Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by Helge Vogt » Thu Mar 17, 2011 3:51 pm

Dear Cubase 6 users,

First let me thank you for all the positive and constructive feedback you’ve been giving us right here in the forums since we first released Cubase 6!

As in every “dot-zero” version, some issues are bound to have sneaked their way in and though we are satisified with initial stability, Cubase 6.0 is no exception. That's why we’ve been working on a service release over the last two months, which also incorporates requested improvements, such as enhancing the ability to distinguish between channel types in the mixer and a very nice replacement for transparent events in the Project window. To make these improvements available as early as possible, we are releasing a so-called pre-release 6.0.1 version today. For version details, please refer to the version history, available at: ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Download/Cubase ... utions.pdf

The updaters can be found at:

Cubase 6:
GB: http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... ase_6.html
DE: http://www.steinberg.net/de/support/dow ... ase_6.html

Cubase Artist 6:
GB: http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... ist_6.html
DE: http://www.steinberg.net/de/support/dow ... ist_6.html

Please note that as this version is a “pre-release” it has not completed our full QA testing cycle, although our internal preliminary testing indicates that it is stable and reliable. We also received a positive initial response from our external beta testers. However, please note that this pre-release version is officially not supported, and you install it at your own risk.

A fully supported 6.0.2 release will follow most probably end of May. In case you install the 6.0.1 pre-release, you will be able to update to 6.0.2 just as easily as if you were updating from Cubase 6.0.

Thanks for choosing Cubase!

All the best,

Helge Vogt
Product Marketing Manager Cubase
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Helge Vogt - Team Lead Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
DaDa
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by DaDa » Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:21 pm

Helge Vogt wrote:... and a very nice replacement for transparent events in the Project window.
Thanks for the update.
The replacement has some severe shortcomings, though.
Look here :
http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 610#p38610

thanks, Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4x 4,2gHz | 16gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 22" LCDs|
System SSD | 7tb Data HDs
RME RayDat | Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 | Steinberg UR 824
Win7 SP1 64bit | Cubase 8.5.20 64bit | Samplitude X3 64bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 SP1 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore

bduffy
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by bduffy » Thu Mar 17, 2011 8:20 pm

Thanks for the quick pre-release version!

May I ask: where is the best place to submit bugs/feature requests?
bduffy
Cubase 8 Pro| Mac OS X 10.9 | Early 2008 Mac Pro (Dual 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon)
Steinberg MR816 CSX | Wavelab 7/8/8.5
UAD 2 Duo | Waves Mercury | Kontakt | Zebra2 | Omnisphere | SD2 | A Bunch of Other Crap


User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by dorremifasol » Thu Mar 17, 2011 8:51 pm

I was unable to install the update on my Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit at home, autorun crashed always. However I had no problem installing it on Windows XP 32 at work.

I managed to install it at home unzipping the package and running each installer separately.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

GE
Junior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by GE » Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:09 pm

Hello
First of all, thank you a lot for this "pre release" and happy to test it, thanks again to all steinberg team.

As I was one of the first to raised the problem with Variaudio and project in 48Khz, this is of course the first point I've checked on the 6.0.1 pre-release and have a new anomaly now.

My system : WIndows 7 PRO 64 bits SP1, 4Go RAM

0/ Pre-release installation => No problem.
1/ Create a mono track in a 48khz or 44khz project
2/ recording a voice
3/ open the track into sample editor
4/ activate Variaudio
5/ selecting "solo" in the sample editor
6/ change note tonality with variaudio
7/ play to hear the correction => OK, get sound
8/ apply the change using "flatten" function
9/ stay into sample editor and click on play to hear correction after "flatten"=> no sound !
10/ unselect "solo" into sample editor => sound get back !

In cubase 5.5.2, whatever was the "solo" button (activate or not) into sample editor, after "flatten' the modification, we could listen the modification.

If you need more information do not hesitate to ask me.

Thanks again

Best regards

- Windows 10 64bits, Core i7 3.4Ghz, Mother board ASUS P8Z38-V, Nvidia GTX 1030 3Gb, 16Go Ram, only SSD drives
- Cubase 10 PRO & VST Connect PRO 4
- SSL MX4 card
- SSL Alphalink AX converter

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by JMCecil » Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:52 am

1#: You guys seemed to have missed the point of transparent events. We need to be able to see the grid ALL THE TIME behind the entire wave form. If you can make it transparent for drag surely you can let us set it that way by default?

EDIT: I need to see the grid behind not only the part I am dragging, but the parts on the track above and below as well. And, it isn't really a drag feature. It is an edit feature.

2#: Although fader knobs are not nearly as good for the purpose as the fader background, the colored knobs help.
However,

*Audio and Group tracks are hard to tell apart even with the color set very high. (and this is the primary one I want to tell apart)

*The Instrument "green" knob has a transparency issue.
Last edited by JMCecil on Fri Mar 18, 2011 3:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by curteye » Fri Mar 18, 2011 2:41 am

Aloha guys,

So what is: GB or DE?
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by vic_france » Fri Mar 18, 2011 2:48 am

curteye wrote: So what is: GB or DE?
(pure guesswork on my part ;) )..
Language version.. (just like on international car plates)
GB = English (Great Britain)
DE = German (Deutschland)
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by curteye » Fri Mar 18, 2011 3:00 am

Merci vic,

What is posted is not very obvious.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

droogies
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by droogies » Fri Mar 18, 2011 3:05 am

You guys seemed to have missed the point of transparent events. We need to be able to see the grid ALL THE TIME behind the entire wave form.
Absolutely right. And we don´t just want to see the transparent event we are dragging, we need to see all events transparent !!! This has nothing to do with a solution of the certain problem a lot of users have. I have no idea how it´s called "a nice replacement". Arrrrgh ...... Recording without a certain tempo (click, grid) and dragging an event considering the placement of another track, is nothing else than pure horrorshow.....
Thanks Steinberg.

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by Grim » Fri Mar 18, 2011 3:40 am

*Audio and Group tracks are hard to tell apart even with the color set very high. (and this is the primary one I want to tell apart)
Exactly my thoughts.....if the track caps could stay white & the groups got the track cap blue this would be better imo.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

bduffy
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by bduffy » Fri Mar 18, 2011 3:47 am

Grim wrote:
*Audio and Group tracks are hard to tell apart even with the color set very high. (and this is the primary one I want to tell apart)
Exactly my thoughts.....if the track caps could stay white & the groups got the track cap blue this would be better imo.
Agreed. Absolutely confounded at same of these changes Steinberg makes. What is wrong with the old scheme in the first place?

Here's my suggestion: allow the user to pick the background colour for the entire channel strip. We can pick it for the tracks, clips, change the GUI colour - why not assign our own colours to the channels? Done!
bduffy
Cubase 8 Pro| Mac OS X 10.9 | Early 2008 Mac Pro (Dual 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon)
Steinberg MR816 CSX | Wavelab 7/8/8.5
UAD 2 Duo | Waves Mercury | Kontakt | Zebra2 | Omnisphere | SD2 | A Bunch of Other Crap


User avatar
brissyproducer
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by brissyproducer » Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:46 am

REading through the fixes list I dont see a fix for the rewire issue I posted about.

I received an email from Alex at steinberg last week saying you had identified the problem and would hopefully have it fixed in the next update..

Did you fix it?

Greg
Last edited by brissyproducer on Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 9
Reason 8.3.2d7
Steinberg UR824
RME ADI-8 PRO
RME ADI-8 DS
CMC QC,FD and AI
2016 iMac Retina 27inch
OS : Mac El Capitan
CPU : intel i7 4GHz
Ram : 32GB OWC
Waves Various Plugins and Bundles

User avatar
brissyproducer
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by brissyproducer » Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:01 am

Just installed and tested... Cubase to reason rewire issue still exists!

Not Happy At All!

This is the thread for the issue and before anyone says what I know they will say yes the problem is in both cubase 5.5.2 and also in Cubase 6.0.1

http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=505

You would think if they have identified the issue then they would fix in in cubase 6 aswell...

Greg
Cubase Pro 9
Reason 8.3.2d7
Steinberg UR824
RME ADI-8 PRO
RME ADI-8 DS
CMC QC,FD and AI
2016 iMac Retina 27inch
OS : Mac El Capitan
CPU : intel i7 4GHz
Ram : 32GB OWC
Waves Various Plugins and Bundles

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by Guest » Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:50 am

[...]
Last edited by Guest on Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by dorremifasol » Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:46 am

I'm sure most of you know how to ask and demand things politely.

Maybe it's not the patch each one of us expected, but sure it has arrived very fast and that's something to appreciate. I think it's going in the right direction. Let's not spoil the good vibe.

I wouldn't want to have any kind of communication with hating users, and much less to spend time and resources on demands made in a hostile way.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

scarlatino
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:45 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by scarlatino » Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:00 am

Hi Helge.

Thank you for pre-release.BUT...I will ask about the color scheme of channels only.
New color faders look as a joke - "as toy", not seriously for me.I want to offer the scheme which
should satisfy all. Those who likes colors of channels in С6 and those who is happy with colors from С5))

Image


Sweet Steiny!Make two fonts in С6, please!!First - as default with ClearType, second - without,for example, Tahoma or San Serif. Or add switch-off ClearType as an option at least.My and not only my eyes is damaged...with current fonts in W7 when ClearType and Aero is off.Situation is better when ClearType and Aero is working. But then other fonts blur in applications and windows for me.I was happy with system font Segoe UI when I didn't use ClearType and Aero.But in that case in С6 the font is awful: ( Now I have been forced to replace completely a system font in the register.Now in C6 it is OK.But in some system windows it look strange and not customary.

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by Guest » Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:19 am

Colors are user definable in the Track Color selector.


scarlatino
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:45 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by scarlatino » Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:46 am

Brains wrote:Colors are user definable in the Track Color selector.
And what? I talk about default preferences.To change colors of created tracks each time, it isn't convenient, isn't it? My scheme offers two variants of a coloring.

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by Guest » Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:13 am

Background colors for tracks is no longer.

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1748
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by Puma0382 » Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:01 am

brissyproducer wrote:Just installed and tested... Cubase to reason rewire issue still exists!

Not Happy At All!

This is the thread for the issue and before anyone says what I know they will say yes the problem is in both cubase 5.5.2 and also in Cubase 6.0.1

http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=505

You would think if they have identified the issue then they would fix in in cubase 6 aswell...

Greg
Hmm... not good; this one was definitely marked in the buglist as 'Fixed In Next Update' (like all the others..). I'd looked only a couple of days back.

To be clear Greg, the fix was for getting things working correctly at 48Khz... either they've fixed and tested something with this their end, or you've got a 'new' problem...!?! Wonder if SB will comment..?

Sorry, just saying/thinking aloud.
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.5.50, Studio One v4.5.3, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1748
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by Puma0382 » Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:01 am

Oops - sorry; double post... :)
Last edited by Puma0382 on Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.5.50, Studio One v4.5.3, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by Guest » Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:05 am

[...]
Last edited by Guest on Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1748
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.1 / Cubase Artist 6.0.1 pre-release available

Post by Puma0382 » Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:17 am

scarlatino wrote: Thank you for pre-release.BUT...I will ask about the color scheme of channels only.
New color faders look as a joke - "as toy", not seriously for me..
Agreed and thanks for the release. But, not for me these new fader colours...

Someone asked for it in this (6-page..!) thread:-
http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 200#p24200 and, well - we got it... and unfortunately, there is not an 'intensity' setting that works (for me..).

Sorry, and thanks for listening/acting SB but C5 channel identification was fine (given the alternative offered). Why should this even be an 'either/or' situation..?
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.5.50, Studio One v4.5.3, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests