Rogue midi message shuts off sound in Kontakt

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Matz
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:39 pm
Contact:

Rogue midi message shuts off sound in Kontakt

Post by Matz » Fri Jul 20, 2012 10:43 pm

I'm working on a classical piece at the moment where I have one instance of Kontakt running feeding 6 midi tracks with brass, piano etc. They all run fine except the String ensemble. Yesterday I'd been working on this song for a couple of hours when the sound on the strings suddenly disappeared. Then I reloaded and I had sound again.

Today it has started to do that all the time making working on this piece impossible. Because I'm not a midi expert I don't understand how this is possible.

I tried exporting the midi file and recreated the project on another computer but the exact same thing happened, so it must be some kind of midi message built into the file. The question is how it got there and how I make it go away forever?

If anyone can figure this one out it would be very cool!
Last edited by Matz on Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by Strophoid » Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:50 pm

Does the sound stop playing when you play back the same bit every time? That way you can find out where exactly the bad boy is hiding. Once you found that spot, open the midi part in the list editor and see if you can find it and delete it from there.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Matz
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by Matz » Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:00 pm

yeah, it does or did stop at the same place, I fixed the problem. I deleted that particular midi event where it was happening. I then switched midi keyboard from an Oxygen 61 to a much simpler one and there haven't been any trouble since.

But can you define what you mean by "bad boy"? I would like to know how this sort of thing can happen? I guess my midi keyboard must have sent a message to Kontact to turn off the sound. Not to turn the volume down but to just shut it off, which I don't get.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by MrSoundman » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:20 am

Matz wrote:I would like to know how this sort of thing can happen
With all respect, the problem is clearly not related to either Cubase or Kontakt. I would respectfully suggest you rename the subject from "Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase" to something like "I recorded something into Cubase that caused a track to mute".
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.12 • WaveLab 10.0.30 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Matz
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by Matz » Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:10 am

I agree it's not a Kontakt or Cubase issue. It's an issue with my midi keyboard. I just don't understand why it 1. sends a message by itself without me telling it to and 2. I don't get what message was sent that can cause Kontakt to completely shut off like that at a certain point in a song. It's odd to me and if someone has an explanation I'd love to hear it

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by MrSoundman » Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:20 am

Matz wrote:It's an issue with my midi keyboard
... which is why, with all respect, you should change the thread subject so that people like me, who have both Kontakt 4 and Cubase, won't waste our time reading it.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.12 • WaveLab 10.0.30 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Matz
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by Matz » Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:32 am

I'd change the title if I knew how. But I think that you having wasted 12 seconds reading the first post will be ok in the end, try and calm down

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by MrSoundman » Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:42 am

Matz wrote:I'd change the title if I knew how
Try the big "Edit" button, which is visible to the original poster. I'm (almost) totally calm, by the way, just trying to help everyone. Regarding your original problem, if you examine the MIDI track using the list editor, you can see in forensic detail everything that was played in.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.12 • WaveLab 10.0.30 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by Elektrobolt » Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:06 am

Matz wrote:yeah, it does or did stop at the same place, I fixed the problem. I deleted that particular midi event where it was happening. I then switched midi keyboard from an Oxygen 61 to a much simpler one and there haven't been any trouble since.

But can you define what you mean by "bad boy"? I would like to know how this sort of thing can happen? I guess my midi keyboard must have sent a message to Kontact to turn off the sound. Not to turn the volume down but to just shut it off, which I don't get.
What was the MIDI event that you deleted? (And I think Soundman meant that this event was the "bad boy".)

If you share such information, people could help pinpoint what is happening with your stuff and ultimately end up making things less frustrating for yourself.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by Strophoid » Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:14 pm

The 'bad boy' was probably some sysex/program change or volume automation message that got recorded into your midi part somehow. The first would've been visible from the list editor.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Matz
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Rogue midi message shuts off sound in Kontakt

Post by Matz » Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:44 am

is that better MrSoundman?

When I'm done with the project I'm working on now, I'll take my other and main keyboard and run some tests with it to see if the problem persists. If it does I'll try the list editor trick. Thanks for the help

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Rogue midi message shuts off sound in Kontakt

Post by MrSoundman » Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:57 am

Matz wrote:is that better MrSoundman?
:D 8-) -- you can also use MIDI-OX to track down such rogues!
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.12 • WaveLab 10.0.30 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Matz
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by Matz » Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:46 pm

Strophoid wrote:Does the sound stop playing when you play back the same bit every time? That way you can find out where exactly the bad boy is hiding. Once you found that spot, open the midi part in the list editor and see if you can find it and delete it from there.
the problem is back unfortunately and I've found out that it's got nothing to do with my midi keyboard as I've tried turning it off and this thing still happens.

Can someone explain exactly what to look for in the list editor that can make these (in Battery 3 this time) master volume changes?

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase

Post by Elektrobolt » Sat Oct 06, 2012 3:09 pm

Matz wrote:
Strophoid wrote:Does the sound stop playing when you play back the same bit every time? That way you can find out where exactly the bad boy is hiding. Once you found that spot, open the midi part in the list editor and see if you can find it and delete it from there.
the problem is back unfortunately and I've found out that it's got nothing to do with my midi keyboard as I've tried turning it off and this thing still happens.

Can someone explain exactly what to look for in the list editor that can make these (in Battery 3 this time) master volume changes?
In the List Editor, look for any event that occurs exactly where the problem is recurring. You had stated earlier that it happens at the same place every time.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

Matz
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Rogue midi message shuts off sound in Kontakt

Post by Matz » Sun Oct 07, 2012 1:32 am

thanks, seems pretty obvious now that I think about it. But I'm not even sure it's a midi problem because I've researched a bit and this thing is a known bug with Battery, so it could very well be NI's fault

Matz
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Rogue midi message shuts off sound in Kontakt

Post by Matz » Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:54 pm

I now have another midi message problem which is way worse than the previous one discussed in this topic.

The problem is that sometimes when I play my midi keyboard it moves notes around in the key editor!

First I thought it was my old keyboard's fault so I switched to another one I have but the problem happens with this as well. If anyone has any idea what's going on here and what I can do to fix it I'd much appreciate it, cause this is a nightmare.

Matz
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Rogue midi message shuts off sound in Kontakt

Post by Matz » Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:01 pm

found out what was causing this in case other people should run into this problem also I'll share the solution: Turn off 'Midi Input', it's the symbol that looks like a midi cable to the right in the key editor

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests