Disk Cache overload audio dropout

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
jahrik
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:39 pm
Contact:

Disk Cache overload audio dropout

Post by jahrik »

Im getting disk cache overload and audiodropout. Cannot playback or record on Cubase 6 full.
Im using Windows home premium 64 bit with Cubase 6 Full retail 64 bit
Core i7 2600s processor
8 gb ram( edr 3-1333)(1333 megahertz a sec)
HD 6570 video card
1.5 terrabyte(7200 rpm- 64 mb cache) western digital hard drive
Please if anyone can help me I can get back to work!!! Right now Im on standstill!! Give Thanks
p.s. ive tried to run off of an external toshiba 3.0 harddrive as well but my usb port is 2.0 so i dont know if that matters but i get the same results internal or external. If anyone has info please help. bless
My audio interface is tha focusrite scarlett 18i6 and it seems to make cubase act a little unstable

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: Disk Cache overload audio dropout

Post by Conman »

Not familiar with the Focusright. I presume you have been to their website and have the latest drivers or consulted any forum they have to see if there are any ongoing problems.
If you have an onboard soundcard then try using that and see if stability returns. Also download Reaper, a free unlimited DAW trial software, and see if there are any improvements or if it's the same story there.

Failing any advice here then contact the support of both companies and see if they can help. If there is an ongoing problem between the two you might get a quick fix.

You could also change the name of the thread and include "Focusright" in it so anyone with the same model will be more likely to answer and maybe give advice of their own.

!Disk cache overload could also signal a faulty hard drive, bad sectors or bad defragmentation. I'd look there first to rule that out as the last two can be dealt with.

Just looked here: http://www.focusrite.com/answerbase/en/ ... hp?id=1143
Although you may well have been here I noticed that one immediate advise was to disconnect any other usb devices. You could try that to see if anything changes.
I noticed in the instructions for my new soundcard (Roland) that driver installation should be done with all other usb devices unplugged so you could try reinstalling the driver if that is the case with yourself.
I hope it's that simple.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
Posts: 1456
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Disk Cache overload audio dropout

Post by Jarno »

You may also try to increase Disk Preload cache (In Device Setup / VST Audio System), if that makes any difference. Also make sure you have no any power saving options enabled on your PC (Windows Power saving options, BIOS setting for Speed stepping/C1E) and have Steinberg Audio Power Scheme activated.
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier

jahrik
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Disk Cache overload audio dropout

Post by jahrik »

Give thanks it seemed at first the problem was the input selection. I had mono in stereo out and when i changed it to stereo in stereo out i was straight for a couple days then out of the blue disck cash spike again then audio dropout.
I wasnt doing any recording or adding effects only editing. So im at a loss cant figure!!

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests