Logical Editor to select some notes

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Logical Editor to select some notes

Post by NoMad92 »

If I have, say, hihats playing at 1/16 fixed velo. I want to tweak velocities of only hihat 2, 4, 6, 8(etc) or 1, 3, 5, 7, 9(etc)...
1 out of 2, from first note of selection or from second... Is it possible?
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10.5
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

Gump
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:26 pm

Re: Logical Editor to select some notes

Post by Gump »

Look to the presets to get started.
Never trust a man that calls itself "princess".

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Logical Editor to select some notes

Post by vic_france »

Gump wrote:Look to the presets to get started.
.. and look at those presets with the Logical Editor window open, to see how the preset was made ;).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Re: Logical Editor to select some notes

Post by NoMad92 »

Believe me iiiiiii've looked
And with other presets I've understand things for logical Editor but not my request...

Am I missing one preset or something guys?
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10.5
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4414
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Logical Editor to select some notes

Post by raino »

Look at the Downbeat Accent preset in the experimental menu. You'll also need to add a criteria before all the "or" clauses to only select the note value that corresponds to your hats.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Re: Logical Editor to select some notes

Post by NoMad92 »

Thx I think I tried downbeat accent, but I think it was only if it was locked to grid... I just need to select 1 out of 2 at any position

I'll try tomorrow with a new look, in case I missed something
Thx
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10.5
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9660
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Logical Editor to select some notes

Post by -steve- »

Are there presets that use Last Event? I don't see any.

The filters Last Event and Event Counter are what you need here. It's every other (or every Nth) starting with the first selected.

Then you can manipulate the vel values in the lower pane. (EDIT: in my example I changed pitch)
Attachments
EveryOther.png
(49.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4414
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Logical Editor to select some notes

Post by raino »

SteveInChicago wrote:Are there presets that use Last Event? I don't see any.

The filters Last Event and Event Counter are what you need here. It's every other (or every Nth) starting with the first selected.

Then you can manipulate the vel values in the lower pane.
Cool, I never knew about that capability.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Re: Logical Editor to select some notes

Post by NoMad92 »

-steve- wrote:Are there presets that use Last Event? I don't see any.

The filters Last Event and Event Counter are what you need here. It's every other (or every Nth) starting with the first selected.

Then you can manipulate the vel values in the lower pane. (EDIT: in my example I changed pitch)
Thx Steve, I'm gonna look into that today...
I think you got me that solution :-P...
I already made my own logical preset to, 1 randomize velocities on selected notes and 2 randomize position of selected notes...

So now if I figure out how to select only 1 out of 2 or 3 or 4, I'll be the king of note selectors looool

Thx again
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10.5
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

idomarom12
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Logical Editor to select some notes

Post by idomarom12 »

every second note, after courser position, in a certain pitch - good for drum pad to select certain drum.
you can change the pitch every time you use
Attachments
every second note.jpeg
every second note
(110.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests