horizontal zoom with left click/move up dwn UNRESPONSIVE!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

horizontal zoom with left click/move up dwn UNRESPONSIVE!

Post by emreyazgin »

Something has changed with the horizontal zoom that is done with clicking left mouse button and moving up and down. It takes a while to start zooming and it is driving me nuts! I have been using cubase for the last 10-15 years 8+ hours a day and I don't know why they think they can change these kind of behaviours all of a sudden!...it just feels like it is stuck or something.....arghhhh!! :twisted:
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: horizontal zoom with left click/move up dwn UNRESPONSIVE!

Post by emreyazgin »

Has anyone also experienced this?
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: horizontal zoom with left click/move up dwn UNRESPONSIVE!

Post by emreyazgin »

bump..please, someone next time opens his/her cubase 7.0.2 try and see if the behaviour I explained apply to yours too.
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Cubase 7.0.2 horizontal zoom slacks (with video explanation)

Post by emreyazgin »

My last post was moved to MISCELLENOUS section, probably due to it was lacking the rules, or it was vague to many. I have created a video this time and followed the rules strictly. So, please do reply if you happen the experience the symptoms I am describing below. Thanks in advance everyone!

OS: win 7 sp2
Ver: 7.0.2
Sound card: fireface 800

To recreate the issue:

1) Create a session
2) No tracks or any data needed
3) Click on the ruler and move mouse down to start zooming and you will see that it will start to zoom after a while (I am not sure how many pixels, but maybe 50-100 ?)..See the description below for more detail, or even better the video I have created.

Description of issue: Horizontal zoom using mouse (clicking on ruler and moving mouse up and down to zoom in and out) is less responsive in 7.0.2. There is a slack time period before it actually starts zooming. I have also created a video comparing this to how it was in 6.5. It was OK in 7.0.1 too, but I cannot go back to 7.0.1 just to show this issue so I instead used 6.5 to compare.

The video link it down. it is cubase 7.0.2 up till 00:27. See how I click and move down or up to start zooming and it takes a while to start zooming. Whereas in 7.0.1 or 6.5 the zomming starts instantly which is the way it is supposed to be.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52Bp-lkmZPI
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

dr4kan
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 horizontal zoom slacks (with video explanation)

Post by dr4kan »

I cannot reproduce. It works perfectly here. (I am no OSX however)
Did you try to trash your preferences after upgrading to 7.0.2?
I did it and some small annoying errors disappeared.
Cubase 7.5, Mac i7 16 GB ram (512 + 512 Samsung 840 pro), OSX 10.9.0
MR816X, Motu Ultralite, UAD 2, MCU Pro, CC121, Adam A7x, Axiom 49...

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 horizontal zoom slacks (with video explanation)

Post by emreyazgin »

Thank you for the input. I will try trashing preferences and report back here. At least I know they haven't changed things on purpose, however, maybe it is a win issue..thanks once again.
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 horizontal zoom slacks (with video explanation)

Post by emreyazgin »

I have tried starting cubase in diagsnostic mode and delete preferences. no changes unfortunately.
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4727
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: horizontal zoom with left click/move up dwn UNRESPONSIVE!

Post by curteye »

Aloha e,

Seems to be working fine here.

Altho 'left clicking' might be implemented differently re: Mac/PC
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: horizontal zoom with left click/move up dwn UNRESPONSIVE!

Post by Helge Vogt »

Hi,
we also tried to reproduce the described behavior without any success. I therefore moved the topic to the Miscellaneous forum.

Does it also happen in an empty project?

Please keep to this thread.

Best,
Helge
Helge Vogt - Team Lead Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 horizontal zoom slacks (with video explanation)

Post by emreyazgin »

oh and by the way, I am on 64 bit windows 7 but 32 bit cubase 7.0.2 + nvidia 560ti graphics card, if these are any of importance..
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

dr4kan
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 horizontal zoom slacks (with video explanation)

Post by dr4kan »

emreyazgin wrote:oh and by the way, I am on 64 bit windows 7 but 32 bit cubase 7.0.2 + nvidia 560ti graphics card, if these are any of importance..
Sorry, but I have to ask...what's the point of having 16 GB of ram if you use 32 bit version of Cubase???
Cubase 7.5, Mac i7 16 GB ram (512 + 512 Samsung 840 pro), OSX 10.9.0
MR816X, Motu Ultralite, UAD 2, MCU Pro, CC121, Adam A7x, Axiom 49...

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 horizontal zoom slacks (with video explanation)

Post by emreyazgin »

There are some plugins that run only 32bits and I can't live without them. Until everything is 64bit compatible or I find replacement for the plugins I use I will be on 32 bits. By the way having 4gb reserved fully to Cubase + rest of the ram to windows is not as bad as is sounds. Its much different than having 4 gigs for the whole system.
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: horizontal zoom with left click/move up dwn UNRESPONSIVE!

Post by emreyazgin »

edited: sorry I didnt see the response
Last edited by emreyazgin on Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: horizontal zoom with left click/move up dwn UNRESPONSIVE!

Post by emreyazgin »

Helge Vogt wrote:Hi,
we also tried to reproduce the described behavior without any success. I therefore moved the topic to the Miscellaneous forum.

Does it also happen in an empty project?

Please keep to this thread.

Best,
Helge
Helge,

Thank you for letting me know why you moved it to miscellenous.

This behaviour is not only happening on my windows machine but also happening at our mac pro system at the main studio. It also happens in an empty project yes. I have tried starting cubase in diagnostic mode and disabling preferences with no luck at all. However I am pretty sure the behaviour wasnt there with 7.0.1 Very interesting indeed!. Do you think uninstalling cubase 6 and 7 completely and installing again would have a chance of fixing this?
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: horizontal zoom with left click/move up dwn UNRESPONSIVE!

Post by emreyazgin »

By the way, I thought not following the rules of reporting issues was the problem and I have created a new message, this time with video explanation. I am pasting the link to video here as well if you are interested in seeing what is exactly happening:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52Bp-lkmZPI
i9 9900K, Catalina 11.5.2
Cubase 10.5
Fireface 800 + Mytek DA
Lots of hardware + software
Amphion monitors, HD800 headphones

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests