Please help - can't get any sound out of Cubase LE

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
davnunn
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:07 pm
Contact:

Please help - can't get any sound out of Cubase LE

Post by davnunn »

Hi have just installed Cubase LE, and cannot get any sound at all. No levels during recording, and nothing in playback. I have imported an mp3 file for test purposes. It shows up with a wave form, but there are no levels in playback.

I am using a Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio sound card.

Please can someone tell me what I have done wrong in my set up?????

Really appreciate some help with this.
sb_playback.jpg
Screen grab of imported mp3 file during playback. No levels showing, despite wave form.
(411.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet
jb_setup1.jpg
Multi Track VST setup up
(478.67 KiB) Not downloaded yet
sb_playback.jpg
Screen grab of imported mp3 file during playback. No levels showing, despite wave form.
(411.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Attachments
sb_setup2.jpg
Control panel settings
(520.8 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3499
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Please help - can't get any sound out of Cubase LE

Post by jaslan »

It looks like the record enable is on. That would silence the audio and monitor the input to the track.
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

davnunn
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Please help - can't get any sound out of Cubase LE

Post by davnunn »

Thanks, I appreciate you looking. I toggled that setting on and off (and anything else I can think of!) before posting.

Here's a grab with record turned off, and there are still no levels.

Any further ideas?
Attachments
sb_playback1.jpg
Playback with no levels showing.
(366.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Bassbase
Member
Posts: 833
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Please help - can't get any sound out of Cubase LE

Post by Bassbase »

Hi

Could you check your settings under F4 to what your output is routed?

Greetz Bassbase
I7 3.2ghz / Asus P6t deluxe / Asus GTX260 / Rme Hdsp 9632/ Novation 49 sl compact / KRK Rokit 5 / Native Instruments Komplete 7 / Fabfilter Pro q, ....

Just to make sure you know the basics, come here.
Forum Knowledgebase from Users for Users
And if you like this idea or you have more stuff you think a beginner should know about, feel free to PM me so i can take it to the top. Together we know nearly everything...
Forum Knowledgebase von Usern für User Say hello after change

davnunn
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Please help - can't get any sound out of Cubase LE

Post by davnunn »

Thanks, that was helpful. I had checked as many options as I could see against my sound card, including S/PDIF in and out, which I am not using. As soon as I unchecked these, the playback of my test track worked.

The same thing with play back. I had mike and line in checked. My sound card has one socket for both functions. When I unchecked mike, I could see the sound levels straight away!
:D

Thanks for your help.
Attachments
soundin.jpg
Options checked for sound card
(311.72 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Please help - can't get any sound out of Cubase LE

Post by Strophoid »

Interesting setup you have. Audio interface that runs on asio4all, but also an Apogee big ben... :?
Those are on the opposite sides of their respective price ranges as far as I know.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests