[Tip of the day2] import old Key Commands

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2174
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

[Tip of the day2] import old Key Commands

Post by HowlingUlf » Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:11 pm

IIRC you could just drop your Key Commands in the preference folder root when moving from C4 to C5 and it showed up ready to rock next time you started Cubase? I was greated with a "file of the wrong type" moving from C5 to C6???

Don't fear the cowbell, though! You can click the icon that looks like a folder in the Key Commands dialog, select to show all files and then select the KC file you saved in a safe place before installing C6.

Because you did, didn't you? :shock:

Then it works 8-)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: [Tip of the day2] import old Key Commands

Post by curteye » Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:17 pm

Aloha H,
and a major 'Mahalo' for that tip.

This will save many users from many headaches.

(I know it will me).
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

cyclerec
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [Tip of the day2] import old Key Commands

Post by cyclerec » Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:50 pm

In windows 7, I had to copy/paste the .xml files from users/yourname/appdata/roaming/steinberg/cubase 5/presets/key commands into the corresponding folder in cubase 6. Note that appdata is hidden so you have to set folders to "view hidden files", and also, there is no key commands or presets folder in cubase 6 until a preset is saved, so you should save a dummy key command preset to force cubase 6 to create the proper folder for you to paste into.

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2174
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [Tip of the day2] import old Key Commands

Post by HowlingUlf » Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:42 am

If you install OS is on X:\ then
X:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Presets\KeyCommands
has a bunch of KC presets like Cubase Classic and Sonar and a few more installed with the program
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

cyclerec
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [Tip of the day2] import old Key Commands

Post by cyclerec » Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:01 pm

Hmm. I wonder why mine didn't have any presets? Guess cuz it's still beta.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests