A few questions

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Lapieuvre
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

A few questions

Post by Lapieuvre » Tue May 13, 2014 7:34 pm

Hi,

Since I come from the Sonar World, there are things that I would like to do in Cubase:

1. How toconsolidate midi clips together? The glue tool is a mess, since it brings back all the midi that was previously recorded, so that doesn't work well, and Bounce midi seems to do the same thing. I need a "what you hear will be consolidated" only...

2. How to see all tracks in one shortcut? In sonar the letter 'F' does the trick, and shift 'F' makes you see the whole project in the window.

3. In Sonar, when you are in the Midi editor window, you can switch directly from one track to the other: let'S say you need to edit midi in the piano track, then you can switch directly to the Bass window track. You don't need to close the window, then double click on the bass track to see the midi notes.

Thanks for your help
Cubase 8.5
MBP 2015 OSX 10.11.6 16gigs Ram
Fireface 800 + ApolloTwin

Lapieuvre
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: A few questions

Post by Lapieuvre » Wed May 14, 2014 11:10 am

So I guess it can't be done?

For 1. Consolidate midi clips, the best way I use is export midi track then re import it in the project. Very annoying...
Cubase 8.5
MBP 2015 OSX 10.11.6 16gigs Ram
Fireface 800 + ApolloTwin

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8877
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: A few questions

Post by -steve- » Wed May 14, 2014 5:21 pm

Lapieuvre wrote:So I guess it can't be done?
1. Bounce MIDI consolidates parts based on what you have selected, not on whether you can hear it.

2. Look through the zoom commands in the key command window.

3. Click the part in the project window, the Key Editor will update. You can have multple tracks open in the editor and edit only one by activating "Edit Active Part Only".
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Lapieuvre
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: A few questions

Post by Lapieuvre » Thu May 15, 2014 9:45 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:
Lapieuvre wrote:So I guess it can't be done?
1. Bounce MIDI consolidates parts based on what you have selected, not on whether you can hear it.
The cleanest way I found was to export the midi track the re-import it in the project. It's time consuming...
Cubase 8.5
MBP 2015 OSX 10.11.6 16gigs Ram
Fireface 800 + ApolloTwin

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: A few questions

Post by DaveAbbott » Thu May 15, 2014 10:35 pm

I use Bounce midi all the time, select the midi clips you need and bounce them, that "glues them together, I also set up a macro to zoom to show all tracks in the project. both horizontally and vertically (vertical is limited if you have more than a certain number of tracks)

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

vspa
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 5:25 pm
Contact:

Re: A few questions

Post by vspa » Fri May 16, 2014 6:27 am

DaveAbbott wrote:I use Bounce midi all the time, select the midi clips you need and bounce them, that "glues them together, I also set up a macro to zoom to show all tracks in the project. both horizontally and vertically (vertical is limited if you have more than a certain number of tracks)

Best Regards

Dave
hi, could you please describe in which cubase menu you find the bounce function ?
cubase artist 9.5.50, windows 10 intel i5, akaipro mpk mini, akaipro mpd 218, yamaha HS5 monitors, steinberg UR44 interface

Lapieuvre
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: A few questions

Post by Lapieuvre » Sat May 17, 2014 2:24 am

Midi->Bounce MIDI

Thanks for the help BTW
Cubase 8.5
MBP 2015 OSX 10.11.6 16gigs Ram
Fireface 800 + ApolloTwin

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests