XP....will it or won't it???

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
User avatar
neilhunter
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:22 am
Location: West Sussex, UK.
Contact:

XP....will it or won't it???

Post by neilhunter » Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:42 pm

Will C6 run on XP?
i7-3770 on Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Kingston HyperX 16Gb DDR3-2133, with Samsung 850EVO 250Gb SSD. Windows 10 Pro. Cubase 9.5 Pro, HALion 6, Cakewalk Z3ta+ 2.2, Rapture Pro & Pentagon v1.4, Padshop Pro. Behringer MX602 & Truth B2031A Monitors.

Chris Beuermann

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Chris Beuermann » Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:22 pm

Hello,

Already answered several times here at the forum.We did not testet it with Windows Xp.

egelmett
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:38 am
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by egelmett » Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:20 am

neilhunter wrote:Will C6 run on XP?
Good question! They haven't tested it, but that may not mean it won't function.

You have to wonder since Cubase 4 & 5 are not supported on Windows Media Center PCs, but I've had no issues.

I guess we're on our own to find out.

I may just go full Mac (Mac Laptop, Mac PC) if I have to upgrade to Windows 7 though...
MacBook Pro: (15-inch, Mid 2012), 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024 MB - Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 MB, MacOS High Sierra 10.13.5, built-in audio (mainly).
Generic PC: Intel i7-8600K @ 4.9MHz, 16GB RAM 3200MHz, Nvidia 1030GT, Windows 10 Pro (Whatever version...they keep updating behind my back), Steinberg UR44 Interface, Cubase 9.5

garymusic
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by garymusic » Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:50 am

What ever I do will cost Mac/Wn 7 will cost $3,000 USD or more. Mac will cost more for me because my RME Hammerfall HDSP 9652 audio card is PCI based. Just the RME MADI card is $800. I just see not much value in it at this time. My XP system just works fine. So does Cubase 5.

I'll upgrade if we get some brave people to try it with XP and go un-supported.

Gary
Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9.5, MacBook Pro i7, Apogee Ensenble Thunderbolt Interface, UAD-2 Plugins, Big Ben || Yamaha 01V96V2 mixer with Rev-X Reverb

Guest

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Guest » Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:23 am

Sx3 runs on 7 , i know its the oppsite way round but just shows unsupported stuff will.

Good luck
Freq

DjRavix
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by DjRavix » Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:04 pm

filterfreak wrote:Sx3 runs on 7 , i know its the oppsite way round but just shows unsupported stuff will.

Good luck
Freq
You forget that Wavelab 7 Officially Only supports Windows 7 However It seems to run Fine on XP
PC Related Hardware:
Intel 3930K, 64GB Ram, SSD + Lot of HDD Space
Audio Related Hardware:
828MK3,61SL MKII,Virus A,Ultra Nova,Perception 200,Se Reflexion Filter,Nano Patch+,KRK RP8
Audio Related Software:
Cubase9,WavelabElements9,HSO,Grand3,HALion5,Korg LCAE,RPExplorer3,FF Bundle,Inflator,Sylenth1,Z3TA+2,Nexus2,VengeancePlugins,Various Sample Packs

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Conman » Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:02 pm

Porbably will run but you may run into the odd crash probably solvable by unofficial advice from users who are programmers and find the relevant workarounds. These guys may be spread across several forums though. Doubt there'll be more than one or two here regularly.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
GroovinDJ
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Great Britain, England, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by GroovinDJ » Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:33 pm

Chris Beuermann wrote:We did not testet it with Windows Xp.
Well if you need anyone to test it, I don't mind.

Just send it this way....

:D
Cubase - Yamaha n12 - Ableton Live Suite - Reason - Sony Acid Pro - Adobe Audition - Sony Vegas - Virtual DJ - Traktor - Gizmolabs RPM

Guest

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:09 am

Chris B. - you know that many users have decided not to migrate from a stable o/s (XP SP3) so why didn't you test C6 on that platform? Maybe the office boy could have done it for you?? The incessant upgrade path leaves us no peace. Stability is as important as the "latest update".

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2523
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Arjan P » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:52 am

Yes, XP SP3 was stable enough, but Win7 has been around for quite a while now and has proven to be just as stable. It also offers real 64-bit (with hardware manufacturers also boarding ship) so obviously any sensible software company gets with the program and focuses on today, not on yesterday. Whether C6 runs on XP will soon be found out by someone here anyway, so just wait and see - and in the mean time you still have your C5 anyway..

Luck, Arjan
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 9.5.50 | Cubase 10.0 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

Guest

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:54 am

None of this would be a problem if Steinberg simply offered their XML Archive format in all of their programs, starting at some point.

Now lets see, how about version 6.

andyjh
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by andyjh » Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:41 pm

Is this the biggest hostile reaction Steinberg have ever had to a new version? It certainly seems to be. Now, I always get the latest version, as there are always lots of little fixes and updates that went unmentioned that improve things.

However, this time I am stalling, because I use Win XP, I have 6 AMT8 MIDI interfaces attached which will not work under Windows 7, so to go to Win 7 is going to cost me over £1000 for new MIDI interfaces plus Win7 OS, and I just don't see anything in Cubase 6 to make me want to do this.
The weakest part of Cubase is the score editor, and I don't see any improvements in that area with V6.

One bit of hope though, is that I can confirm Wavelab 7 does work all OK on Windows XP (SP3), so it looks likely that Cubase 6 will as well, It's a shame that Steinberg couldn't even state that Cubase 6 may work on XP despite Win 7 being recommended.
Master: Windows 10 64-bit / i7 7820X / 32GB RAM / Dual Monitors / Steinberg UR824 / MOTU Midi Express 128
Slave: Windows 7 64-bit / i7 / 16Gb RAM / Dual monitors / Emu 1820m. Networked via VE Pro
Cubase Pro 10, Absolute 3 (Halion 6), Wavelab Pro 9.0, Dorico Pro 2.1.1
Equipment list: - more than I need : Plug in list:- definitely more than I need

Guest

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:13 pm

andyjh wrote:It's a shame that Steinberg couldn't even state that Cubase 6 may work on XP despite Win 7 being recommended.
It's about what is supported, not what will work.

In any case, if necessary legacy systems can be supported via the VST System Link, and I know it can often be a sore topic but it means you can do mixing on a newer system while pushing out midi data and so onto an older workstation.

Personally I will likely never use it but I know it's there if I want to pull out (or purchase) some old "vintage" computer gear and lately it seems that new software is becoming closer and closer in terms of price to upgrades so hopefully everyone can be made happy with a little bit of learning and education.

samicide
Junior Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:32 pm
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by samicide » Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:18 pm

I hope C6 will run on windows 98. I don't like to rush into things although I'm preparing to make the move to XP very soon, wish me luck.
Cubase 9.5

User avatar
Keres
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Keres » Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:36 pm

It's very simple.

If C6 runs on XP, I shall buy it.

If it doesn't, I won't.
C6.0.7/ CC121/ XP 32 SP2/ 2xDelta 1010

Tompa
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:25 pm
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Tompa » Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:39 pm

C.B
Already answered several times here at the forum.We did not testet it with Windows Xp.

well C.B this is just way too stupid of the steiny team "We did not testet it with Windows Xp"
Why the hell not ???
There will be no upgrade her until this is sorted out.
:?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:
OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan| i7 iMac 27" Intel 3.4 Ghz| 32 GB RAM 1600 DDR3 | 1.12Tb Fusion drive|WD By Book 3Tb | WD Elements 2Tb |
Cubase pro 9.0.1 | Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56| Wavelab Elements 9| CC 121 | Mackie MR8

samicide
Junior Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:32 pm
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by samicide » Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:43 pm

it's already sorted out, no support for xp. Even if it worked I wouldn't want to use it because it's not supported. There is nothing to sort out.

I'm with steiney (on this one) XP is old technology, C6 is the new technology. If you want to run an old OS you have to run old programs, it makes perfect sense and in the end the realistic people will benefit.
Cubase 9.5

andyjh
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by andyjh » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:41 pm

I would safely guess that more than 50% (and probably a lot higher than that) of all Cubase users are running Vista or XP, so Steinberg are about to lose more than 50% of their market, by going Win 7 only.

What is so annoying here is that no one is answering the question being asked by so many, we DO NOT want to hear "it is not supported" we accept that as OK, so please don't anybody say that again, we want to to know "IF IT WORKS". And by the deliberate vagueness of Steinberg, I am beginng to believe that there is a fundamental problem the C6 under non Win7 that Steinberg do know about, but prefer not to mention.
Master: Windows 10 64-bit / i7 7820X / 32GB RAM / Dual Monitors / Steinberg UR824 / MOTU Midi Express 128
Slave: Windows 7 64-bit / i7 / 16Gb RAM / Dual monitors / Emu 1820m. Networked via VE Pro
Cubase Pro 10, Absolute 3 (Halion 6), Wavelab Pro 9.0, Dorico Pro 2.1.1
Equipment list: - more than I need : Plug in list:- definitely more than I need

User avatar
Keres
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Keres » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:43 pm

Sorry samicide - for myself (and others) it is not sorted out.

I'm not asking Steinberg to support C6 on XP.

All I'm asking for is a simple answer to a simple question, along the lines of either:

1) "Yes it will work, but we don't support C6 on this platform."
or
2) "No, it will not run."

How can this possibly be too much to ask?
C6.0.7/ CC121/ XP 32 SP2/ 2xDelta 1010

samicide
Junior Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:32 pm
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by samicide » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:46 pm

andyjh wrote: Steinberg are about to lose more than 50% of their market, by going Win 7 only.
I doubt it.


Keres wrote:All I'm asking for is a simple answer to a simple question, along the lines of either:

1) "Yes it will work, but we don't support C6 on this platform."
or
2) "No, it will not run."

How can this possibly be too much to ask?


because if there were problems on XP then you would all be screaming "you said it would work!"

You should take 'not supported' as 'no it will not run well'

that's your safest path for stability.
Last edited by samicide on Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 9.5

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by thinkingcap » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:48 pm

Keres wrote:Sorry samicide - for myself (and others) it is not sorted out.

I'm not asking Steinberg to support C6 on XP.

All I'm asking for is a simple answer to a simple question, along the lines of either:

1) "Yes it will work, but we don't support C6 on this platform."
or
2) "No, it will not run."

How can this possibly be too much to ask?
If the official line is "we have not tested it", how can you expect one of your two answers. Therefore one might think it had to be tested...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
Keres
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Keres » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:02 pm

samicide wrote: You should take 'not supported' as 'no it will not run well'.
Fair enough.
thinkingcap wrote: one might think it had to be tested...
Good idea! Hopefully within the next day or two! ;)
C6.0.7/ CC121/ XP 32 SP2/ 2xDelta 1010

andyjh
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by andyjh » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:19 pm

As a Steinberg music shop retailer, before I can introduce someone to Cubase now, I have to ask if they are running Win 7, most will not be, so I will now have to sell them something else - maybe Steinberg should keep Cubase 5 going, to save their market share.
Master: Windows 10 64-bit / i7 7820X / 32GB RAM / Dual Monitors / Steinberg UR824 / MOTU Midi Express 128
Slave: Windows 7 64-bit / i7 / 16Gb RAM / Dual monitors / Emu 1820m. Networked via VE Pro
Cubase Pro 10, Absolute 3 (Halion 6), Wavelab Pro 9.0, Dorico Pro 2.1.1
Equipment list: - more than I need : Plug in list:- definitely more than I need

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by thinkingcap » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:42 pm

andyjh wrote:As a Steinberg music shop retailer, before I can introduce someone to Cubase now, I have to ask if they are running Win 7, most will not be, so I will now have to sell them something else .
So are you one of those sellers, who are talking people into buying something, because they think their customers are not able to have their own opinion and make their own decisions, on what to use for which reasons, and therefore need to adapt to yours...?
andiyh wrote:- maybe Steinberg should keep Cubase 5 going, to save their market share
Maybe they should, on the other hand they might be well capable of running their own business, without the advice of all those marketing specialsts on the forums here, we´ll see... It´s not really our problem - you can sell something else, I can buy something else...
Last edited by thinkingcap on Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2523
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: XP....will it or won't it???

Post by Arjan P » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:45 pm

andyjh wrote:I will now have to sell them something else
You could also have them consider getting with the times. XP is 10 years old.

Luck, Arjan
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 9.5.50 | Cubase 10.0 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests