Halion sonic cant find user multi programs (workaround found

All topics on HALion 4, HALion 5 and Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 and HALion Sonic 2
Post Reply
Stone1888
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Halion sonic cant find user multi programs (workaround found

Post by Stone1888 »

hello ,
when i upgraded halion sonic ( to 1.6.3 )it no longer saves user multi programs . Is there a way to point halion sonic to my user files . My old user multi programs ( pre-update ) are saved and avalible but all my new multi programs are not avalible in the load multis page . I have tried rescanning the media bay in cubase but it still does not work . Has anyone else had this problem ?

p.s it also will not save my star ratings

cheers for your time !!!
Last edited by Stone1888 on Tue May 06, 2014 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Desktop - - AMD Quad core - 3.4 ghz - 12gb RAM --- Windows 10 64bit ---- Cubase Artist 10 - Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 ---- Alesis M1 active 520 -- -- Stratocaster --

jaybird
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic cant find user multi programs

Post by jaybird »

As seems usual, no one from Steinberg answers your post. I have the same problem ( 1 of about 5 ) and like you I"m SOL. 7.5 is my last Steinberg purchase

Stone1888
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic cant find user multi programs

Post by Stone1888 »

I have found a workaround , a long one , but it does work .If you make your user multi programs , make loads of them , then save your multi programs in your VST3/ Steinberg / halion sonic multi folder in documents , then copy and pate your multis to a new folder (any folder just make a new one ) , then uninstall halion sonic , then reinstall halion sonic from disc (version 1.0 ) put your user multis you copied and pasted back in the halion sonic multi folder , then apply content update and then program update ( to 1.63 ) . then all your multi program files will be avalible in stand alone mode . very long winded but it does work .

cheers !!
Desktop - - AMD Quad core - 3.4 ghz - 12gb RAM --- Windows 10 64bit ---- Cubase Artist 10 - Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 ---- Alesis M1 active 520 -- -- Stratocaster --

barnboy
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic cant find user multi programs (workaround f

Post by barnboy »

Try rebuilding your preferences folder.
Save a copy to your desktop and then delete the one in your system.
On a Mac: Users/Library/Preferences/Halion(or whatever program you're using for the VST's).

Was having a similar problem with cubase 7.5 and Halion SE not saving my presets.
Trashed the preferences file and viola!
Cubase rebuilt the file on next start up and problem was solved.
Hope this works.
A

Stone1888
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic cant find user multi programs (workaround f

Post by Stone1888 »

hello there ,
I've found a better workaround , when you save your multi's in standalone mode they will not show up in the internal browser , but they will be saved in your multi's folder ( on windows 7 its c\drive\documents\VST3 presets\Steinberg media technologies\halionsonic\multi ) . just drag them out your multi's folder and drop them in the load slots and it works a treat , If you want them in your internal browser just re-install to version 1 then stick your own multis in the new multi folder and they'll be there
cheers !!
Desktop - - AMD Quad core - 3.4 ghz - 12gb RAM --- Windows 10 64bit ---- Cubase Artist 10 - Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 ---- Alesis M1 active 520 -- -- Stratocaster --

Post Reply

Return to “Halion 5 | Halion 4 | Halion Sonic | Halion Sonic 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests