unable to record midi

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
downside
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 9:42 pm
Contact:

unable to record midi

Post by downside »

Hi, I have updated from Artist6.05 to 6.07, and now I find that i have lost midi functionality. Vst instruments will not record, nor external midi synth.
Audio Perfect.
Also, although, one can see midi data input on the transport bar when using external keyboard, no midi function whatsoever within the program..
Standalone instrumenst work perfectly. I have reinstalled artist and still no midi. I reinstalled Cubase essential 4, and all was perfect.
all drivers have been updated.
windows7 64 SP1, delta 44+audiophile 2496, 12 GB ram I7 processor 3.2GB

Any Ideas will be welcomed thanks.
always grateful

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: unable to record midi

Post by thinkingcap »

How about simply checking all relevant MIDI settings..?
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: unable to record midi

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hello,

First of all try to check MIDI input/output settings.

Re-installation doesn't help in most of case. Much more better is to trash Preferences. Reason is: new installation take the old settings over from the old installation.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

downside
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: unable to record midi

Post by downside »

Thanks to Martin and thinkingcap for their kind response. I have checked and rechecked all midi settings and preferences.
Even when I open a VST instrument and accept "create a midi track for the instrument" there is NO midi data at the input, when the VST instrument is playing.
If i try to control the vst instrument with the ext keyboard, although you can see midi activity at the input on the transport bar, there is NO activity at the midi device or track.
Midi-Port setup, shows input and output active.
always grateful

User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
Posts: 1456
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: unable to record midi

Post by Jarno »

downside wrote:although you can see midi activity at the input on the transport bar, there is NO activity at the midi device or track
In that case I can only think 2 possible reasons for your problem:
1. You have not selected right MIDI input for your track.
2. You have not pressed the "Monitor" button on.
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier

downside
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: unable to record midi

Post by downside »

Thanks Jarno, but monitor is pressed on.
always grateful

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: unable to record midi

Post by alexis »

Hi downside - apologies if you've already done this:

1) Try setting your MIDI track input to "All MIDI Inputs". Maybe for some reason currently your MIDI is going out on one channel, but your MIDI track is looking to another channel for its input?

2) The "monitor" button Jarno refers to - I hadn't thought of that as an option - but I know that sometimes it's not clear that it is the tiny white "speaker" button in the track inspector that turns yellow when you press it. There can be many "monitor" buttons in our systems!

Since you see MIDI IN activity in your transport bar, you are 90% of the way there - it will happen soon!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

Guest

Re: unable to record midi

Post by Guest »

Setting's in Prefs. :roll:

Yep, forum's gotting less intelligent.

Emil Hansson
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: unable to record midi

Post by Emil Hansson »

Might be corrupt preferences as Martin.Jirsak suggested. See step 2 here on how to find and hide them:
https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... /2025.html

Cheers!

downside
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: unable to record midi

Post by downside »

Thanks for the input Alexis, all ideas are welcome.
I have been using Cubase since the heady days of Pro24. I have never come across this before. I have also looked for all the stupid omissions that come with age. I reinstalled Cubase essentials 4 and it works perfectly, so I ruled out the midi interface.
Of course, Cubase 4 is 32 bitversion. but I have been running artist 6 64bit without a hitch since it was released,this only happened when I updated.
kind regards.
always grateful

downside
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: unable to record midi

Post by downside »

Emil Hannson,is Top Man, thank you so much.
That was the problem. I was too thick to understand what Martin Jirsak was correctly prompting me to do.
Thank all you guys so much for your help.
always grateful

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 51 guests