*BUG?*(track silence, vst copy/move)

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
blippo
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

*BUG?*(track silence, vst copy/move)

Post by blippo » Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:36 pm

Hi!

Ive been struggling with this bug a while now and wanted to be shure i had it right.

1. Import stereo.wav > "dialog" > copy to location, split files.
2. make group, stereo.
3. assign the two mono files to group then pan left and right.
4. assign one vst(eq, comp,....) to 1st channel, slot 1
5. alt copy vst to channel 2, slot 1
6. move vst on channel 2 to next slot(2).
BUG
channel 2 sound dissapears.
sound will return when vst is turned off.
If vst is moved to another channel then back, on occasion the sound will return

This has been driving me nuts!! And i finnaly cracked what was going on.

Cubase 5.5.2 Build 637
I have experienced this on earlier builds such as 5.5.1

Please confirm

*edit* subject name change to be more accurate
Last edited by blippo on Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Major Moon SoundCloud

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: *******BUG****

Post by thinkingcap » Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:37 pm

...confirmed, although we probably won´t get that fixed anymore in C 5.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Guest

Re: *******BUG****

Post by Guest » Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:52 pm

Confirmed here too!
Channel 2 instantly silences when I paste the settings from channel 1.
When I copy the settings from the 2nd (dead) channel back to the 1st channel, this one silences too.
Here the problem also occurs when the tracks aren't routed to a group.

blippo
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: *******BUG****

Post by blippo » Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:02 am

niles wrote:Confirmed here too!
Channel 2 instantly silences when I paste the settings from channel 1.
When I copy the settings from the 2nd (dead) channel back to the 1st channel, this one silences too.
Here the problem also occurs when the tracks aren't routed to a group.
Yes you are probably right about not needing to assign to a group. sorry for the extra step..

I should mention that the issue is not resolved by saving project and and reverse/relaunch cubase project.
Ive also tried to thrash preferences with no luck..

Please steinberg adress this in the upcoming 5.5.3 update.
Major Moon SoundCloud

blippo
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: *******BUG?****(plugin copy/move)

Post by blippo » Wed Feb 23, 2011 4:52 pm

***UPDATE****

Ive been investigating furter...

If you select "name by number" at the import dialog screen this will not occur.
I don´t know if this state will remain throughout the project but it is a start...

But the saved project imported with regular importion is still acting really funny...

Can some more people confirm this please?
Major Moon SoundCloud

blippo
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: *BUG?*(track silence, vst copy/move)

Post by blippo » Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:14 pm

Can somebody else confirm this?

Should i ask about this in Cubase 6 forum?
Is there a possibility that this exist in C6?


Does anybody know how to file a bug correctly to the tech crew?
Major Moon SoundCloud

User avatar
Guillermo
Moderator
Posts: 511
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:50 pm
Contact:

Re: *BUG?*(track silence, vst copy/move)

Post by Guillermo » Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:26 am

Hello guys,

Yes, I can confirm the bug, on Cubase 5.5.2
1. Import stereo.wav > "dialog" > copy to location, split files.
2. Assign one vst(eq, comp,....) to 1st channel, slot 1
3. Alt copy vst to channel 2, slot 1
4. Move vst on channel 2 to next slot(2).

BUG
On Channel 2 sound dissapears.
Sound will return when vst is turned off.
If the VST is moved to another channel then on occasions the sound will return
I could not reproduce this on Cubase 6, so it got fixed.
I will try to see if this fix gets into Cubase 5.5.3, I can not promise anything but I will try.
Also I do not know when Cubase 5.5.3 is coming out.

Thank you for choosing Cubase.
Cheers,
GN
Guillermo Navarrete, Online Product Specialist
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: WellBassd and 13 guests