Latency

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
gruvpig
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:55 am
Contact:

Latency

Post by gruvpig » Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:09 am

I just purchased "Total Workstation XL" Instrument Bundle and just as I suspected, there is latency when playing any of the sounds from the bundle. My buffer is set to the maximum at 2048 samples per buffer but I'm still having about a 500 millisecond delay from touch to sound. Anyone have ideas on what might be causing this or even more important how I can fix this latency problem???

I'm running Cubase 6 on a Dell PC 2.79 GHz Processor with 3.5 GB of RAM

Thank you for all suggestions....

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Latency

Post by thinkingcap » Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:16 am

I just purchased "Total Workstation XL" Instrument Bundle and just as I suspected, there is latency when playing any of the sounds from the bundle. My buffer is set to the maximum at 2048 samples per buffer but I'm still having about a 500 millisecond delay from touch to sound. Anyone have ideas on what might be causing this or even more important how I can fix this latency problem???

I'm running Cubase 6 on a Dell PC 2.79 GHz Processor with 3.5 GB of RAM

Thank you for all suggestions....
Lower your buffer settings. Obviously 2048 is quite a lot.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by Strophoid » Thu Jan 03, 2013 1:51 pm

To reduce latency you want a lower buffer instead of higher ;).
Buffer is the time you give your pc to process the instructions, higher buffer means more time. This is advantageous in case you run a lot of plugins and your pc struggles to keep up while mixing. But for live playing/recording, you really want the lowest stable latency your pc/soundcard can handle.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: Latency

Post by Conman » Thu Jan 03, 2013 4:32 pm

Think about that 2048 figure. That's thousandths of a second (milliseconds milli = Latin for a 1000) signal delay through your computer system. 2048 = just over 2 seconds so you're lucky the latency is corrected to 500ms.
Now, does that make more sense?
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

krisp
Junior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by krisp » Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:06 pm

Conman wrote:Think about that 2048 figure. That's thousandths of a second (milliseconds milli = Latin for a 1000) signal delay through your computer system.
Actually, "that 2048 figure" is *samples* - not milliseconds. Latency has to do with buffer sizes *and* sample rate.
Conman wrote:2048 = just over 2 seconds so you're lucky the latency is corrected to 500ms.
Now, does that make more sense?
No, not really - are you suggesting that Cubase breaks the laws of physics to convert your supposed latency of 2048 ms. to 500 ms every time a note is played live?

Kris.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by Split » Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:22 pm

krisp wrote:
Conman wrote:Think about that 2048 figure. That's thousandths of a second (milliseconds milli = Latin for a 1000) signal delay through your computer system.
Actually, "that 2048 figure" is *samples* - not milliseconds. Latency has to do with buffer sizes *and* sample rate.
Conman wrote:2048 = just over 2 seconds so you're lucky the latency is corrected to 500ms.
Now, does that make more sense?
No, not really - are you suggesting that Cubase breaks the laws of physics to convert your supposed latency of 2048 ms. to 500 ms every time a note is played live?

Kris.
Don't worry Conman is a drummer :mrgreen:
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Guest

Re: Latency

Post by Guest » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:51 pm

Conman wrote:Think about that 2048 figure. That's thousandths of a second (milliseconds milli = Latin for a 1000) signal delay through your computer system. 2048 = just over 2 seconds so you're lucky the latency is corrected to 500ms.
Now, does that make more sense?
Like krisp said, your statement is incorrect.
The sum is: buffersize / samplerate = latency (approximately).
So: 2048 / 44.1 = 46.44 ms latency
gruvpig wrote:My buffer is set to the maximum at 2048 samples per buffer but I'm still having about a 500 millisecond delay from touch to sound.
When there's a latency of 500 ms your buffersize should be half of the total 44100 samples per second (so 22050 samples). Highly unlikely.

I think you are mixing 50's and 500's up or something else than the ASIO buffers is delaying the sound by an insane amount.
gruvpig wrote:Anyone have ideas on what might be causing this or even more important how I can fix this latency problem???
50ms with a buffersize of 2048 is quite normal, taking the total round trip in to account.
Like the others said, reduce the ASIO buffersize to decrease the output latency.

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: Latency

Post by Conman » Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:04 am

Split wrote:Don't worry Conman is a drummer
A blond drummer moment. :mrgreen: BUT! The picture remains the same. The advice is the same.
REDUCE the sample rate. And to be totally technical. LOTS.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

krisp
Junior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by krisp » Fri Jan 04, 2013 4:18 am

Conman wrote:The advice is the same. REDUCE the sample rate. And to be totally technical. LOTS.
The advice given was to lower the buffer size - not the sample rate. The minimum theoretical latency, as niles said above, is buffer size divided by sample rate - if you lower the sample rate you'll get longer latency.

Kris.

User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
Posts: 1692
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by Scab Pickens » Fri Jan 04, 2013 4:22 am

Conman wrote:
Split wrote:Don't worry Conman is a drummer
A blond drummer moment. :mrgreen: BUT! The picture remains the same. The advice is the same.
REDUCE the sample rate. And to be totally technical. LOTS.
I've found 11.025 works very well! :mrgreen:
Win 10 | Cubase Pro 10.5.10 | Focusrite Pro 40

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by Split » Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:59 pm

Scab Pickens wrote:
Conman wrote:
Split wrote:Don't worry Conman is a drummer
A blond drummer moment. :mrgreen: BUT! The picture remains the same. The advice is the same.
REDUCE the sample rate. And to be totally technical. LOTS.
I've found 11.025 works very well! :mrgreen:
I rest my case :lol: :mrgreen:
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

gruvpig
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:55 am
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by gruvpig » Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:52 am

Hey thanks for all the great pointers and advice, I really appreciate it!! Well since posting this topic I had a major crash and only the dreaded "blue screen" would show when trying to re-boot. Took the tower in for repair and they needed to re-install my operating system (XP). I am opting for a new computer and went looking today but everything have Windows 8 which I hate!! Looking for Windows 7 which I think rocks!

No the latency problem didn't cause my crash I suspect that my system was just old and couldn't handle the many upgrades I was attempting to throw at it. I only had 3GB of memory and my computer maxed out at 3.5 so I added another 512 (seemed meaningless). I also had just installed a software based "workstation" package which was 29GB!! This may have been played into my crash scenario as I had to install the sounds (29GB) on an external drive and not where the operating system for the program was installed (on my C drive). I never was able to actually use the new software mainly due to my latency issues but before I could get back to this forum for the valuable info you all so kindly offered, my system did the ultimate crash and I was never able to boot back up to try your suggestion. So, perhaps having the sounds on an external drive and operating system for the bundle on my internal drive caused the crash??? (I didn't have ample space on C drive to put the 29GB that's why I installed the sounds on an external HD. Furthermore, the very last thing I did to try to clean up my computer environment was I cleaned the cache and computer history. The technician told me that this was likely the culprit of my crash as my computer was very old (6 yrs) and was not using the memory as much as it was using the cache and when the cache got cleaned out it freaked the system causing a catastrophic crash. Any thoughts on all of this.

Oh btw, I'm a drummer too. This probably answers a lot of question you all may have as to why this dope is doing all these wrong things.... I'm more of a player/operator rather than a set-up or tech guy. Goes without saying right?

Anyways, thanks everyone for the help and all the amusing comments..... Anyone feel like educating me some more.

As for the new system I am looking to get... I look at a Dell intel i7, 3.4Ghz, 3.9 in turbo. 8mb cache and 8GB memory GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 620 graphics and Windows 8 (if I get this computer I will want t have Windows 7 installed instead). Any thoughts on this system or recommendations on another.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by Split » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:01 am

You don't mention what soundcard you use? this is important as it's the soundcard drivers "ASIO" that can make or break a good setup.

Also Dell or any other major manufacturer of computers will come will lots of pre installed crap that really do not help in a good DAW setup.

If you are not up for building your own pooter, then the very best advice would be to buy from a reputable DAW builder.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

gruvpig
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:55 am
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by gruvpig » Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:16 pm

Thanks so much for your message "Split". That all makes sense, I am aware that buying over the counter from a major company is not the best way to go. Would you have any suggestions on how I might go about getting a new set up? You have any recommendations for me? Any specifics on a "reputable DAW" computer maker? Thank you!

gruvpig
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:55 am
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by gruvpig » Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:18 pm

The sound card I am using is Motu PCI 424. I have a Motu Mk3 & Mk1.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by Split » Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:27 pm

I build my own, so I don't have data on reputable builders... sorry

Steinberg are endorsing HP's professional Z series, probably quite expensive.

Worth googling about though to see whats on offer.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by Strophoid » Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:14 am

Depends on where you live. If US, ask Scott (JSChild here), he's from ADK, they sell PC's optimised for audio work.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

gruvpig
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:55 am
Contact:

Re: Latency

Post by gruvpig » Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:13 am

Thanks guys!! Looking into the HP Z Series option or similar configs on a custom build and I will also try contacting Scott (JSChild) here on Steinberg.net

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests