Got the best iMac money can buy - still having ASIO spikes

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
chony
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:52 am
Contact:

Got the best iMac money can buy - still having ASIO spikes

Post by chony » Tue Dec 13, 2011 6:58 am

I just bought 27 inch iMac, then maxed it out to 3.4 Ghz i7 processor, 20 GB RAM, and added a SSD. Before this I was using a MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 4 GB RAM.

I was sure that by upgrading I would be finally done with any spike issues that I've had in the past. However to my dismay, I'm still having them. My Activity Meter shows that my Disk is using 0% power (probably because it's an SSD), which is amazing; and my ASIO meter is hovering at 3% usage. However every 30 seconds it spikes to 100% overload for a split second - which destroys the take. I watched the Activity Meter but couldn't seem to figure out how it was being caused.

EDIT: I'm also getting kernal errors pretty often. Is there any way for me to track down what's going on?

Any ideas on what is causing this?

User avatar
crohde
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: Got the best iMac money can buy - still having ASIO spikes

Post by crohde » Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:45 am

Hello chony,

Which audio interface do you have? Do you have installed the latest drivers? :)
Best regards,

Carlos Rohde - Product Marketing Manager Cubase & Apps
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Got the best iMac money can buy - still having ASIO spikes

Post by Weasel » Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:43 am

If you are getting kernel errors or kernel crashes on a brand new iMac....that's pretty much 100% hardware related. That's why Crohde is asking what kind of audio interface and driver version you're running. Anything else externally attached?
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Got the best iMac money can buy - still having ASIO spikes

Post by curteye » Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:56 pm

Aloha,

Agreed with the above and
(not hit this too hard but)

IMHO
kernel panics on a brand new machine,

send it back.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

CinStudios
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:35 am
Contact:

Re: Got the best iMac money can buy - still having ASIO spikes

Post by CinStudios » Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:22 pm

It's a Mac...

buhardilla
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Got the best iMac money can buy - still having ASIO spikes

Post by buhardilla » Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:34 pm

Hm,mmm last Imac?? So is it in MacOS Lion? Perhaps is so early to migrate to Lion...
MacPro 3.3 GHz 6-CoreXeon, 32Gb RAM, OS 10.12.6 / RME PCIe AiO / Softube Console 1
Nuendo 8.3. || Digital Performer 9.5 || Harrison Mixbus 32C || VEP 6

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Got the best iMac money can buy - still having ASIO spikes

Post by curteye » Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:42 pm

buhardilla wrote:Hm,mmm last Imac?? So is it in MacOS Lion? Perhaps is so early to migrate to Lion...
Aloha,
Lion/C6/iMac/MacBook all working fine here.

Still having probs with Yamaha n12 (waiting on updates)
Still waiting on SampleTank 3 (64 bit)
Ni stuff still weird. (can't be sure why).

HTH
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

owsjdcjr
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:52 am
Contact:

Re: Got the best iMac money can buy - still having ASIO spikes

Post by owsjdcjr » Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:51 pm

I had a similar ASIO skipping problem w/Cubase 5x, but only when I ran a midi piano track with 13 existing 44kHz audio tracks. (First I suspected my LSI 21320, triple 15k HDD SCSI raid system to be the problem, since I had 8Gb RAM) I solved this problem by raising my Halion 3.x settings to 60s preload, 512 voice buffers and 384 kb size. In the device setup control panel I set the ASIO size to 1024 up from 352. I moved the midi track to the top of my arrangement page as per a *Steinberg* tip. I believe that moving the track to the top of the arrangement window made the biggest difference. Also, it is very interesting that you are using an n12. I am using an n8, so maybe some of this problem may be related to these devices???

Thanks all for sharing in this forum. I haven't made the jump from 5x and 3x only, because I am at the finish line on a current project. I have been reading your comments in preparation of updating my Win XP dual opteron SCSI system to a MAC platform. Thanks again your comments are very helpful!!!

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests