Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
beppecec
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec »

Unexpected error in export audio mixdown
I tried to save the cpr with another name, but..... :evil:
Can someone help me, please?
Thanx in advance
Beppe







Cubase 6.0.5 , PC Vista 32 bit

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by Strophoid »

Have you set the locators right? (not reversed)
Does it work in other projects?
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

beppecec
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec »

Thankyou Strophoid for reply.
The locators are OK.
It works in other project.
:?
Beppe

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3470
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by jaslan »

It could be a bad plug-in. Not really much information to go on though.
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Ganax
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by Ganax »

Same problem here, No vst i loaded
And I have no clue about what's going on
Regards
Intel I7 quad core- Win 7 64bit
Cubase 6-Wavelab elements 7
RME Multiface & Aphex convertor
UAD-1 & UAD-2 solo

Novation Nocturn Midi controller

beppecec
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec »

I really use the same plugins as before.
I made three mixdown out of the same cpr before.
It's a mistery to me.
Beppe

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by ffg »

May also be because you have deleted or moved the destination path for the file to export to. Reset the destination and try exporting again.
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 10.3
Cubase 10.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
Macbook Pro OSX 10.14
RME Fireface 802
RME Fireface 800
Audient ID14

beppecec
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec »

Tankx ffg but the path is the same of the other three mixdown.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3470
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by jaslan »

Start deleting tracks a couple at a time to see if you can find the culprit track. Save the project under a different name first of course. Have you tried "Real Time" export? Also, have a look at the "Backup..." function.
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

NYC Composer
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by NYC Composer »

try making your buffer size larger, just to see if it helps.
Regards, L.J.

_______________________________________________________

Cubase 10.5.12, 2019 iMac i9 8 core@3.6khz, OS 10.14.6, 72 GB RAM, scads of SSDs, Babyface Pro, OWC 4 bay Thunderbolt 3 enclosure, too many sample libraries, 90s American Series Strat, Taylor and Martin acoustics, Mexican Fender Precision.

beppecec
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec »

Thanxs jaslan and NYC Composer.
I tried it all, but..... :evil:

beppecec
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by beppecec »

Anyone else have the same problem?

P.S. : In the export audio mixdown window when I try to choose a different path where to save the file, nothing happens.
A bug?

Banshee68
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 4:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by Banshee68 »

Hi there!

Did you ever manage to resolve this "unexpected error" when exporting?
When attempting to export a mixdown of one of my tracks as a "wave" file I'm having the same issues - with a clean install of Cubase 7.0.5!!! When I try to export as an "mp3", the screen flickers briefly and nothing happens.
I've used previous versions of Cubase with no such problems.
I even tried importing, then exporting the demo songs located on this site... with the same results! :(

Can anybody help me, please?

I wrote to Steinberg but haven't received a response.

Thanking you in anticipation.

gilbertoblue
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by gilbertoblue »

I am also getting "unexpected error" when trying to do an Audio Mixdown export. I also sent a Steinberg support form message and received no reply. It's been about two weeks. I live in the USA so there is no phone support number that I can use. Very very frustrating!!

blackunderground
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by blackunderground »

I had this problem. I called Steinberg in Germany the guy checked everything. Naming each track with really long characters (I.E. effects info for rerecording's) I just copyed the info to the notepad on the channel, made the names really short and it worked fine. I hope that helps.

Best regards.

Tomas Bayer
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by Tomas Bayer »

Hi, try to export the file under a completely different name, meaning not changing original name XY just to XY2, but delete XY and use AB instead. This has fixed this issue for me as I´ve found out I´ve accidentally written a hidden character into the name - it wasn´t visible, don´t ask me how, but it has prevented Cubase to export the file.

Luckily I´ve had an option to try this on two licences - Cubase 8.5 on Windows couldn´t export the file, Cubase 7.5 on Mac did so, and the weird character has appeared in the name of the file after the export and that´s how I´ve found out.

Hope this helps, good luck!

grzesiustecu
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 12:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by grzesiustecu »

Yes, you are right!
Gennerally, it's better NOT to paste the file name to export but to type it.
Grzegorz Stec
Cubase 10 Pro
audio: RME Fireface UCX
i5-2500K 3,3 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V
RAM 16 GB DDR3-1600
HD:
1. SSD Samsung 250 GB 840 Evo (system)
2. Samsung HD103SJ 1 TB
3. Samsung HD103SJ 1 TB
4. SSD Samsung 500GB 850 EVO (projects)
5- WD 10EADS External USB Drive, 1 TB
Power: OCZ 600MXSP
Grafics: Intel HD Grafics Family
Windows 7
Another system only for recordings:RME UFX (USB)
Win 7

WK
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by WK »

I just had the same error...

In my case the total file name was too long, with to many folder sub levels!

I exported to a folder one level up, and now it works...

pfffffff
World Record Holder Fastest (and probably worst) Triangle Player In The World.

16" Macbook Pro i9 5.0 32GB 2TB
Catalina
Cubase 10.5 (please give me back CB 9)
Logic Pro X
Protracker 3.10

orenpiano
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 4:38 am
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by orenpiano »

Try changing the File name to Auto update name (click on arrow on the right side) and set file path to 'Use Project Audio Folder' (again - by clicking on the arrow on the right)

I had this problem in Cubase 10 and this fixed it.

Robert Donithan
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Help! Unexpected error in export audio mixdown

Post by Robert Donithan »

WK wrote:
Fri Dec 07, 2018 8:52 pm
I just had the same error...

In my case the total file name was too long, with to many folder sub levels!

I exported to a folder one level up, and now it works...

pfffffff
I just found one cure...
Delete the project name and give it a small new name..the project will end up in another folder though if you have windows os it will show up in the file explorer "recent files" section and you can click on to "open file location" to find the file..when you try to mixdown again, change the old project name to the new one in the mixdown pane.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests