Cubase 7 Licensing question

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Greentree
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:44 pm
Contact:

Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by Greentree » Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:55 pm

I've finally obtained a boxed copy of Cubase 7 and installed it. After reading the "marketecture" on the Steinberg site I believed I was getting a product that contained not only a valid copy and licence for Cubase 7 but also valid copies and licences for a bunch of other tools including HALion Sonic. What I seem to have is a bunch of trial products (Cubase 7 excepted) and trial licences for those products including HALion Sonic.

Can someone please clarify this for me: have I been misled by the web site or have I done something wrong in my installation?

Thanks

Greentree

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by thinkingcap » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:01 pm

Greentree wrote:I've finally obtained a boxed copy of Cubase 7 and installed it. After reading the "marketecture" on the Steinberg site I believed I was getting a product that contained not only a valid copy and licence for Cubase 7 but also valid copies and licences for a bunch of other tools including HALion Sonic. What I seem to have is a bunch of trial products (Cubase 7 excepted) and trial licences for those products including HALion Sonic.

Can someone please clarify this for me: have I been misled by the web site or have I done something wrong in my installation?

Thanks

Greentree
Well, of course if you buy a Full version of Cubase, you get only a full version of Cubase.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Greentree
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by Greentree » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:03 pm

Then the web site is misleading.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by thinkingcap » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:05 pm

Greentree wrote:Then the web site is misleading.
Since you seem to be the first who thinks that, I can´t really believe that...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9243
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by -steve- » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:06 pm

Greentree wrote:Then the web site is misleading.
What page(s) are you referring to?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Greentree
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by Greentree » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:10 pm

If I go to the web site and pull up the menu and see under Cubase 7 it says "What you get" and on the very next screen that comes up (not any subsequent screens) is a whole bunch of stuff including "Premium VST Instruments" (and so much more) with comments about how you get all that "right out of the box" then to me that says that if I buy this Cubase 7 product I get everything that's listed on the "What you get" screen. So, either I get it or they're misleading me into believing I get it.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by thinkingcap » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:14 pm

Greentree wrote:If I go to the web site and pull up the menu and see under Cubase 7 it says "What you get" and on the very next screen that comes up (not any subsequent screens) is a whole bunch of stuff including "Premium VST Instruments" (and so much more) with comments about how you get all that "right out of the box" then to me that says that if I buy this Cubase 7 product I get everything that's listed on the "What you get" screen. So, either I get it or they're misleading me into believing I get it.
Everything that is listed on that screen is included in Cubase 7. I don´t see anything where it says "HalionSonic full version license" though..? If you then click the "all included Plugins" link, you get a detailed list. Also this list does not name anything that is not included.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9243
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by -steve- » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:17 pm

Everything mentioned on that page is included with Cubase. There's nothing on it that isn't. (thinkingcap posted while I was writing this...)
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Greentree
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by Greentree » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:28 pm

OK. SO all those items listed on the page: - Padshop, Groove Agent One, Loopmash 2, Retrologue, they should all have installed when I installed Cubase 7. Is that correct?

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9243
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by -steve- » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:32 pm

yes.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Greentree
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by Greentree » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:33 pm

Thanks Steve. Look slike I have some learnin' to do because right now I don't know how to find them. But at least now I know what I'm looking for.

Best regards,

KG

Plasuma
Junior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by Plasuma » Fri Aug 30, 2013 10:10 pm

Greentree wrote:Thanks Steve. Look slike I have some learnin' to do because right now I don't know how to find them. But at least now I know what I'm looking for.

Best regards,

KG
If you're on Windows and had UAC active while installing Cubase, it may have crapped itself or missed a few things. That happened to me a few days ago.

Make sure to give admin privilages / disable UAC.
Workstation Specifications
Box A: Intel 3770K, 32GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5.0, VEPro 5
Box B: Intel 4930K, 64GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, VEPro 5

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 736
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Licensing question

Post by Makumbaria » Fri Aug 30, 2013 10:31 pm

You will have Halion Sonic SE included with Cubase, but not Halion Sonic or Halion.


If you have any problems, you can download the full ISO:

http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... ase_7.html
Cubase Pro 10.5.10 / Wavelab elements 10.0.10 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 3.1 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests