Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
ptram
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by ptram » Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:28 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to move the notes horizontally, our of the regular rhythmic grid. By following the online manual, I do what follows:

1) Switch to the Engrave Mode.
2) Select the Note Spacing icon in the left bar.
3) Click on the square handle over the note to displace.
4) Grab the circular handle in the note, and drag.

The note doesn't move. It happens with any note.

What am I doing wrong?

Paolo

fkretlow
Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:10 am
Location: Detmold, Germany
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by fkretlow » Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:54 pm

You can't drag the handle. Select it and use Alt+left/right arrow instead. If you hold down Ctrl the note moves in greater steps.
Florian

ptram
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by ptram » Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:57 pm

Thank you Florian. Oh, I see it! After the general introduction, there is a dedicated page in the manual:

https://steinberg.help/dorico/v2/en/dor ... ons_t.html

Paolo

clarityinchaos
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by clarityinchaos » Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:19 pm

I am also trying to move notes on an individual basis, but on the tablature stave. All that moves though is the note on the notation stave. What am I doing wrong?

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6358
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by pianoleo » Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:29 pm

Notes on Tab staves are locked to the actual beat (which is the big square handle). Notes on five line staves can be moved independently from the beat, by selecting the square (beat) handle, then clicking (or hitting up/down arrows to select) the circular handle.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

clarityinchaos
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by clarityinchaos » Mon Oct 14, 2019 5:15 pm

So just to be clear here, can I move the numbers on the tab stave? I can't seem to.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6358
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by pianoleo » Mon Oct 14, 2019 5:28 pm

You can move the whole beat, which will move the tab numbers, and having done that, you can move the individual notes on the five line stave, back to where they were before. This may not help you in a score that has lots of instruments, but in a guitar part it should suffice.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

clarityinchaos
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by clarityinchaos » Mon Oct 14, 2019 5:40 pm

Thank you. I'll give it a go! I can't find any reference to this in the manual.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6358
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by pianoleo » Mon Oct 14, 2019 5:44 pm

A. The place to look would be the Version History - the manual isn't fully up to date.
B. The Version History doesn't give absolutely every detail of how every aspect of the new functionality works. This is one of the reasons we have to wait a little longer for the manual to be fully updated.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

clarityinchaos
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by clarityinchaos » Mon Oct 14, 2019 5:59 pm

Okay Thanks.

clarityinchaos
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by clarityinchaos » Tue Oct 15, 2019 10:11 pm

Thanks have managed to accomplish this but it seems a very cumbersome procedure to do en masse. I would ultimately like to be able to edit the tablature stave independently of the notation stave.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 14830
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:15 am

You can't edit the spacing of the tab and notation completely independently, any more than you can edit the spacing of any other two instruments or staves independently: everything has to line up at the same rhythmic position. You can adjust the offset of a specific note or chord relative to the global position using the small circular handles that appear on the notation staff, but at the moment those same handles don't appear in tablature; instead you can adjust the 'Voice column X offset' property in the Note Spacing group of the Properties panel, which appears only in Engrave mode.

clarityinchaos
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by clarityinchaos » Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:26 am

The only reason I ask is that I like the tab numbers to be spaced fairly evenly across the bar for visual clarity and this isn't always the case when I use a lot of different note values. It is then useful to manually adjust the tab numbers. Despite Finale's cumbersomeness, it was very easy to achieve this particular feat. But I'm not going back...!

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 14830
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Note Spacing not working

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:39 pm

Obviously it's not up to me to tell you how to lay out your music, but I think if you're going to show the tablature and the notation together, it's a good idea for the fret numbers to appear horizontally at the same position as the notes to which they correspond in the notation staff. If they don't line up, it's going to look pretty confusing – in my opinion, of course.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”