Need help configuring midi controller

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
HongKongCV
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Need help configuring midi controller

Post by HongKongCV »

Okay, I just got my first midi controller for Cubase 5, and have some questions. I'm in Windows 7, running Cubase 5 64-bit. The midi controller is an older one, M-Audio Keystudio 25, connected via usb.. the cable is about six feet long..

First, when I created the controller in Cubase, I couldn't find one for this keyboard, so I used the GM setup. Is that okay, or do I need to do something different? If so, what?

It works as is, though the latency is a bit much for me. Any way to reduce the latency so the sounds happen when I press the keys... instead of some noticable fraction of a second later? With this lag, I'm not sure how I can add a new part to an existing arrangement.

Finally, I can't figure out how to define the programmable controls. The keyboard has eight 8 and 8 buttons that are supposed to be programmable, but I can't figure out how to tell Cubase what each one of them should mean. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

manakesna
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:45 am
Contact:

Re: Need help configuring midi controller

Post by manakesna »

It might be helpful to install the M-Audio Usb Midi Series driver if you haven't
already http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=sup ... ers&f=1088
Since they don't seem to have a Cubase Direct link for Keystation, i guess
GM Setup is your best friend. About the latency, you'd have to provide info
about your soundcard/asio driver and the buffer size you use.
hy·po·ton·ic (h p -t n k). adj. 1. Having less than normal tone or tension, as of muscles or arteries or sounds or thresholds

HongKongCV
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Need help configuring midi controller

Post by HongKongCV »

I fixed the latency issue by switching to the "Generic low latency ASIO driver." I didn't see anywhere to set buffer size to affect the latency values.

So, I guess the ony issue remaining is how to configure the programmable controls in Cubase so I can use them to enter CC data. Any suggestions?

Guest

Re: Need help configuring midi controller

Post by Guest »

Generic Remote is your friend.

HongKongCV
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Need help configuring midi controller

Post by HongKongCV »

Okay, I found the write-up in the manual for generic remote. Pretty cool. I've got the midi keyboard controlling volume levels for various things in Cubase (main, selected track, etc). I haven't been able yet, however, to figure out how to use one of the knobs to send CC data. For example, I want to configure one knob to send mod data, CC11. How to do this?

Guest

Re: Need help configuring midi controller

Post by Guest »

Check out the learn function in GR.

HongKongCV
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Need help configuring midi controller

Post by HongKongCV »

I have that much figured out. The learn function lets me select which control on the midi keyboard is being used... I got that. But on the BOTTOM grid, what do I do to assign that control to make Cubase interpret that as CC11 data? Or CC5, even? Whichever value, I can't figure out how to do this.

Guest

Re: Need help configuring midi controller

Post by Guest »

Ok, check out Quick Controls. Load a VSTi in the rack and select it as the output of a MIDI track. Click on QC in the Inspector. It has a learn function like GR.

HongKongCV
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Need help configuring midi controller

Post by HongKongCV »

Let me look at that, and I'll get back to you as to whether or not it worked. Thanks for the advice, by the way.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests