Removing Hi Frequency Hiss- White noise

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
MaMartin

Removing Hi Frequency Hiss- White noise

Post by MaMartin » Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:11 am

Unfortunately I had a mic routed into the same track I was recording a guitar. What is the best way to remove the hiss either using a band-stop or notch filter in Cubase 7. I need some hand holding on this one as to where I access the tool for this. Is it through the mixing console or in the main window of Cubase? Is this accessed through the EQ section of the mixing console? I'm new to Cubase 7. Thanks in advance.

curteye
External Moderator

Re: Removing Hi Frequency Hiss- White noise

Post by curteye » Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:35 am

Aloha M,

As more users chime in on this you will see that there
are multiple approaches to this type of prob.

1-I personally would use a parametric EQ to 'notch out'
as much of the offending frequencies as possible
while still maintaining the hi end of the guitar.

2-If phasing is not too noticeable, a graphic EQ might also do the trick.

3-But with C7
I am now wondering if there is a way to use the new
Voxengo CurveEQ plug as a sort of 'dynamic EQ' to kinda 'define' and then
'ride the noise wave'?

I have not tried using that plug much. Anybody?

HTH (hope this helps)
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Majic

Post by Majic » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:52 pm

i sometimes loop a small section of the background noise, layer it and bounce it to a single file if necessary.

route the background noise channel and the guitar channel to a group.

invert the noise channel you've created and ride the fader until the noise reduction is sufficient, it doesnt work for every application but i did this morning on some foley parts, automated it and it worked really well.