ProTools 11 announced

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
More Cowbell
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

ProTools 11 announced

Post by More Cowbell » Mon Apr 08, 2013 3:52 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6-rDi7t348
- A preview.

I love Cubase bur C7 should have been a completely rewritten 64 bit only program. As it is now i can almost feel old code struggle to hand realtime audio and the new GUI/function. I hope ProTools11 but pressure on Steinberg to do it right.

Majic
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:49 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by Majic » Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:10 pm

so tempting....

themarqueeyears
Junior Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by themarqueeyears » Mon Apr 08, 2013 5:15 pm

PT11 feature set has certainly taken me by surprise.

Mmmmh.

Guest

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by Guest » Mon Apr 08, 2013 5:49 pm

http://www.musicradar.com/news/tech/pro ... ced-573483
and apparently they have gone for core functionality instead of toys !!!

JClosed
Junior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 7:24 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by JClosed » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:59 pm

Hmmm... well...

I don't want to temper enthusiasm, but has somebody actually worked with this new version of Protools in a non-ideal working environment? You see - that's the moment all gremlins and anomaly's emerge. Announcing something or even get a hands-on, is not the same as working with the application from day to day.

Look at Cubase 7. At announcing time everything looked great and rosy, but when thrown at thousands of different configurations (nobody has an exact copy of another one's system - except for some very rare cloned systems) the problems for some software configurations became manifest.

I predict the same thing will happen for Protools. Everyone thinking that this will not happen, has never used complex software or is dangerously optimistic. The main question is not IF there will be problems, but mainly how big they will be...

I happened to Cakewalk's Sonar X versions, it happened to Ableton Live 8/9 and Cubase 7, so it would be a big surprise if it would not happen to Protools 11.

So - I will temper (at least my own) enthusiasm, until the application has been used intensively on thousands of different configured systems, by thousands of different users (that all have a different workflow) for a few weeks to months. After that period it is time to decide if Protools 11 is stable and usable enough.

More Cowbell
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by More Cowbell » Mon Apr 08, 2013 8:17 pm

We have to wait and se. It will be released in the end of june. I like that it hase fresh code but all the same functions. A few new like the different meters and plugin cpu friendly. These function is already in Cubase 7. I like Everything about C7 except the old code. Steinberg needs to do a SX3>Cubase 4 move. The Project, vst Connections, preferences. Its all code from late 90s. Whats new in mixconsole. Mixconsole would be great if it was connected with fresh code. As now its almost like "vst bridge" between old and new code. > Bugs.

Dave Wise
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by Dave Wise » Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:38 pm

64bit Code

Off-line Bounce

Come on Avid - catch up!!!

User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
Posts: 1456
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by Jarno » Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:58 pm

More Cowbell wrote: C7 should have been a completely rewritten 64 bit only program.
"64 bit only program"? Excuse my ignorance, but during my years as a software engineer I have never heard how you could write a "64 bit only program". But because you obviously have greater knowledge on computer science, you can educate me.
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier

User avatar
knuckle47
Member
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:24 pm
Location: Mid Atlantic USA
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by knuckle47 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:08 pm

I had mentioned this in an earlier post. My only DAW now is Cubase and has been so for the last eight or nine years. I do not record to earn a living but more as a very passionate pastime. I decided to look into avid forums and after reading so many pages of complaints I realized it was a parallel to Cubase with regards to problems and disgruntled users. And as JClosed stated...
"has somebody actually worked with this new version of Protools in a non-ideal working environment? You see - that's the moment all gremlins and anomaly's emerge. Announcing something or even get a hands-on, is not the same as working with the application from day to day."
It just seems as though history dictates there will be issues regardless. And whether they exist here at Cubase or over at ProTools , it is going to be a major problem for someone. The variables in computer set up alone almost guarantee that, unless it is the most refined software. The video sure sounds promising but most announcements will
Last edited by knuckle47 on Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 9.5.3| Win 10 Pro|GTX 1070 video 8gb ddr5| RME UFX+ via Thunderbolt 2| i7 7700k | 32gb Corsair 3600 Ram |ASUS Z270 TUF Mark1 | Samsung 960Pro SSD's | Cubasis | Nektar LX88|Guitar player 56 years|Absolute 3 VST Collection

User avatar
papi61
Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by papi61 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:39 pm

Still no VST support. RTAS is dead and AAX a non-starter, everybody I know who has PT bought VEP just to use VST's. PT is still NOT a musician-friendly DAW.
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.

claurence
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by claurence » Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:35 am

More Cowbell wrote:fresh code
This is meaningless.
Cubase 7.5, El Capitan, Steinberg UR44, Komplete 9, Spectrasonics stuff, a few other VIs.

claurence
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by claurence » Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:39 am

Steinberg needs to focus on accessibility of Cubase's already-amazing functionality, not rewriting what has already been written.
Cubase 7.5, El Capitan, Steinberg UR44, Komplete 9, Spectrasonics stuff, a few other VIs.

User avatar
Muziksculp
Member
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:08 am
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by Muziksculp » Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:00 am

papi61 wrote:Still no VST support. RTAS is dead and AAX a non-starter, everybody I know who has PT bought VEP just to use VST's. PT is still NOT a musician-friendly DAW.
+1000

They surely need to add VST support !
Cubase Pro 9 , Groove Agent 4, Halion 6, Halion Sonic 3, Padshop Pro, RND Portico EQ & Compressor, Wavelab Pro 9, The Grand 3, Antelope Audio Goliath, Antelope Audio Pure2., Windows 8.1 Pro

florent
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by florent » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:19 pm

to me it's not all about the features ,it's about stability ,and a system to work .We will see how PT 11 will perform,but for one thing I am sure that it will work great on OSX-Mac platform.
I love Cubase but changing the way you are used ,and worked at least a year ago to something new (and not consistent inside the arrange window and mixer)which is still buggy and you need to look for new icons ,shortcuts,this and that ...is really a mess,also the performance in osx is not that good.
What i like in PT they keep the feel ,look and everything on a program that you are used to ,but slowly and very steady bringing the features that users are asking for.
I wish that Cubase will follow or grow to something with this philosophy (Not to become PT),but make once and for all a beautiful GUI (Mixer and Arrange window to make more sense and connection btw them) and just keep it like that for a long time ,and add the features requested by the users slowly but bug free and not bloating the software .

User avatar
distante
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by distante » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:34 pm

I can make shitty music in Cubase 7, and record some less shitty music in Cubase 7

If I buy Profools11, I will be less shitty?
Hear and See Rock Songs maded with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7: bit.ly/CorazonTRM ("Corazón") and bit.ly/AnimalTRM ("Animal")

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase PRO 8.0.20 on Windows 8.1 64bits / 16GB RAM / Core i7 4790K / GTX970 4GB VRAM )
*Always the latest version available.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart

User avatar
dronesubstructure
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:53 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by dronesubstructure » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:50 am

I was an Avid customer since 2006. Their support is THE worst and you will pay quite a bit for it. The new forums are now policed by no less than 20 moderators who are quite nasty towards the users - even when unprovoked.

Avid's recent business maneuverings have made it quite clear that they are catering towards their pro user base and no one else is invited.

With a new CEO, who is to say Avid won't tether their hardware to the software again (not to mention their mounting legal hassles - 12 firms and counting for a class action lawsuit and a possible de-listing from NASDAQ).

As a customer you will pay and pay, like certain "religions" and pyramid schemes.

Cubase 7 runs rings around and around "pro tools" - even on a Mac. And my experience with Steinberg Support has been wonderful.
Cheers!

rMBP 2.7GHz i7/16GB RAM/10.10.5
Cubase Pro 8.5
Wavelab 8.5
Halion 5.1

jpgtr
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:06 pm

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by jpgtr » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:52 am

Not to mention it costs an arm and a leg to add surround capabilities....
2012 Mac Pro 10.13.6, 24 GB RAM, Nuendo 10.1 UAD-2 Duo

User avatar
dronesubstructure
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:53 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by dronesubstructure » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:57 am

jpgtr wrote:Not to mention it costs an arm and a leg to add surround capabilities....
Sorry, no more Complete Production Tool Kit licenses. It is either vanilla PT11 or PT11HD. No surround in PT11 vanilla.

Oh an be sure you check the heavy handed Avid system requirements for PT11 and PT11HD: :shock:
Cheers!

rMBP 2.7GHz i7/16GB RAM/10.10.5
Cubase Pro 8.5
Wavelab 8.5
Halion 5.1

claurence
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by claurence » Wed Apr 10, 2013 4:41 am

dronesubstructure wrote:Avid's recent business maneuverings have made it quite clear that they are catering towards their pro user base and no one else is invited.
I have to admit that I've been taken in by the excitement of a new Pro Tools that finally handles virtual instruments. But this concern you mention above concerns me as well. The $700 version is talked about as if it were entry level software. That is a hefty price tag to be treated as if you were a small fry. The studio-pros-as-moderators seems to be a part of this. As a user, you are to be excited that the pros are willing to give you attention, even if you just get to eat the pretzels.

But, that would be worth it still, were it not for other forces in the marketplace that also concern me about jumping on board the good ship Avid. Disruptive innovations can rock markets. These disruptions can be headed off if met (i.e. Celeron processors kept low end profits flowing to Intel rather than allowing newer companies to take that market). Is the $700 Pro Tools enough to protect that end of the market for Avid? I know that studio owners can't imagine a world without Pro Tools, but that's the story with every disrupted market.

And frankly, all I want is Steinberg to take care of its multi-window mess and give us multi-out instrument tracks. I theorize that it would be nice to learn Pro Tools as a resume bullet point were I ever to seek out an audio engineer career, even though the likelihood of following that path is remote.

Those are my thoughts on it. Worth about 1/2 a cent, or maybe 1/4.
Cubase 7.5, El Capitan, Steinberg UR44, Komplete 9, Spectrasonics stuff, a few other VIs.

User avatar
dronesubstructure
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:53 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by dronesubstructure » Wed Apr 10, 2013 4:58 am

Claurence - amen!

I too would like Steinberg to focus on enhancing Cubase to even greater heights. And who knows, maybe multi-windows will be en vogue again in the future. ;)
Cheers!

rMBP 2.7GHz i7/16GB RAM/10.10.5
Cubase Pro 8.5
Wavelab 8.5
Halion 5.1

claurence
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by claurence » Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:17 am

dronesubstructure wrote:And who knows, maybe multi-windows will be en vogue again in the future. ;)
I've never warmed up to screen sets. Mostly I just want my key editor to snap to the bottom half of the screen, score editor snap into a quarter of the screen, Instrument Rack to snap into a corner. I'll give screen sets another go. :roll: :lol:
Cubase 7.5, El Capitan, Steinberg UR44, Komplete 9, Spectrasonics stuff, a few other VIs.

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by theRoyal1 » Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:18 am

Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO=12TB + 2xWD4001=8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.5.12b123
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

Guest

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by Guest » Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:23 am

theRoyal1 wrote:Check out the metering
now that is very responsive metering unlike our sluggish c7 metering ;)

User avatar
bashar
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 1:46 am
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by bashar » Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:04 am

Full retina display support, c7 fonts are so nasty looking on retina, just like placing a grunge low fi on the master output :evil:

User avatar
ChrisW
Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:27 pm
Contact:

Re: ProTools 11 announced

Post by ChrisW » Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:55 am

As others have pointed out Pro Tools support is notoriously bad, and expensive. As a long time Sibelius user I'm also feeling let down by Avid as a company, so wouldn't go near any of their other products.

Having been with Cubase for over 10 years, I'm also pretty hopeful that Steinberg will sort out the present difficulties with C7.
MacBook Pro 13" Intel Core i5 2.5Ghz 8GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.11.6, Steinberg UR12, Cubase 9.0.1, Dorico 1.0.20, Sibelius 7.5, Finale 2012c, Komplete 9, HALion 5.1.1.60

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests