro 8 as a DAW with dockable windows :oops:

That is misuse of marketing IMO.
Hi TSR,

could you please post a link were WE advertise dockable windows?

Cheers!
Sadly, I imagine he made the same logical error I did while skimming through the features and seeing, "New Windows Layout, Workspaces', and the word "Dockable", and just assuming (wishful thinking) you guys had made the UI fully dockable per feature requests in the Cubase 7 forum. I was particularly bummed to find I couldn't dock the mixer at the bottom of everything else.
Image i7 3.4G Quad-Core, 16Gb, Win 10

User avatar
TSR
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:49 am

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by TSR » Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:31 pm

Greg Houston wrote:
Luis Dongo wrote:
TSR wrote:Please Steinberg, do NOT advertise Cubase Pro 8 as a DAW with dockable windows :oops:

That is misuse of marketing IMO.
Hi TSR,

could you please post a link were WE advertise dockable windows?

Cheers!
Sadly, I imagine he made the same logical error I did while skimming through the features and seeing, "New Windows Layout, Workspaces', and the word "Dockable", and just assuming (wishful thinking) you guys had made the UI fully dockable per feature requests in the Cubase 7 forum. I was particularly bummed to find I couldn't dock the mixer at the bottom of everything else.
That's exactly it, my friends.

Read your own wording again. I guess we are not the two only ones reading "Dockable", as in Dockable ;)
HOVER HATERS UNITE -- DOWN WITH HOVER
Alias True Stereo Recordings uses:
Win 7 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Win 8.1 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Motu PCIe-424 w/96 io +++
HW - Focusrite Control 2802, ISA430 mkII | Universal Audio LA-610 SE, UA 2-610, UA 8110 | TL-Audio 5052, C-1, PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000, M3000, M-One, D-Two | Eleven Rack | CC121 | Dynaudio BM15A +++
SW - Cubase 6.5/8, Nuendo 5.5 | Studio One 2.6 | Reaper 4.7 | PT10 | Boz Digital Labs, DDMF, Eventide, Exponential Audio, Kush Audio, Slate Digital, Softube, Sonnox, Soundtoys +++

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3205
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by jaslan » Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:49 pm

I wanted to check this out. I did find the word "Dockable" in the description of new features. I thought about stopping there but decided, "what the heck, I can read a few more words...". So immediately following the word "Dockable" I found the words "rack and Media Bay". So when I put them together the result is, "Dockable rack and Media Bay".
:lol:
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Luis Dongo
Moderator
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by Luis Dongo » Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:53 am

jaslan wrote:I wanted to check this out. I did find the word "Dockable" in the description of new features. I thought about stopping there but decided, "what the heck, I can read a few more words...". So immediately following the word "Dockable" I found the words "rack and Media Bay". So when I put them together the result is, "Dockable rack and Media Bay".
:lol:
Thank you jaslan,

that is exactly my point. It ONLY says "Dockable rack and Media Bay", so I don't see where or how
TSR wrote: That is misuse of marketing IMO.
???

The Rack and the MediaBay ARE dockable, aren't they?
Luis Dongo
Marketing Manager - Pro Audio

Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud.

User avatar
TSR
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:49 am

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by TSR » Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:22 am

Is this "mis-reading" of mine (and others) really worthy a Board Warning?

Serious :?
HOVER HATERS UNITE -- DOWN WITH HOVER
Alias True Stereo Recordings uses:
Win 7 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Win 8.1 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Motu PCIe-424 w/96 io +++
HW - Focusrite Control 2802, ISA430 mkII | Universal Audio LA-610 SE, UA 2-610, UA 8110 | TL-Audio 5052, C-1, PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000, M3000, M-One, D-Two | Eleven Rack | CC121 | Dynaudio BM15A +++
SW - Cubase 6.5/8, Nuendo 5.5 | Studio One 2.6 | Reaper 4.7 | PT10 | Boz Digital Labs, DDMF, Eventide, Exponential Audio, Kush Audio, Slate Digital, Softube, Sonnox, Soundtoys +++

PsYAuM
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by PsYAuM » Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:05 pm

Luis Dongo wrote:
jaslan wrote:I wanted to check this out. I did find the word "Dockable" in the description of new features. I thought about stopping there but decided, "what the heck, I can read a few more words...". So immediately following the word "Dockable" I found the words "rack and Media Bay". So when I put them together the result is, "Dockable rack and Media Bay".
:lol:
Thank you jaslan,

that is exactly my point. It ONLY says "Dockable rack and Media Bay", so I don't see where or how
TSR wrote: That is misuse of marketing IMO.
???

The Rack and the MediaBay ARE dockable, aren't they?
Really disappointed to read such an arrogant remark from a Steinberg admin. For those in a rush, which is pretty much 99% of people in society, reading through so much information in a limited amount of time, it can easily be construed that the update is Dockable and I emphesise the word "able" because the advert should have read it is possible to dock the media bay & rack, then there would be no doubts as to its capabilities. This post originally started because I was unsure of the use of the wording and wanted to be clear on it, and let's be honest, to make the featured request that so many asked for, would have taken very little up and above what you have already done. It is of no surprise to me that a corporation would use words clevery to mislead somebody into buying something it isn't. Sadly it is the lost world we live in. Thankfully for me the update does offer so much that I also wanted to use so I have taken the plunge and bought the update and I can only hope that at some point in the future Steinberg give us the fully Dockable feature so many requested, sadly for me though I no doubt see it being a feature on a paid upgrade!

vintagevibe
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 3:33 am
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by vintagevibe » Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:10 pm

Louis's remarks were in no way arrogant. Since when do simply stated facts = arrogant?
Windows 8.1/64, Intel i7 2600K, 16G RAM, 6TB 7200RPM storage, and bunch of software.

Luis Dongo
Moderator
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Are all windows Dockable?

Post by Luis Dongo » Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:22 pm

PsYAuM wrote: Really disappointed to read such an arrogant remark from a Steinberg admin. For those in a rush, which is pretty much 99% of people in society, reading through so much information in a limited amount of time, it can easily be construed that the update is Dockable and I emphesise the word "able" because the advert should have read it is possible to dock the media bay & rack, then there would be no doubts as to its capabilities. This post originally started because I was unsure of the use of the wording and wanted to be clear on it, and let's be honest, to make the featured request that so many asked for, would have taken very little up and above what you have already done. It is of no surprise to me that a corporation would use words clevery to mislead somebody into buying something it isn't. Sadly it is the lost world we live in. Thankfully for me the update does offer so much that I also wanted to use so I have taken the plunge and bought the update and I can only hope that at some point in the future Steinberg give us the fully Dockable feature so many requested, sadly for me though I no doubt see it being a feature on a paid upgrade!
I don't see how my last post was "arrogant". Your topic and your initial question are valid, and you got an answer right away from Steve. No, not all windows are dockable.

But another user posted a false accusation that we were advertising something it was not, and I wanted to point out that this is not the case, because it isn't. The description is very specific on this regard, only MediaBay and Rack are dockable. I can understand that you and me and many other users would love to have all windows dockable, but this is unfortunately not the case, for now. But we haven't said anywhere that it was, so all I am remarking here is that we haven't promised anything that is not true, and we are not lying on our advertising, so please don't accuse us of doing so.

Best regards
Luis Dongo
Marketing Manager - Pro Audio

Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud.

Locked

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests