Beat Designer ?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Elien
Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:31 pm
Contact:

Beat Designer ?

Post by Elien » Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:51 pm

Hi Guys, long time no see :)

Can someone tell me what the difference between using beatdesiner and using the drum-key-editor in cubase is? (or the differences are?) or when to use what ?

Cheers :)

Ernst
Cubase 10.0.2 on Win 7 ultimate 64 Bit, Asus X99-S mobo; Intel i7, 2x Matrox Graphics Card, 5 Monitors. RME RayDat. Presonus Firestudio, DigimaxFS, Art Tube Preamp, Line6 x3 pro, lexicon mx400, Headphone preamp, Digipatch Digital Patchbay, TCHelicon VoicePro. Yamaha HS80M plus Subwoofer, Behringer MS40. Euphonix MC Control V2; Euphonix MC Mix, Avid MCTransport AKai MPD18, Komplete Kontrol 61, Novation Zero SL MKII, Automap 4. Yamaha Motif XF8; Komplete 10 Ultimate, GPO, Garritan Jazz&Bigband, ARC 2 System, Jamstix, Various Applied Accoustic Instruments, Melodyne

Guest

Re: Beat Designer ?

Post by Guest » Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:13 pm

Hiya Ernst,

One's a toy, the other's a tool? :P

Just kidding. Seems to me BD is geared more towards making loops. If you Google, there are some vids of it in action.

erdwandler
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Beat Designer ?

Post by erdwandler » Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:52 pm

I see it more as an essential difference in the creation process.

BD can be used to create and store some patterns, which you then play around with during the creation process of a song. Unfortunately the handling is ver different, as the changes are triggered by midi-notes, so that's what you then store in a midi track.
When using drum-key editor you see what you have in each block.

I normally stick to the drum-kit editor during composition, but beatdesigner supposedly allows you an approach which is closer to Ableton and could be even used within a live-setup with cubase.

So BD it's more for the creative/chaotic/playful composition process.
DrumKey Editor is more composition in a traditional way...
------------------------------------
erdwandler
myspace/erdwandler
soundcloud/erwandler

Notebook: MacBook Pro 4,1, Intel Core 2 Duo (2.6 GHz), 4 GB RAM, 800 MHz Bus, OSX 10.6.7
Soundcard: MOTU UltraLite mk3 (Firewire)
Gear: Clavia Nord Wave, Clavia NordRack2, Access Virusb
Cubase 5.5.1, 4.5.2, SX3 & AI4

robot waitress
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: Beat Designer ?

Post by robot waitress » Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:09 am

I only use BD now for creating drums, and haven't opened a drum editor since it was introduced, let me explain why...

You can create one bar (or two or four) in BD and it will loop along with the track, you wanna make a fill? Copy and paste the bar in BD to another key and adjust for the fill, do the same to make as many (up to 48 I think) variations.

As for having it triggered by MIDI notes, you can do this, I only did once and didn't like it. What I do is drag the patterns on to the MIDI track, where they now become fully editable MIDI clips, now turn BD off, but don't remove it and you have a bank of drum parts ready to use anywhere, save them as a preset and they can be re-used again and again.

There are loads of other useful features in BD, such as swing, flams etc.

BD is a very powerful beat creation tool and can do so much more than the drum editor, so much simpler, don't be fooled into thinking it's just for dance music or DJ/ producers.
Cubase 5.5.2
Acer Core 2 Duo E4600 2.4 GHz Vista 32bit
2GB ram 250 GB hdd, Alesis io2
Komplete 7, BCF 2000
microKorg, DJ Control mk2
Doepfer Dark Energy
http://soundcloud.com/brokenshire

danbelina
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:22 am
Contact:

Re: Beat Designer ?

Post by danbelina » Mon Mar 28, 2011 2:59 pm

I switched to beat designer, I do guitar/vocal stuff and don't use loops.

I'll setup a beat. I copy the track and work off the copy. Mute all other tracks, eliminate everything except for a given drum (e.g. kick drum), export 1 bar of it as a wave. Delete copy, Repeat and export all other drums. Import all kick drum waves to 1 track, all hihat to another etc.

Basically, by having a track as Kick Drum (etc), I can set the EQ far better than having all the drums in one track, some of the sampled kits are really nice (I like the vinyl kit) and I'm getting some great drum sounds. For example, cutting my bass guitar at 100hz and boosting the kick drum at 100hz helps the kick come through, whereas, boosting a drum track at 100hz means the snare and toms etc are also getting the boost and the kick drum won't stand out. You also get some panning options on the drums, just a hint helps on separation (e.g. hihat left 6, Cowbell right 6).

Don't keep the same pattern through the whole song - or even a whole verse unless you want a robotic drum backing... While elements (e.g. high hat) may be a standard 1 bar pattern repeated for a verse or chorus, probably the snare or some other component will comprise of several different patterns, as well as some fills to transition from intro to verse to chorus etc.
Cubase 5.5.2 | Steinberg MR816csx | Windows 7 home premium | AMD II 4x2.8Ghz | 4Gb 800MHz Ram

x13roger
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Beat Designer ?

Post by x13roger » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:55 am

A little help please... I've done a program in beat designer and want to save it . So I go save presets give it a name ok

When I go to load presets its not in the list!! what am I doing wrong or has anyone else got this problem?

Cheers

Roger
Roger

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Beat Designer ?

Post by thinkingcap » Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:39 pm

x13roger wrote:A little help please... I've done a program in beat designer and want to save it . So I go save presets give it a name ok

When I go to load presets its not in the list!! what am I doing wrong or has anyone else got this problem?

Cheers

Roger
Try the following: Go to the Cubase user application data folder, remove the "mediabay3.db", restart Cubase.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Beat Designer ?

Post by nordlead26 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:42 am

how do you change/personalize the samples of Beat Designer?
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests