Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
feline1
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 12:01 pm
Contact:

Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by feline1 »

Hi, I have been given an old archive project to remix,
it was created using Cubase SX3 (PC version).

I am wondering if it is still possible to purchase an license for SX3?
(I am hoping that this would be cheaper than buying a license for the latest version 8-) )

The download archive only goes up to SX2 ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Archives/
But the downloads of unsupported older products only go back to an *update* for SX3
http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/uns ... _sx_3.html
it says "Cubase SX 3.1.1.933, August 31st, 2005 - Requires an already installed Cubase SX 3 version on your computer! "

... so there does not seem to be an installer available to download for SX3 itself?

artisan
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by artisan »

The situation may depend on any plugins used rather than the actual DAW version.

Cubase 6 can be downloaded as a trial if you have a Steinberg Key but if not, Cubase Elements can be used instead with the only (major) potential issue being use of Groups as opposed to FX sends.

If it is just audio that is involved you could simply import it into either C6 or Elements and mix using Cubase' own built in plugs.

feline1
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 12:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by feline1 »

oh, don't worry about FX and plugins,
what I really want to be able to do is just open the project the way it was,
and see where all the audio is on the timeline
(I'd probably then export it as stems and import those into another DAW )

I do have a license for Cubase 4 LE somewhere, but if I recall correctly, that LE version wouldn't let me open an SX3 project..... do you think the Cubase 6 Elements would open an SX3 project?

User avatar
Reiknir
Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by Reiknir »

Nope, 6 elements will open 6 artist and 6 full projects but not older Studio or Full (SX) projects, You will be able to open 3 SX projects with the full pack and for compatibility sake you can download a version of SX 3 that works with the 6.5 license from the Steinberg server

I have not tried the demo version and thus cannot comment on if it will export, but it is worth a try

feline1
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 12:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by feline1 »

Reiknir wrote: you can download a version of SX 3 that works with the 6.5 license from the Steinberg server
I couldn't find one, do you have a link for this?

feline1
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 12:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by feline1 »

maybe it would be better to phrase my question like this:

- what's the cheapest Cubase license I can buy from Steinberg (for a 64 bit Windows 7 system), that will let me open and work with projects created in Cubase 3 SX...?

Indeed, is there a Steinberg 'Sales' contact address? Cos this is really a sales query, not a support one!

User avatar
Reiknir
Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by Reiknir »

feline1 wrote:maybe it would be better to phrase my question like this:

- what's the cheapest Cubase license I can buy from Steinberg (for a 64 bit Windows 7 system), that will let me open and work with projects created in Cubase 3 SX...?

Indeed, is there a Steinberg 'Sales' contact address? Cos this is really a sales query, not a support one!
This is a forum BTW, not the place to get steinberg support, and Steinberg does not sell directly -, see: http://www.steinberg.net/en/shop/dealer_locator.html

Presuming you are the same guy as is using that avatar on SoS you are based in the UK, Digital Village and the other mail order houses has a Cubase specialist that can handle your queries, alternatively call the English Steinberg support line at 0049-40-42236-115 to get the last word on this, they are quite helpful.

AFAIK only the full version will open older full version files, the download for the SX3 you asked for is here is here:
ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Download/Cubase ... ersion/PC/

But you will need a full SX 3 or Cubase 4, 5 or 6 license for it to work

You might want to take a look at the second hand market, because of the dongle system it is easier to buy and sell Cubase than systems that use authorisation and the second hand market is quite lively, any of the above version will do

If it is just a one off project like you say you may want to ask a friend to lend you a key for a few days or do the conversion for you

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by MrSoundman »

feline1 wrote:
Reiknir wrote: you can download a version of SX 3 that works with the 6.5 license from the Steinberg server
I couldn't find one, do you have a link for this?
Is this what you need?
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.10 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

artisan
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by artisan »

MrSoundman wrote:
feline1 wrote:
Reiknir wrote: you can download a version of SX 3 that works with the 6.5 license from the Steinberg server
I couldn't find one, do you have a link for this?
Is this what you need?
A dongle costs a mere $30 USD on ebay, with $10 postage depending where you are.

Please Steinberg make a clean break with the past and STOP supporting old versions.

Shinta215
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by Shinta215 »

artisan wrote:Please Steinberg make a clean break with the past and STOP supporting old versions.
They don't support it.
Support = Active Development and Ongoing bug fixes.

artisan
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by artisan »

Shinta215 wrote:They don't support it.
Support = Active Development and Ongoing bug fixes.
Yes but why do end users have to keep hearing about it when there is a top notch solution already available, which is fully supported by the developers for a negligible cost?

I am not saying this person is using an illegitimate version or that their source is same but it begs the question about professionalism on Steinberg's part for even having that old rubbish still available.

Shinta215
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by Shinta215 »

artisan wrote:Yes but why do end users have to keep hearing about it when there is a top notch solution already available, which is fully supported by the developers for a negligible cost?
We don't. This isn't the Cubase 6 forum. That's one of the reasons why the forums are only unlocked for users of that product.
artisan wrote:I am not saying this person is using an illegitimate version or that their source is same but it begs the question about professionalism on Steinberg's part for even having that old rubbish still available.
I actually think is quite professional (and good customer service) to retain old updates and downloads. It shows that they're not going to fully abandon their old user base.
Besides, the cost of keeping the old stuff available nowadays is negligible.

artisan
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by artisan »

Shinta215 wrote:It shows that they're not going to fully abandon their old user base.
Besides, the cost of keeping the old stuff available nowadays is negligible.
Updates are way different from keeping a full version there for the sake of a few stragglers who are not yet ready (or willing) to get on board the barge called Steinberg and by having a demo available as indistinct from the proper version bar a few arguably unnecessary plugins means the gesture is now redundant.

Shinta215
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by Shinta215 »

artisan wrote:Updates are way different from keeping a full version there for the sake of a few stragglers who are not yet ready (or willing) to get on board the barge called Steinberg.
FYI: The file itself is only 116 megabytes. Negligible in modern computing.

And yet, it in now way impacts the "modern" Cubase user.

Shinta215
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by Shinta215 »

artisan wrote:and by having a demo available as indistinct from the proper version bar a few arguably unnecessary plugins means the gesture is now redundant.
A demo that is only good for 30 days for a product that costs $500.
Unless I'm mistaken, the download for SX3 (full version) still needs a license to operate.

Most of Steinberg's customers are businesses themselves. Businesses don't upgrade if it's not going to make workflow more efficient and give them a better return than they are currently getting.

artisan
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by artisan »

and while it may be true that Steinberg are continuously innovating and keeping their products compatible with OS developments, the same cannot be said for project compatibility as evidenced by the fact of history, ie even SX3 will not import VST 32 files, as something like Cubase Elements will not import so-called "full version" product project files.

Shinta215
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by Shinta215 »

artisan wrote:the same cannot be said for project compatibility as evidenced by the fact of history, ie even SX3 will not import VST 32 files
From VST 32 to SX 1.0 Cubase got a new audio engine. They would have completely removed the old audio engine, thus making the old files unusable. If they HAD left the old engine, I can imagine it would have caused havoc.

artisan wrote:something like Cubase Elements will not import so-called "full version" product project files.
A stripped down version of Cubase not opening the full version's files?
There's X number of things that Cubase implements that Elements does not. They're essentially two different programs. A more comparable question would be "Can Cubase Artist open Cubase files?"

artisan
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by artisan »

Shinta215 wrote:
artisan wrote:the same cannot be said for project compatibility as evidenced by the fact of history, ie even SX3 will not import VST 32 files
From VST 32 to SX 1.0 Cubase got a new audio engine. They would have completely removed the old audio engine, thus making the old files unusable. If they HAD left the old engine, I can imagine it would have caused havoc.
artisan wrote:The likely only result would have been some thing like group functionality would be impaired or VST software instruments not loading but due to Steinbergs' approach to programming in general (all audio standards derive from Steinberg specifications bar OSX which has open API's) it would not have been incompatibility at the audio engin level.
artisan wrote:something like Cubase Elements will not import so-called "full version" product project files.
Shinta215 wrote:A stripped down version of Cubase not opening the full version's files?
There's X number of things that Cubase implements that Elements does not. They're essentially two different programs. A more comparable question would be "Can Cubase Artist open Cubase files?"
Again, it's more about which things won't appear but between Elements and Cubase 6 (I've tried both) they are pretty much compatible at all levels bar Groups/Effects.

Shinta215
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by Shinta215 »

artisan wrote:Again, it's more about which things won't appear
It's about coding changes. With programming, it's better to be sacrificial than nostalgic. Even one line of code from an old, outdated engine or something can wreak havoc on a program's stability and performance.
artisan wrote:they are pretty much compatible at all levels bar Groups/Effects.
Which are stored within the project file, making a Cubase 6 project file have something that Elements doesn't know how to handle.

artisan
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by artisan »

Elements does load FX send channels, it only won't let you instance new ones.

The audio engine "code" is completely separate to mixer code, which is separate to VST layers etc, which is by (excellent) design and is essentially what makes Steinberg the DAW market leader.

It's is purely a marketing decision on Steinberg part why they won't trail along the hold out's and other shady characters.

All I am saying is, having a version such as SX3 available for use/download is largely redundant due to the liberal approach of Steinberg towards demonstration software.

Shinta215
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by Shinta215 »

artisan wrote: All I am saying is, having a version such as SX3 available for use/download is largely redundant due to the liberal approach of Steinberg towards demonstration software.
A demo doesn't replace a full program...

artisan
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by artisan »

Shinta215 wrote:A demo doesn't replace a full program...
It's feature complete and would allow someone in this situation to review past projects and/or archives of previous work.

My view is and has always been that the "dongle" should be integral to the entire workings of Steinberg' hard/software and allow project and other file storage, in addition to software protection and DSP functionalities in hardware.

feline1
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 12:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by feline1 »

MrSoundman wrote:
feline1 wrote:
Reiknir wrote: you can download a version of SX 3 that works with the 6.5 license from the Steinberg server
I couldn't find one, do you have a link for this?
Is this what you need?
Yes! Thanks :) (for some reason, it is in the Cubase 4 folder! 8-)

feline1
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 12:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by feline1 »

artisan wrote: All I am saying is, having a version such as SX3 available for use/download is largely redundant due to the liberal approach of Steinberg towards demonstration software.
I've been handed about 83 old projects done in Cubase SX3, with a view to 'doing something' with them... so the obvious first thing to try is to get a copy of Cubase SX3! (Just like if someone have given me them on some obsolete multitrack digital tape format, such as that Tascam one on Hi8 video, or an Akai ADAT format...)
It's not unusual for backwards compatability to get broken in software applications (even if it's only little things), so I wouldn't automatically assume that Cubase 6 would be able to open these files.

I don't really understand your attitude, to be honest - you seem to be railing against something or other, I am not sure what! (software piracy? that's got nothing to do with this - I'm just working on archive material .... and the projects are only about 4 or 5 years old, for goodnessakes!)

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is it still possible to purchase Cubase SX3?

Post by Strophoid »

Don't let mr 'Brains' artisan wound you up, he's got a bit of a history here ;)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests