help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
rynugz
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by rynugz » Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:43 pm

I purchased the cubase 6 upgrade (upgrading from SX2...which was an upgrade from SX1 years ago). When I try to activate cubase 6, I get a notice that says "no license available to upgrade from". The SX2 license shows up on my USB key as a cubase SX2/OMF collection license.

what do I need to do to get this working? This is a drag, I was excited to get crackin on cubase 6 this weekend.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by Split » Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:49 pm

Have you updated the syncrosoft drivers?
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

rynugz
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by rynugz » Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:00 pm

Make sure that you have the latest version of the eLicenser Control Center (eLCC) installed. Click here to download
is this what you're refering to, Split? Yeah, I'm pretty sure the eLCC thing is up to date.



When installing an update/upgrade, the new license replaces the previous license. This leaves you with a single software license after the update/upgrade has completed. You can also run your old software with this license. However, if you want to keep your old license, please purchase the full version instead of the update/upgrade version.
the quote above is from steinys website. Im guessing u can't upgrade over top of an already upgraded license??? does that seem right?

Tsjah
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:50 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by Tsjah » Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:02 pm

Did you buy the upgrade package or did you buy the update package?
because the update(costs 149 euro) package lets you only update from :Cubase 4 or Cubase 5
and the upgrade(costs 499 euro) package lets you upgrade from :Cubase Essential 4/5, Sequel 2, Cubase SL 1/2/3, Cubase SX 1/2/3, Cubase SE 3, Studio Case 2, Cubase LE4/5, Cubase AI 4/5
Asus PRIME Z390-A | i7-8700K, 32Gb | RME Fireface 802 + ARC | Win 10 | Cubase Pro 10 | Wavelab 9.5 | Dynaudio bm5 | Beyer dt-911 & dt-770 | Cubase user since: 1995

rynugz
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by rynugz » Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:15 pm

I bought the $399 cubase 6 upgrade package (for use with upgrading from SX1 or SX2). I bought the full SX1 years ago and upgraded to SX2. The license on my dongle is a Cubase SX2/OMF collection license. I don't know what that means but regardless the cubase 6 upgrade license won't work on top of it. And I can't remove the license (for whatever reason, I tried to revert back to just the SX1 license so I could try upgrading directly over top of that)

rynugz
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by rynugz » Sun Feb 20, 2011 2:58 am

can someone at least tell me if you can activate an upgrade license on top of an upgrade license?

I guess if I can't make this work I'll have to jump to the full version of cubase 6? I don't mind paying the extra $100 but something tells me I'm gonna be stuck with the upgrade version and I'll be eating that $399.

crofter
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by crofter » Sun Feb 20, 2011 9:31 am

I've been upgrading licenses with every new version since Cubase SL with no problems, I don't understand what OMF means and if that has anything to do with your problems,you do have the latest elicenser software I assume.

rynugz
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by rynugz » Sun Feb 20, 2011 5:33 pm

Yes, the elicenser center is up to date

rynugz
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by rynugz » Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:54 pm

If I buy a blank steinberg license key, could I reinstall SX1 and then have the original SX 1 license on it, then upgrade directly to 6? though I don't believe the original sx 1 has a 16 digit activation code. I still have the box and packaging but I don't see anything besides a serial #

crofter
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by crofter » Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:11 pm

your SX2 license will have overwritten your SX1 license,activation codes are once only and will not work again, I would get in touch with Steinberg by phone or Email and see what they have to say.
Have you tried the various repair or recovery options in the elicense control centre ?
What does it say in your registered products list at My Steinberg ?

Guest

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by Guest » Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:35 pm

what os are you running ?

john

rynugz
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by rynugz » Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:52 am

What does it say in your registered products list at My Steinberg
it says Cubase SX2/OMF collection license, then it has the activation code listed that came with the SX2 upgrade years ago.

I have two computers that I've tried it on. A newer windows 7 64bit PC (which is a fresh OS install and doesn't have the actual SX 2 program on it.) The other PC is windows XP which does have the up to date SX2 installed. I run into the same problem regardless of computer

rynugz
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by rynugz » Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:25 pm

still no cubase 6......US tech support is waiting to hear from the developers in Germany. I guess they are stumped. My patience is wearing thin. I'm quite suprised that I'm the only one having this issue

rynugz
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by rynugz » Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:37 pm

FINALLY got it working! Steinberg had to give me an SX3 authorization code to upgrade from my SX2, THEN I could move from there to 6. Technically the cubase 6 upgrade will upgrade from SX2 so long as you bought the FULL version of SX2. If you've upgraded from SX1 to SX2 like I did and now have a collection license, you will have to go through Steinberg and get the SX3 code before upgrading to 6. But I'm guessing most people aren't making big jumps in versions like I did.

Thanks to everyone who chimed in with help :) Glad to be finally up and running.

crofter
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: help! cubase 6 upgrade not working!

Post by crofter » Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:06 am

I'm pleased you finally got it working.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests