Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
beppecec
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec » Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:10 pm

Unexpected error in export audio mixdown
I tried to save the cpr with another name, but..... :evil:
Can someone help me, please?
Thanx in advance
Beppe







Cubase 6.0.5 , PC Vista 32 bit

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by Strophoid » Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:28 pm

Have you set the locators right? (not reversed)
Does it work in other projects?
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

beppecec
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec » Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:52 pm

Thankyou Strophoid for reply.
The locators are OK.
It works in other project.
:?
Beppe

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3284
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by jaslan » Wed Feb 22, 2012 9:56 pm

It could be a bad plug-in. Not really much information to go on though.
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Ganax
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by Ganax » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:42 am

Same problem here, No vst i loaded
And I have no clue about what's going on
Regards
Intel I7 quad core- Win 7 64bit
Cubase 6-Wavelab elements 7
RME Multiface & Aphex convertor
UAD-1 & UAD-2 solo

Novation Nocturn Midi controller

beppecec
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:58 am

I really use the same plugins as before.
I made three mixdown out of the same cpr before.
It's a mistery to me.
Beppe

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by ffg » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:15 am

May also be because you have deleted or moved the destination path for the file to export to. Reset the destination and try exporting again.
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 8.3
Cubase 9.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
Macbook Pro OSX 10.14
RME Fireface 802
RME Fireface 800

beppecec
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:39 am

Tankx ffg but the path is the same of the other three mixdown.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3284
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by jaslan » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:49 pm

Start deleting tracks a couple at a time to see if you can find the culprit track. Save the project under a different name first of course. Have you tried "Real Time" export? Also, have a look at the "Backup..." function.
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

NYC Composer
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by NYC Composer » Thu Feb 23, 2012 6:13 pm

try making your buffer size larger, just to see if it helps.
Regards, L.J.

_______________________________________________________

C5.5 and 6.02, Mac Pro 2.8 dual quad core Harpertown with 18 Gig RAM, 4 internal SATA drives,10.6.8, UAD 1-e, plug-ins and VSTis up the wazoo, MacBook Core 2 Duo 2.4, 2 gig RAM, 10.6.7, Mac Mini slave for VE PRO, 2012 2.6 Quad, 16 gig RAM, two external SSDs, 10.85

beppecec
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec » Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:13 am

Thanxs jaslan and NYC Composer.
I tried it all, but..... :evil:

beppecec
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec » Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:01 am

Anyone else have the same problem?

P.S. : In the export audio mixdown window when I try to choose a different path where to save the file, nothing happens.
A bug?

Banshee68
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 4:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by Banshee68 » Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:28 am

Hi there!

Did you ever manage to resolve this "unexpected error" when exporting?
When attempting to export a mixdown of one of my tracks as a "wave" file I'm having the same issues - with a clean install of Cubase 7.0.5!!! When I try to export as an "mp3", the screen flickers briefly and nothing happens.
I've used previous versions of Cubase with no such problems.
I even tried importing, then exporting the demo songs located on this site... with the same results! :(

Can anybody help me, please?

I wrote to Steinberg but haven't received a response.

Thanking you in anticipation.

gilbertoblue
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by gilbertoblue » Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:40 pm

I am also getting "unexpected error" when trying to do an Audio Mixdown export. I also sent a Steinberg support form message and received no reply. It's been about two weeks. I live in the USA so there is no phone support number that I can use. Very very frustrating!!

blackunderground
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by blackunderground » Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

I had this problem. I called Steinberg in Germany the guy checked everything. Naming each track with really long characters (I.E. effects info for rerecording's) I just copyed the info to the notepad on the channel, made the names really short and it worked fine. I hope that helps.

Best regards.

Tomas Bayer
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by Tomas Bayer » Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:58 am

Hi, try to export the file under a completely different name, meaning not changing original name XY just to XY2, but delete XY and use AB instead. This has fixed this issue for me as I´ve found out I´ve accidentally written a hidden character into the name - it wasn´t visible, don´t ask me how, but it has prevented Cubase to export the file.

Luckily I´ve had an option to try this on two licences - Cubase 8.5 on Windows couldn´t export the file, Cubase 7.5 on Mac did so, and the weird character has appeared in the name of the file after the export and that´s how I´ve found out.

Hope this helps, good luck!

grzesiustecu
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 12:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by grzesiustecu » Fri Oct 05, 2018 1:42 pm

Yes, you are right!
Gennerally, it's better NOT to paste the file name to export but to type it.
Grzegorz Stec
Cubase 10 Pro
audio: RME Fireface UCX
i5-2500K 3,3 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V
RAM 16 GB DDR3-1600
HD:
1. SSD Samsung 250 GB 840 Evo (system)
2. Samsung HD103SJ 1 TB
3. Samsung HD103SJ 1 TB
4. SSD Samsung 500GB 850 EVO (projects)
5- WD 10EADS External USB Drive, 1 TB
Power: OCZ 600MXSP
Grafics: Intel HD Grafics Family
Windows 7
Another system only for recordings:RME UFX (USB)
Win 7

WK
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by WK » Fri Dec 07, 2018 8:52 pm

I just had the same error...

In my case the total file name was too long, with to many folder sub levels!

I exported to a folder one level up, and now it works...

pfffffff
One who doesn't smoke,drink or drive is a tax evader...

15" Macbook Pro late 2013 i7 2,8
16GB
OSX Mavericks
Cubase 8.5

orenpiano
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 4:38 am
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by orenpiano » Tue May 14, 2019 4:43 am

Try changing the File name to Auto update name (click on arrow on the right side) and set file path to 'Use Project Audio Folder' (again - by clicking on the arrow on the right)

I had this problem in Cubase 10 and this fixed it.

Robert Donithan
Junior Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by Robert Donithan » Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:01 pm

WK wrote:
Fri Dec 07, 2018 8:52 pm
I just had the same error...

In my case the total file name was too long, with to many folder sub levels!

I exported to a folder one level up, and now it works...

pfffffff
I just found one cure...
Delete the project name and give it a small new name..the project will end up in another folder though if you have windows os it will show up in the file explorer "recent files" section and you can click on to "open file location" to find the file..when you try to mixdown again, change the old project name to the new one in the mixdown pane.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jonassimola and 6 guests