High latency since 7.5.1 (resolved)

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

High latency since 7.5.1 (resolved)

Post by CappacinoKid »

I used to have no noticeable latency but today I tried recording for the first time since the update and the latency is almost a second, even though cubase says it's only 6ms (as it always has). Makes recording impossible. Might be nothing to do with the update, but nothing else has changed.

I'm using a CI2+ set to 64 samples, the lowest. Yes I've checked Cubase is using it. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks...
Last edited by CappacinoKid on Sun Mar 23, 2014 11:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

User avatar
ipanema
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:02 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by ipanema »

Hello,

Off the top of my head, maybe for some mysterious reason the latency rate is not fully "applied". Try changing it to 128 samples which is still very low and apply it. If it works, you can get back to 64. I assume you have checked your VST Audio System under Device setup, and the dedicated ASIO driver for your audio interface is selected.

Good luck.
System 1 (master): Mac Pro 12-Core 2.93GHz, 16GB Ram OS X 10.8.5/10.10.2, Nuendo 6.5 64bit, Cubase Pro 8 64bit, M-Audio ProFire 610
System 2 (slave): Core i7 3930K, Intel DX79SR, 64GB RAM, Win7 64bit, M-Audio Projectmix I/O
MacKie HR824, Roland XV5080, 3x 24" LEDs, Multiple SSDs & 2-3TB HDDs, VSL VE Pro, MIR Pro, lots of toys

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

Hi

Yes checked device setup. I'll give that a try thanks.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

Finally got around to trying this again and no luck. I was recording on this system 3 weeks ago, nothing has changed other than the new update. According to cubase I should not be hearing any latency....

Image

I noticed that no matter what I set the CI2 buffer size too, and what the numbers in cubase say, the latency I am hearing is the same. Another thing I noticed is this new driver called 'high definition audio device'. I tried to delete it but it re-installs itself.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

User avatar
Rotund
Member
Posts: 619
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by Rotund »

I noticed that no matter what I set the CI2 buffer size too, and what the numbers in cubase say, the latency I am hearing is the same. Another thing I noticed is this new driver called 'high definition audio device'. I tried to delete it but it re-installs itself.
Sounds like the internal sound card on the motherboard is enabled...
Disable it in the bios for starters.

Do you have inserts on your master stereo out?
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Samplitude Pro X2, Studio One 3.5, CD Architect 5.2, RME Raydat, UAD PCIe Quad+Duo.

Outboard:
Moog Model D (Vintage), Sub 37, Minitaur, Slim Phatty, DSI OB-6 Desktop, Prophet Rev2 8 Voice, Roland Integra 7, SE-02, Korg Prologue 16, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo.

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

Thanks for the quick reply.

Unless it re-enabled itself it's been disabled since I built this comp. I will check though. No inserts or sends.

Edit; Just checked and it's still disabled. I know it wasn't that anyway cause it's ASUS and their driver says ASUS, this driver says Microsoft. Can't find anything online about it either.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

User avatar
sycophant
Member
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:50 am

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by sycophant »

USB is not suitable for professional audio.

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

It was working fine, so USB is not the issue. I had less latency than with my MAudio 2496.

Found a bit more about this mysterious high def audio driver... "Location 0 (Internal High Definition Audio Bus)"

Sounds like it's for on-board sound but it is disabled in bios, I just checked.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

JClosed
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 7:24 pm
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by JClosed »

Have you by any chance installed a new video card? I know it sounds strange, but newer cards that use/have an hdmi output also channel sound trough that connection. This is that mysterious "high defenition" sound device. I suspect it is the case, because the Nvidia card I have (altough not an ASUS, but an MSI) also uses that high defenition audio output. Keep in mind that some motherboards have an on-board graphic "card" that can have an hdmi output too. Sometimes you than have to disable not only the primary sound device, but also the high-definition sound device.

I have no idea how to disable this hardware if you do not use an on-board card, because in that case it is not configurable in the motherboard BIOS. However - in my case I just choose my (focusrite) ASIO driver in stead of an high defenition (or any other) device from the pull-down menu in the device setup, and have no latency problem at all..

If you keep having problems you can try looking up the high definition device in the device manager and than just put an check in "do not use this device". Do not remove the device, because it will be re-initialised at reboot. Just disable it, and Windows will not "see" the device any longer.

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 678
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by plectrumboy »

Your screenshot shows Asio Guard is activated. Try turning it off. This may have defaulted to on with your Cubase upgrade.

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro 2018 32gb, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X + 1x Pro XS, Cubase 10.5 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, Kontakt, VST Connect Pro.

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by noiseboyuk »

sycophant wrote:USB is not suitable for professional audio.
What absolute rubbish.

Couldn't let that pass unchallenged. Anyway, like others, I strongly suspect that the issue isn't 7.5.1. I had some problems recently and it was a slow problem tracking it down using LatencyMon and DPC Latency checker. It took several hours but in my case I isolated it to the Blu Ray drive, which was quietly going nuts in the background. Unbelievably (and this really is unbelievable, I would never have believed it if it hadn't happened to me), merely putting a disc in made all the problems vanish completely.

Funny things, computers.

Windows computers.

Using 7.5.1 and 23gb of template on VE Pro 4 I was on 1024, now its a very very comfortable 256 (7ms in each direction) - I could easily go lower, but that latency is easily good enough for me and I'd rather have it running with plenty of horsepower to spare.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

User avatar
sidfrancis
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:52 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by sidfrancis »

Are you shure you did not unintentionally insert a Plugin, for example a linear phase EQ that causes latency on the system? This additional latency is NOT reported in the window you showed, there you only see the latency of the soundcard. I just tested it with the LP10 EQ which causes about 50-80msec latency but that window further showed 8.7ms latency.
In playback you will hardly notice it and may work a bit with the changed system but as soon as you start to do things live you notice the mess... My first aid in these cases: deactivate the plugs one by one.
Hope that helped a bit.
Liebe ist das Zentrum der Musik. Ist keine Liebe darin handelt es sich um ein Geräusch

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

JClosed wrote:Have you by any chance installed a new video card? I know it sounds strange, but newer cards that use/have an hdmi output also channel sound trough that connection. This is that mysterious "high defenition" sound device. I suspect it is the case, because the Nvidia card I have (altough not an ASUS, but an MSI) also uses that high defenition audio output. Keep in mind that some motherboards have an on-board graphic "card" that can have an hdmi output too. Sometimes you than have to disable not only the primary sound device, but also the high-definition sound device.

I have no idea how to disable this hardware if you do not use an on-board card, because in that case it is not configurable in the motherboard BIOS. However - in my case I just choose my (focusrite) ASIO driver in stead of an high defenition (or any other) device from the pull-down menu in the device setup, and have no latency problem at all..

If you keep having problems you can try looking up the high definition device in the device manager and than just put an check in "do not use this device". Do not remove the device, because it will be re-initialised at reboot. Just disable it, and Windows will not "see" the device any longer.
No new vid cards, or any other hardware since I last recorded with no problems. Only thing new is the latest Cubase update.

I know of the ASUS audio driver cause I always un-check it when updating graphix drivers, it is not installed. If it was it is easy to uninstall from 'programs and features', but it's not there and neither is the mysterious 'high definition audio driver'. I tried disabling it from Device Manager and it re-enables itself. I also tried deleting and yes it re-installs itself.

Thanks for the reply.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

plectrumboy wrote:Your screenshot shows Asio Guard is activated. Try turning it off. This may have defaulted to on with your Cubase upgrade.

Steve.
Thanks for the reply.

I tried that and it made no difference. It seems like the CI2 is not the active output, but it is set as the only playback and recording device, in fact the CI2 is the only device it lists.

As I said before the latency I hear stays the same no matter how I set things in Cubase.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

sidfrancis wrote:Are you shure you did not unintentionally insert a Plugin, for example a linear phase EQ that causes latency on the system? This additional latency is NOT reported in the window you showed, there you only see the latency of the soundcard. I just tested it with the LP10 EQ which causes about 50-80msec latency but that window further showed 8.7ms latency.
In playback you will hardly notice it and may work a bit with the changed system but as soon as you start to do things live you notice the mess... My first aid in these cases: deactivate the plugs one by one.
Hope that helped a bit.
Thanks for the reply.

No plugins, I double checked. I also created a new track a few times when checking it.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by noiseboyuk »

Seriously, start from the ground up with LatencyMon and / or DPC Latency checker.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

noiseboyuk wrote:
sycophant wrote:USB is not suitable for professional audio.
What absolute rubbish.

Couldn't let that pass unchallenged. Anyway, like others, I strongly suspect that the issue isn't 7.5.1. I had some problems recently and it was a slow problem tracking it down using LatencyMon and DPC Latency checker. It took several hours but in my case I isolated it to the Blu Ray drive, which was quietly going nuts in the background. Unbelievably (and this really is unbelievable, I would never have believed it if it hadn't happened to me), merely putting a disc in made all the problems vanish completely.

Funny things, computers.

Windows computers.

Using 7.5.1 and 23gb of template on VE Pro 4 I was on 1024, now its a very very comfortable 256 (7ms in each direction) - I could easily go lower, but that latency is easily good enough for me and I'd rather have it running with plenty of horsepower to spare.
If it was not Cubase wouldn't I have latency problems with Wavelab also?

I used LatencyMon...

Image
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

User avatar
sycophant
Member
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:50 am

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by sycophant »

CappacinoKid wrote:As I said before the latency I hear stays the same no matter how I set things in Cubase.
Precisely the reason you should consider an internal soundcard.

P.S. I will check out that LatencyMon program (could not view your image).

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

sycophant wrote:
CappacinoKid wrote:As I said before the latency I hear stays the same no matter how I set things in Cubase.
Precisely the reason you should consider an internal soundcard.

P.S. I will check out that LatencyMon program (could not view your image).
I have an internal soundcard, MAudio 2496, I switched to the CI2 and it has worked fine for over a year, until now. Works better for me than the 2496 (or did).

My image shows LatencyMon, it says 'Your system appears to be suitable etc." and latency in Cubase; input latency 5.578 ms, output 8.299. It has always been about that and should be fine, but I 'hear' at least half second of latency. ASIO-guard says 11 ms, but it makes no difference on or off.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

User avatar
sycophant
Member
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:50 am

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by sycophant »

Maudio is not really very good when it comes to drivers, at least in my opinion.

I use Echo Audio gear, simply because they support modern standards such as WASAPI, MMCSS and ASIO 2.2.

RME is supposedly decent but they would never confirm whether or not these standards were used, so I did not buy them but they may do now after going PCIe.

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by noiseboyuk »

OK, good - looks like your system generally is ok. If you're hearing half a second when its reporting 11ms, then clearly something is wildly amiss within Cubase. Maybe it is something specifically to do with 7.5.1, but AFAIK no-one else has reported an issue like this so if it is it must be very configuration-specific.

If you've disabled all other soundcards and its made no difference, you could try swapping to Asio4all drivers (free download). They're pretty good, and it will isolate if its a specific driver compatibility problem to do with the C12 and Cubase (which would be ironic if it was). I do know that Steinberg hardware doesn't have the greatest reputation for drivers, so it's not impossible I guess.

You can safely ignore the generic internal soundcard advice, as you've experienced its perfectly possible to get consistent, excellent results via USB from a solid manufacturer.

Good luck, keep us posted.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 678
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by plectrumboy »

Okay, this is a bit left field, but just in case...

The only time I had a serious problem with latency in Cubase was as a result of a (Steinberg) plugin, one of the compression plugins. There are settings that allow the compressor vst to run without big latency, but if these are not set you can get horrible latency that, irritatingly, is not measured anywhere by Cubase.

Are you running a project with Steinberg compression plugin?

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro 2018 32gb, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X + 1x Pro XS, Cubase 10.5 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, Kontakt, VST Connect Pro.

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

noiseboyuk wrote:OK, good - looks like your system generally is ok. If you're hearing half a second when its reporting 11ms, then clearly something is wildly amiss within Cubase. Maybe it is something specifically to do with 7.5.1, but AFAIK no-one else has reported an issue like this so if it is it must be very configuration-specific.

If you've disabled all other soundcards and its made no difference, you could try swapping to Asio4all drivers (free download). They're pretty good, and it will isolate if its a specific driver compatibility problem to do with the C12 and Cubase (which would be ironic if it was). I do know that Steinberg hardware doesn't have the greatest reputation for drivers, so it's not impossible I guess.

You can safely ignore the generic internal soundcard advice, as you've experienced its perfectly possible to get consistent, excellent results via USB from a solid manufacturer.

Good luck, keep us posted.
Thanks, tried Asio4all with no luck, gives me 11ms but still the same high latency in monitors.

I just noticed that 'direct monitoring' is greyed out, pretty sure I used to have that turned on?
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

beerbong
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by beerbong »

YOu could try to open your case, remove your soundcard, restart windows, make sure all uninstalled, power off, put sound card back in.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: High latency since 7.5.1

Post by CappacinoKid »

Thanks for all the suggestions it is finally resolved.

Feel a bit stupid I didn't try this before just didn't think about it. I opened a new project and imported everything from the old project and latency was gone. Still weird though cause nothing is different in the new project.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/32GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.20 64bit/Wavelab Elements 9.0.25/UAD-2 Quad/Solo

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests