Quicktime Framerate Question

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
Frieder Zimmermann
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:00 am
Contact:

Quicktime Framerate Question

Post by Frieder Zimmermann » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:08 am

Hi,

I have a quicktime movie wich has a framerate of 25 fps. If I open it in QT, everything is ok. If I import in Nuendo 5 I get a errormessage, the framerate is lower (in this case: 16,39 fps)

Where is my mistake?

Thanks for your help,
Frieder

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Quicktime Framerate Question

Post by neilwilkes » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:39 pm

Any chance of a look at the file info?
There is a free utility called Media Info - google for it & ask it about this file, please?
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

Frieder Zimmermann
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:00 am
Contact:

Re: Quicktime Framerate Question

Post by Frieder Zimmermann » Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:33 pm

installed media info, it says the framerate is 25fps...
the same as i open the qt inspector, if i go to the poolwindow and open the data under right click properties it says 25fps but in the opening dialog of nuendo it says 16,39 fps.

maxhowarth
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Quicktime Framerate Question

Post by maxhowarth » Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:41 pm

what's the exact format of the video file?
best wishes
max

http://www.redfacilities.com

2 x 3.3 6core mac pro | 12gb ram | mac os 10.7.3| n5.5 | rme multiset/audiolink96 | 3 x 19" flat panels | decklink xt | waves8 | altiverb7 | mc mix

Frieder Zimmermann
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:00 am
Contact:

Re: Quicktime Framerate Question

Post by Frieder Zimmermann » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:37 pm

MPEG-4 (quick time)2,05 GB, 11min22sec
1 video stream dv
1 audio stream pcm

24,4 Mbps 703*576 (16:9) at 25.000 Fps (DV, PAL)

the newest quicktime is installed

Paphnuty
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Quicktime Framerate Question

Post by Paphnuty » Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:16 am

I had the same experience. I don't know the reason but I remember that I resolved that problem by reconverting my video in QT Pro.

Altiverb
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Quicktime Framerate Question

Post by Altiverb » Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:32 pm

I'm currently experiencing this weird problem with a feature film.

Fortunately, the editor is on the next room, so we could try some renders before finding the solution : you need to force the video editor to export at 25 frame rate, even if the default project is in pal mode...

Don't know why, but it's working... At least with final cut !

Regards

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest