Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
zachaction
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:42 pm
Contact:

Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

Post by zachaction »

Cubase Artist 7, Win 7 64. Dual monitors.

I have only one saved workspace. Mix Console is on the second monitor. Whenever I start Cubase or load a project, the Mix Console isn't there. I have to hit F3 for it to pop up. Even if I then save the project, the Mix Console is gone on the next load. I have tried creating a new workspace with the Mix Console up and that doesn't help either.

Hate Cubase 7 and tried to get a refund to go back to Artist 6. They wouldn't let me. I feel like I keep running into little things like this.

Any suggestions?

zachaction
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

Post by zachaction »

And I know that some people don't have this problem, so you don't have to post "Works for me." This issue has been brought up but there was no solution posted, so just wondered if anyone with the problem was able to pinpoint the cause.

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 808
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

Post by Home Studio 87 »

If you want it to work don't put your mixer "allways on the top" & it's gonna work !
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

zachaction
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

Post by zachaction »

Thanks for the reply, but actually it's the opposite, HS87. Setting it to "Always on top" DOES retain its position in the second monitor; however, it's not maximized which is ridiculous. It seems the project or the workspace simply are not retaining the "Full Screen - Monitor 2" option.

Guest

Re: Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

Post by Guest »

zachaction wrote:I have to hit F3 for it to pop up.
This must be really traumatic for you having to hit the f3 button like the rest of us , it's very time consuming isn't it ? .....
It is a known quirk and weather it gets sorted out who knows. :roll:

vanhaze2000
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

Post by vanhaze2000 »

I also have the mix console (full screen) on my second monitor, but haven't saved this as a Workspace, as you did.
Everytime i open this project, it opens always the mixconsole full screen on my second monitor.
So why making a Workspace for this screen setup anyway as it should work without being a Workspace ? ;)
Macbook CoreI7 / 8 gig RAM OSX 10.8.4 / Cubase 7.05 / HALion 5 / Maschine MKII / Novation Impulse / MOTU 2408 MKIII

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 808
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

Post by Home Studio 87 »

sorry I want say maximised in place of allways on the top
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

zachaction
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

Post by zachaction »

vanhaze, how do you NOT make a workspace? Don't workspaces automatically get saved (unless you lock them), regardless if you want to or not, even if you don't know you are?

vanhaze2000
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

Post by vanhaze2000 »

Well, i just have a Cubase template (custom made) that has the Mix Console on the second monitor, full screen.
Whenever i want to adjust this template, i just save it afterwards, without going into the Workspace - thang.
If i open that template again,the Mix Console is again on the the second monitor, full screen.
Hope this helps.
Macbook CoreI7 / 8 gig RAM OSX 10.8.4 / Cubase 7.05 / HALion 5 / Maschine MKII / Novation Impulse / MOTU 2408 MKIII

Asgardao
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Workspace / project not saving Mix Console visibility?

Post by Asgardao »

There's plenty of stuff workspaces don't save, and since Cubase 7, the workspaces save even less information.

Why there isn't an option to have "what you see, you get" type workspaces? This was 12 years ago in Logic Platinum 5!
Cubase 7.0.2 64bit, Win 7
MR816csx
CC121

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests