Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
jcbfoos
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:34 am
Contact:

Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by jcbfoos » Fri Feb 21, 2020 7:32 pm

Hi, I'm on Cubase 10.0.50.

I often open up multiple sessions at a time and drag midi regions across to my current session to transfer VST settings. Sometimes (but not always) when I transfer the VST I get weird behavior.

1) If you play the track with a midi controller I get sound
2) if you play back a sequence I get no sound
3) if you solo the track during playback I get sound

I then disable the track - re-enable it, freeze it, unfreeze it and sometimes after all of that it works. But not always.

If I move the midi region to another track that works and the rest of my sequence works, but the track that I transferred over does not.

Also closing and opening the session doesn't work either. I'm mostly using Omnisphere when this happens, but it also happens with FabFilter Twin as well.

Any ideas?
Mac OSX 10.14.x - Cubase 10.0.x - MOTU 1248 - Insane PC running VEP - lots of plugs and libraries...

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21975
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Feb 22, 2020 4:06 pm

Hi,

What exactly do you mean with these 3 states, please? How is your Record Enable and Monitor button set (On/Off)? When you drag and drop the MIDI Part, do you drop it to an existing MIDI track or to a new one (so a new Instrument has been created)? is the project activated?

Do I understand your 3 states right this way?
1) Sending MIDI data from an external MIDI keyboard => Audible.
2) Playing back the data present in the track => No sound.
3) Playing back the data present in the track while the track is solo => Audible. Where do you solo it? In the Project window or in the MixConsole? Do you use multi-outs at this Instrument?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

jcbfoos
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by jcbfoos » Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:01 pm

Hi Martin, thanks for the response.

Yes, the record enable button is armed. Otherwise I would not be able to hear the VST when playing my midi controller (state 1). When I drag the midi part from the old session into the new one, I drag it into the blank space at the bottom of the project window so that it creates a new track with all the current VST and plugin settings.

Yes your summery of the three states is correct. For the third state, I solo the track in the project window. I do not use multi outputs.
Last edited by jcbfoos on Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mac OSX 10.14.x - Cubase 10.0.x - MOTU 1248 - Insane PC running VEP - lots of plugs and libraries...

jcbfoos
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by jcbfoos » Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:02 pm

I also wiggle the following midi controllers (CC1, 7 and 11) to make sure that's not the issue.
Mac OSX 10.14.x - Cubase 10.0.x - MOTU 1248 - Insane PC running VEP - lots of plugs and libraries...

jcbfoos
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by jcbfoos » Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:54 pm

Hi Martin, here is a video of the issue.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/33lijow0zl364 ... r.mov?dl=0
Mac OSX 10.14.x - Cubase 10.0.x - MOTU 1248 - Insane PC running VEP - lots of plugs and libraries...

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21975
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Feb 25, 2020 11:13 am

Hi,

Thank you for the video. Unfortunately I can't reproduce it here on my system (I tried to follow your video exactly).
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

jcbfoos
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by jcbfoos » Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:27 pm

Hi Martin,

Thanks for taking a look. Did you try doing this with Omnisphere or another synth? The Omnisphere patch I'm using is called "Gains of Castigo"
Mac OSX 10.14.x - Cubase 10.0.x - MOTU 1248 - Insane PC running VEP - lots of plugs and libraries...

jcbfoos
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by jcbfoos » Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:36 pm

If you wanted I could send you a session with that specific patch in it.
Mac OSX 10.14.x - Cubase 10.0.x - MOTU 1248 - Insane PC running VEP - lots of plugs and libraries...

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21975
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Feb 25, 2020 8:32 pm

Hi,

That would be interesting to share the project, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

jcbfoos
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by jcbfoos » Wed Feb 26, 2020 11:44 pm

Hi Martin, did you get the message I sent you with the session?
Mac OSX 10.14.x - Cubase 10.0.x - MOTU 1248 - Insane PC running VEP - lots of plugs and libraries...

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21975
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Feb 27, 2020 12:47 pm

Hi,

Unfortunately I still can't reproduce it here on my side.

I tried to use your project as both the source and the target. It works in both cases to me here.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

jcbfoos
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Transferring Tracks = weird behavior

Post by jcbfoos » Thu Feb 27, 2020 7:14 pm

Damn, okay. I'll see if I can figure out more specifics. Thanks for trying!
Mac OSX 10.14.x - Cubase 10.0.x - MOTU 1248 - Insane PC running VEP - lots of plugs and libraries...

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: djgraver, guybuss, isaacmysteinberg and 5 guests