Wrong Note Displayed

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
73Luis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:14 am
Contact:

Wrong Note Displayed

Post by 73Luis »

HI. I am using Dorico 3. I am trying to input a Half note in the staff. Instead, it displays a Quarter note instead. Is there a setting I'm missing? I upgraded from Dorico 2.
Attachments
dorico3 problem.jpg
(43.79 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7610
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by pianoleo »

There’s a barline in the way - you’re in 4/4. What do you expect Dorico to do here?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

73Luis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by 73Luis »

The first 4 notes should have been half notes so there should be two notes instead of 4 quarter notes. That's what I have selected

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7610
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by pianoleo »

By default, when you set the caret in an empty bar, quarter notes are entered. My suspicion is that you hit the Half note button (or typed 7) before invoking the caret, and haven't paid attention to what's actually happening on screen.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

73Luis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by 73Luis »

I did what you said but still displays quarter notes. Every other notes displays correctly except Half notes.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7610
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by pianoleo »

What are you doing to produce half notes? Clicking the icon? Typing a number?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5182
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by dankreider »

Open the panel on the left side using Ctrl-7. When you press 7 on the top number row of your keyboard, is the half note icon selected?
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico 3, Windows 10

73Luis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by 73Luis »

typing in 7.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5182
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by dankreider »

73Luis wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 1:15 am
typing in 7.
And is the half note icon highlighted in the side panel?
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico 3, Windows 10

73Luis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by 73Luis »

Correct. It is highlighted. That is what my attachment shows

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5182
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by dankreider »

1. Delete all the notes
2. Enter note input mode
3. Navigate the caret to the downbeat
4. Press 7
5. Press a letter key for the note name you want.

If that gives you a quarter note, I’m a monkey’s uncle!
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico 3, Windows 10

73Luis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by 73Luis »

It still gives me a quarter note even though it should be a half note. there are two notes per measure for the half notes, but it shows up as quarter notes. Maybe it is a bug. I appreciate your help so far.

Luis
Attachments
dorico3 problem2 (2).jpg
(76.99 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5182
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by dankreider »

Can you do a screen capture demonstrating it, just to confirm?

I’ve never heard of a bug like that. No offense, but I’m not convinced you’re doing it correctly.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico 3, Windows 10

73Luis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by 73Luis »

I attached a pic before your last post

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7610
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by pianoleo »

With some of these notes selected, right-click and go Notehead > Default Noteheads. Does that fix it? If not, (with the notes still selected) right-click and go Notehead > Larger Noteheads.
My suspicion is that you've been playing with the Notehead Sets editor and have replaced the half notehead with the default quarter (and shorter) notehead...

The only other possibility I can think of is that you've recently upgraded from a previous version of Dorico, and you either haven't restarted since upgrading or the font update hasn't installed correctly, but that's (even!) more unlikely.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

73Luis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Wrong Note Displayed

Post by 73Luis »

I think that solved it with the Notehead > Default Noteheads. Thank you very much.

Luis

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Craig F, Tkearneyone and 12 guests