Remote control with DM2000

All topics on WaveLab 7 and WaveLab Elements 7
EK Sound
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:33 pm
Contact:

Remote control with DM2000

Post by EK Sound »

We have a DM 2000 connected to the studio computer. In WL6, I was using the transport control section on the console to operate the transport functions in WL, as I do with Nuendo 4 and Cubase 6. In WL7, I try to assign MIDI controller information for the DM, but it keeps telling me that the MIDI command is already in use and won't let me add it (play, stop, FF etc...). Anyone else have this problem?
Dave - EK Sound

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

Yes, I have the same problem with the O2R96V2. But I have no solution...
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

PG
Moderator
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by PG »

EK Sound, are you using WaveLab 7.01? What commands do you use for instance?
Philippe

EK Sound
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by EK Sound »

Hi Philippe,

Tried both V7 and 7.01 (Win7). In version 6 I was easily able to add the transport panel on the DM2K to control stop, play, ffw, rew etc. I could do this by opening the "customize commands" editor and clicking on the MIDI event area. I could then press "play" for instance on the DM and the command string would be entered into the field. The problem is that WL7 comes up with the same MIDI command string for all button presses on the DM... then warns me that the command has already been used in another location. I have attached a screen shot for clarity.
WL7.jpg
(111.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Thanks!
PG wrote:EK Sound, are you using WaveLab 7.01? What commands do you use for instance?
Dave - EK Sound

PG
Moderator
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by PG »

I will have to check with Control changes. But in the mean time, can you try to use MIDI notes instead?
Philippe

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

I also saw, that in WL7 all key-codes of the mixer are displayed as the same. When I e.g. press "stop" at the mixer (O2R96V2) and then "start" WL7 displays the same codes. WL6 displayed different codes.
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

PG
Moderator
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by PG »

What are meant to be the exact MIDI key codes for these start and stop?
Philippe

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

PG wrote:What are meant to be the exact MIDI key codes for these start and stop?
WL says that all keys send "Control Change 15 Wert: 14 Kanal: 1" (sorry I have the german version). It doesn't matter what key I press, WL says with all keys (play, stop, ff, rew, rec). But I think it sends MMC (Midi Machine Control) commands.
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

PG
Moderator
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by PG »

I see, WaveLab currently does not support MMC. You need to send classical midi event, no sysex.
Philippe

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

PG wrote:I see, WaveLab currently does not support MMC. You need to send classical midi event, no sysex.
WL6 supported MMC?
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

PG
Moderator
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by PG »

No, WL6 did not support MMC.
If you have the 2 applications open, I really doubt you see different MIDI commands in the dialog. Else show me screenshots ;-)
Philippe

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

Ok I will do it today, but to make this possible I have to install WL6 in the same machine. Is this possible? But the Dialog in WL7 just posted by EK Sound in this thread.
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

riwe wrote:Ok I will do it today, but to make this possible I have to install WL6 in the same machine. Is this possible? But the Dialog in WL7 just posted by EK Sound in this thread.
I'm sorry, but it isn't possible to install WL6 on my machine. The installer of WL6 always say I have to terminate the programs which are using the e-licenser. But I have no one running. Because of this I cannot install WL6. So I cannot show you screenshots.
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

Ok, now with an uninstall of the e-licenser the install of WL6 was possible.
Here are the screen captures of the commands in WL6:
Stop.jpg
(32.06 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Rec.jpg
(28.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Play.jpg
(31.97 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

And here the last two:
Rew.jpg
(32.02 KiB) Not downloaded yet
FF.jpg
(32.09 KiB) Not downloaded yet
As you see in WL6 each key has a different value while in WL7 each key has the same value...
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

Are there any news about this error?
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

PG
Moderator
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by PG »

Using WaveLab 7.01, I have no problem entering a Control Change command, and use it as a trigger. See picture.

To know what really come out of your MIDI controller, you could use this tool:
http://www.midiox.com
Attachments
22-02-2011 11-20-40.png
(36.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Philippe

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

PG wrote:Using WaveLab 7.01, I have no problem entering a Control Change command, and use it as a trigger. See picture.

To know what really come out of your MIDI controller, you could use this tool:
http://www.midiox.com
Thank you.
But the problem is, that WL7 receives other data than WL6 and all data that WL7 receives are the same. I do not think that the mixer sends wrong data because it worked fine with WL6. But I will check it with midiox.
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

Hello,
I attached what the mixer sends.

[The extension txt has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

PG
Moderator
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by PG »

You should get a single event, and you get 4. This is not normal. WaveLab expects a single event.
Philippe

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

PG wrote:You should get a single event, and you get 4. This is not normal. WaveLab expects a single event.
But it works in WL6...
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

It seems that WL6 interprets or receives always the last event. That works. But WL7 does the same with the first event. That always is the same. If you compare the screen shots with the data in the file "midi.txt" you will see this.
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

PG
Moderator
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by PG »

Maybe, but you must change your controller to only send 1 event.
Philippe

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

The problem is, that this "controller" is a Yamaha O2R96 mixer that works with nuendo perfectly. Also start, stop, rec etc.
When I change it, it doesn't work with nuendo...
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote control with DM2000

Post by riwe »

I think I found out, why the mixer sends 4 events. Because it is in the so called DAW-mode. I can change it to the midi-mode and it sends only one event. But that's not the answer why it worked with WL6...
Last edited by riwe on Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 5 | Melodyne 5
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2 | Apogee Big Ben
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64 | Asus X299 Pro WS

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 7 | WaveLab Elements 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest