ASIO Latency Compensation

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
devastat
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:42 am
Contact:

ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by devastat » Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:32 pm

In the Preferences -> Midi page, I see an option for "Asio Latency Compensation Active By Default".

I tried to find from the manual what does this do, and I see the following text: If you activate the "ASIO Latency Compensation" button on the track list, all recorded events are moved by the current Latency setting.

I can't find this "ASIO Latency Compensation" button on the track list anywhere. Can somebody explain how does this work and where can I find this button? Thanks.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9221
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by -steve- » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:07 pm

Probably the button is hidden, right click in the track area and select track controls to set it up.

It does what it says, moves the midi events you record by the latency amount in Device Setup>VST Audio System.

Edited while Makumbaria posted. What he said too.
Last edited by -steve- on Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by Makumbaria » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:08 pm

I can easily see its button on my midi tracks list. Did you tried to "expand" the size of your tracks to see more buttons?
Cubase Pro 10.5 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.20 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

devastat
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:42 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by devastat » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:04 pm

I don't seem to find it. Any chance you guys could take a screen capture and show me what does the button is supposed to look like?

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by thinkingcap » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:08 pm

devastat wrote:I don't seem to find it. Any chance you guys could take a screen capture and show me what does the button is supposed to look like?
Manual P126 directly between the input monitor and the "R"(ead) button.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

devastat
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:42 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by devastat » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:11 pm

Ok, I found it. Thanks a lot for the help, the problem was that I was trying to find it on an audio channel, not midi. :roll:

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9221
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by -steve- » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:13 pm

Are you looking on MIDI tracks?
Image

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9221
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by -steve- » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:13 pm

you posted while I posted... :|

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by Makumbaria » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:15 pm

devastat wrote:Ok, I found it. Thanks a lot for the help, the problem was that I was trying to find it on an audio channel, not midi. :roll:
Yeah, it is present only in midi tracks. ;)
Cubase Pro 10.5 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.20 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

devastat
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:42 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by devastat » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:21 pm

I've had some latency problems in my midi input so I really hope that this button might solve my problems. Thanks again for the help guys ;)

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9221
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by -steve- » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:25 pm

It will only move events after you recorded them. It will not change the latency that delays the sound after you hit the piano key.

devastat
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:42 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by devastat » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:30 pm

That's actually the problem I have been having (not the audio delay), that the midi notes don't appear on the same exact spot where I play them. There is a delay between me pushing the keyboard and the note appearing on the piano roll, and I always had to shift them manually after.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9221
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by -steve- » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:41 pm

And now you don't!

devastat
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:42 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by devastat » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:47 pm

Was this feature already on Cubase 6, or is it something that Cubase 7 introduced?

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by Makumbaria » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:49 pm

devastat wrote:Was this feature already on Cubase 6, or is it something that Cubase 7 introduced?
It is new.
Cubase Pro 10.5 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.20 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

fizbin
Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by fizbin » Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:28 pm

I thought this was compensated for automatically...

If not, why would it not be?
Cubase 9.5 / Windows 10 / Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 / 20i18 + OctoPre variously

devastat
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:42 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Latency Compensation

Post by devastat » Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:36 pm

On the Device Setup -> Midi Port Setup - there is an option to "Use System Timestamp for 'Windows MIDI' Inputs". Anyone knows what does this option do?

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests