-UPDATE- Appallingly slow performance -UPDATE- Mixer bug!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

-UPDATE- Appallingly slow performance -UPDATE- Mixer bug!

Post by HarrySound » Sun May 04, 2014 7:05 pm

I have a big project with lots of stuff going on. Up to 18 minutes long.
Thats said, the Asio meter is safe at around half way and my CPU usage is between 45-55% I also have 5.5-6 gig free ram left unused.

Using Cubase 7.5.2? (newest version patched)
iMac late 2012 i7 3.9ghz 16 gig ram, 3TB fusion drive, 680MX 2gb GFX.
all up to date.

Its been a few weeks since i've done anything big in cubase so maybe it's meant to be like this?
I click in the project along the timeline and it take 2-3 second before the timeline bar moves to the position. Zooming in and out of the project is really really slow.
The peak meters are sticking and going around 1 fps
The timeline bar is also only moving once ever beat it seems.

when it's like this is almost impossible to work with. It's horrible.
Meanwhile the rest of the my computer operation remains un disturbed.

I'm not moaning , just wondered if this was something that others are having issues with?

UPDATE
BINGO.
I found the problem and it's not just me expecting the earth from my iMac and Cubase or forgetting it's limitations, it's a bug.

Problem -
Extremely low GUI performance that effects menus and peak meters as well as the timeline.
Loss of hair and heavy intake of caffeine

Cause -
opening the mixer.

Fix -
1) Close the mixer
2) never use the mixer
3) wait and prey that Steinberg have seen this and will fix it soon
4) go do something else with your life

YOUTUBE video I made of my issue.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qsd8SC3x2rM
Last edited by HarrySound on Mon May 05, 2014 9:08 pm, edited 4 times in total.

claesbjo
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Appallingly slow performance

Post by claesbjo » Sun May 04, 2014 8:37 pm

I´m having pretty sluggish performance on my 2010 6 core 3.33ghz Mac Pro as well, but my main thing except for the general graphic slowness is that I get a beachball "hickup" every 10-30 seconds when doing things like editing, skipping around in the arr etc. Not sure it´s related to your problem but yes I´m having issues also.
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. osx 10.10.1. Cubase 8.0.20, Logic PRO 10.1

User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Appallingly slow performance

Post by HarrySound » Mon May 05, 2014 5:48 pm

ARUGGGGGHHHHHHHHH :x

User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Appallingly slow performance -UPDATE- Mixer bug HELP!

Post by HarrySound » Mon May 05, 2014 6:07 pm

BINGO.
I found the problem and it's not just me expecting the earth from my iMac and Cubase or forgetting it's limitations, it's a bug.

Problem -
Extremely low GUI performance that effects menus and peak meters as well as the timeline.
Loss of hair and heavy intake of caffeine

Cause -
opening the mixer.

Fix -
1) Close the mixer
2) never use the mixer
3) wait and prey that Steinberg have seen this and will fix it soon
4) go do something else with your life

YOUTUBE video I made of my issue.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qsd8SC3x2rM

RdRm
Junior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Appallingly slow performance

Post by RdRm » Mon May 05, 2014 6:08 pm

Ive noticed a few threads about terrible mac performance and I am noticing that a lot of the users are using fusion drives.
Cubase 8.0.10
Mavericks 10.9.5
i7 4790k @ 4.5Ghz
16gig Crucial Vengance Ram @ 1600mhz
Crucial M500 120GB System Drive
Velociraptor session Drive /1TB Vsti Streaming Drive /1TB Samples Drive/1TB B.up Drive
SIIG Firewire Card
Focusrite Saffire Pro 14
Tc BMC-2 DA monitor controller

Loads of analogue goodies

User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Appallingly slow performance

Post by HarrySound » Mon May 05, 2014 6:13 pm

RdRm wrote:Ive noticed a few threads about terrible mac performance and I am noticing that a lot of the users are using fusion drives.
Not sure that has anything to do with it as this is a problem i've only seen since 7.0.2 and i've been using Cubase on a Mac since April last year.
Before the latest update I rarely ran into anything too bad. Certainly not crippling like this.

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: -UPDATE- Appallingly slow performance -UPDATE- Mixer bug

Post by Jalcide » Mon May 05, 2014 11:30 pm

Yup. Even on a very fast, OC'd i7 4770K with current generation Nvidia card (Windows 7 x64), the Mixer UI is extremely sluggish, even with relatively low CPU utilization.

A "mouse shake test" where one quickly drags the horizontal scrollbar back and forth, huge lag ensures.

By contrast, doing the same test in the arranger windows is rock solid; no lag between the mouse pointer and the scrollbar / UI.

It strains the imagination to understand how a PC that can play a game with more onscreen objects and special effects than a scifi movie, at 120 FPS, can't deal with a few paginations of off-screen bouncing meters.

The performance of the Mixer UI feels like a 2003 era computer, graphically-speaking.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: -UPDATE- Appallingly slow performance -UPDATE- Mixer bug

Post by HarrySound » Tue May 06, 2014 3:45 pm

Something went wrong in the last Cubase patch because it's never done it before.
I'm currently on 7.5.2.
I hope this at least get seen and fix sometime down the road.
It's a bit of a bummer though :(
I guess i'll just have to not use the mixer.

RdRm
Junior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: -UPDATE- Appallingly slow performance -UPDATE- Mixer bug

Post by RdRm » Tue May 06, 2014 4:27 pm

Have you tried running OSX maintenance scripts and repairing permissions
Cubase 8.0.10
Mavericks 10.9.5
i7 4790k @ 4.5Ghz
16gig Crucial Vengance Ram @ 1600mhz
Crucial M500 120GB System Drive
Velociraptor session Drive /1TB Vsti Streaming Drive /1TB Samples Drive/1TB B.up Drive
SIIG Firewire Card
Focusrite Saffire Pro 14
Tc BMC-2 DA monitor controller

Loads of analogue goodies

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests