Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

All topics on HALion 4, HALion 5 and Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 and HALion Sonic 2
dsoffner
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:30 am
Contact:

Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by dsoffner »

Hi,

I found an error that was already reported here, but with an interesting twist:
https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... 19&t=16271

I use Halion 4.5.1 and Cubase 6.0.5 in 64 bit mode.

After using Halion in stand alone mode or as a VST within Cubase I regularly got a Runtime Error (R6025) with the error posted below when exiting Halion (stand alone) or exiting Cubase.

After some investigation I found out that it only happens when I selected one of the instruments that start with "4.0", but not with any of the other instruments.

I logged a service request with Cubase already since I suspect it is a product bug, but wanted to confirm with the forum whether you have the same experiences and/or a possible solution for that

Regards, Daniel.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Faulting application name: Cubase6.exe, version: 6.0.5.357, time stamp: 0x4e8f28ad
Faulting module name: HALion 4.vst3, version: 4.0.4.104, time stamp: 0x4eaaa65e
Exception code: 0x40000015
Fault offset: 0x0000000000c3436c
Faulting process id: 0x15b4
Faulting application start time: 0x01ccd4f8c1db6790
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Cubase6.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Common Files\VST3\Steinberg\HALion 4\HALion 4.vst3
Report Id: ea737e19-40ec-11e1-83ad-e0cb4e2515c2

Bach
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Bach »

Hello Daniel,

This is really interesting information! I will definitely try this. Did you notice if this also happens with the "The 4th Dimension" patch? I think it is only included in Halion 4. Or does it specifically have to start with 4.0?

Thanks for the heads up, I already have a support ticket with Steinberg support about this and maybe your finding will help the situation a lot! ;)
Cubase 8.0.3/8.5, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC (specialized Audio DAW from Scan): Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.10
Motif XF8
CC121

Radig
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Radig »

Hi,

here the same problem ...
:?
also in the forum:
https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... 19&t=16271
and the german forum:
https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... 28&t=17977
Cubase 9| Halion 5 | Groove Agent 4 | Omnisphere 2.1 | Wavelab Elements 7.2.1 | Win 10 Pro x64 | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | i7 2600K | 32 GB Corsair Vengeance® PC1600 | Corsair Force 3 SSD 120 GB / 240 GB | RME Fireface 400 | Yamaha KX49

Bach
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Bach »

Guys, I would suggest that you contacted Steinberg support about this. I have already done. The more reports the easier for them to figure out the problem.
Cubase 8.0.3/8.5, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC (specialized Audio DAW from Scan): Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.10
Motif XF8
CC121

Radig
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Radig »

Hi Bach,
Bach wrote:Guys, I would suggest that you contacted Steinberg support about this. I have already done. The more reports the easier for them to figure out the problem.
This have I done already, however no response received from Steinberg ... :evil:
Cubase 9| Halion 5 | Groove Agent 4 | Omnisphere 2.1 | Wavelab Elements 7.2.1 | Win 10 Pro x64 | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | i7 2600K | 32 GB Corsair Vengeance® PC1600 | Corsair Force 3 SSD 120 GB / 240 GB | RME Fireface 400 | Yamaha KX49

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2699
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by MrSoundman »

Well spotted! Confirmed here with H4.5.1 x64 standalone, "pure virtual function call":

Faulting application name: HALion 4.exe, version: 2.2.1.53, time stamp: 0x4eaa89b2
Faulting module name: HALion 4.vst3, version: 4.0.4.104, time stamp: 0x4eaaa65e
Exception code: 0x40000015
Fault offset: 0x0000000000c3436c
Faulting process id: 0x9d0
Faulting application start time: 0x01ccd7bb8fc6714c
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Steinberg\HALion 4\HALion 4.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Common Files\VST3\Steinberg\HALion 4\HALion 4.vst3
Windows 10 • Cubase 11.0.0 • WaveLab 10.0.50 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.10 • Groove Agent 5.0.30 • Midex

dsoffner
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by dsoffner »

I opened a ticket with Yamaha Australia (who do the Steinberg support here in Down Under). They were able to confirm the error and transferred the ticket to Steinberg in Germany.

I would agree that it is a good idea to open a separate ticket if you can reproduce the error.

Will keep you posted on feedback from Steinberg or Yamaha Australia.

Daniel.

Bach
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Bach »

Thanks!
I have an open ticket and waiting for reply in support UK. I will keep them posted of our findings.
Right now the support seems non responsive.
Cubase 8.0.3/8.5, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC (specialized Audio DAW from Scan): Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.10
Motif XF8
CC121

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2699
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by MrSoundman »

I've also noticed a small warning triangle next to the output selector when any of the "4.0 ..." presets are loaded:
Image
Windows 10 • Cubase 11.0.0 • WaveLab 10.0.50 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.10 • Groove Agent 5.0.30 • Midex

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Cantankerous »

That warning icon means an output is selected that isn't available or currently set active.
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2699
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by MrSoundman »

Cantankerous wrote:That warning icon means an output is selected that isn't available or currently set active.
Yes, except this isn't the case in actual fact .... and it occurs with all "4.0 ..." presets. Even if you clear the preset and load another one (where the warning triangle does not appear) before exiting the application, as soon as you exit you get the runtime error. It is exactly as Daniel has described.
Windows 10 • Cubase 11.0.0 • WaveLab 10.0.50 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.10 • Groove Agent 5.0.30 • Midex

Bach
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Bach »

Very interesting findings everyone.

Let's see how support will deal with this. I hope that a fix will be released as soon as possible
Cubase 8.0.3/8.5, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC (specialized Audio DAW from Scan): Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.10
Motif XF8
CC121

Gerrit Junge
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Gerrit Junge »

I'm sorry about that, but there is indeed a problem with the Surround Panner remaining in memory even though it should unload. This leeds to the crash decribed above on PC in a 64bit environment. The 32bit version of HALion 4 is not affected.
Please accept my apologies! We will of course fix this annoying problem with the upcoming free HALion update.

best regards
Gerrit
Senior Quality Engineer
VST Instruments
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

dsoffner
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by dsoffner »

Thanks for the update, Gerrit. That's good news indeed.

Looking forward to the product update.

Daniel.

Bach
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Bach »

That's good news indeed. I am looking forward for the update as I need to use Halion 4 in a project coming up.
Cubase 8.0.3/8.5, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC (specialized Audio DAW from Scan): Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.10
Motif XF8
CC121

dsoffner
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by dsoffner »

Gerrit,

can you comment on the timeframe when the product update will be released ?

Daniel.

Gerrit Junge
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Gerrit Junge »

dsoffner wrote:...,can you comment on the timeframe when the product update will be released ?
Release dates are concerns of sales and marketing and unfortunately outside my sphere of knowledge. Sorry!

best regards
Gerrit
Senior Quality Engineer
VST Instruments
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

Bach
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Bach »

What about the fix for this one?

It's been a while and I cannot use Halion 4 at all. I am surprised that this isn't fixed already, it is a very important bug.
Cubase 8.0.3/8.5, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC (specialized Audio DAW from Scan): Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.10
Motif XF8
CC121

Bach
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Bach »

Is there any progress on this? This problem exists for almost three months.
Word about it is spread through the net, it is not a wise move to let a bug like this exist.
I am planning to create a custom library with Halion 4 but right now it is unusable.
I would appreciate an update on what is the progress with this.
Cubase 8.0.3/8.5, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC (specialized Audio DAW from Scan): Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.10
Motif XF8
CC121

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2699
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by MrSoundman »

Bach wrote:I am planning to create a custom library with Halion 4 but right now it is unusable
Oh please! The problem only exists if you use the surround panner in the 64-bit version and doesn't even require a workaround, so nothing there to stop you creating libraries. Less dramatics please! :roll:
Windows 10 • Cubase 11.0.0 • WaveLab 10.0.50 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.10 • Groove Agent 5.0.30 • Midex

Bach
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Bach »

MrSoundman wrote:
Bach wrote:I am planning to create a custom library with Halion 4 but right now it is unusable
Oh please! The problem only exists if you use the surround panner in the 64-bit version and doesn't even require a workaround, so nothing there to stop you creating libraries. Less dramatics please! :roll:
I am sure you are missing something here.
I NEVER use the surround panner and Halion crashes Cubase all the time. Try using the 4.0 presets. Also try working with samples importing/mapping. You can never predict when it will crash.
Dramatic? I don't think so.
So please... Maybe it's not a big deal for you but if you want to use Halion 4 extensively this is a HUGE issue.
I don't understand why you are argumentative about somethIng like that.
Cubase 8.0.3/8.5, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC (specialized Audio DAW from Scan): Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.10
Motif XF8
CC121

jeanpierre
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:23 pm
Location: France, Savoie
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by jeanpierre »

Hello everybody,
it's impossible to work actually with Halion 4.5
I hope the team will find the solution.
JP
Windows 10 , I5, 8Gb/ Dorico 3.5, Cubase 10.5, Halion 6, WaveLab 10, Spectral Layers 7, RME FF800 3.125

Gerrit Junge
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by Gerrit Junge »

jeanpierre wrote:it's impossible to work actually with Halion 4.5
Please let's keep a sense of proportion!
The problem described in this thread (Runtime Error R6025 on exit) is localized and caused by the Surround Panner in a Windows 64bit environment only. The workarounds are:
- Don't make use of the Surround Panner in your own custom presets until the new H4 Updater is published
- Hands off from factory presets that starts with "4.0" in its name because this signals the use of the Surround Panner

Take these advices and your problems should be solved!

I know that if one has payed a lot of money for a product, then its desireable to use it to its full extent. This is currently not possible (at least in 64 bit). Again I will ask to accept my apologies.

best regards
Gerrit
Senior Quality Engineer
VST Instruments
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

jeanpierre
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:23 pm
Location: France, Savoie
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by jeanpierre »

Thank you !
JP
Windows 10 , I5, 8Gb/ Dorico 3.5, Cubase 10.5, Halion 6, WaveLab 10, Spectral Layers 7, RME FF800 3.125

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2699
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 4.5 crashes on exit

Post by MrSoundman »

Gerrit Junge wrote:
jeanpierre wrote:it's impossible to work actually with Halion 4.5
Please let's keep a sense of proportion!
+1

Let's not forget that the 32-bit plugin works perfectly in 64-bit Cubase as well ... so really, the only case where this could possibly be an unsurmountable problem for anyone would be if they want to use a massive amount of samples (>~3GB) loaded simultaneously and they are mixing for surround sound!

It was only annoying in its apparent randomness until a user (I think dsoffner?) discovered it was related to the "4.0.." presets in a 64-bit environment and Gerrit confirmed this. Once you know this, it is simple to avoid (e.g. create edited versions of these presets if you can't live without them). Best of all, it doesn't even cause a crash during use, only then you quit the application -- for most people that would mean you're done anyway; so, not elegant, but not any harm either. So less of this "spreading through the net" and "impossible to work" nonsense. Grow up! :P

It has been confirmed as a bug, and now even an apology made, it will be fixed in the next update and as a user I would prefer a stable and tested update than one hastily rushed out to address an issue that only a handful of people will even notice -- so let's move on.
Windows 10 • Cubase 11.0.0 • WaveLab 10.0.50 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.10 • Groove Agent 5.0.30 • Midex

Locked

Return to “Halion 5 | Halion 4 | Halion Sonic | Halion Sonic 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests